Why do I blog?

Hi my fellow hot cute girly geeks and by geeks of course. That is a really good question. A question that’s been haunting my brains for a couple of days now since someone mentioned I should continue blogging because it was supposedly such a great release for me.

angel-in-the-north-being-an-older-blogger-Do-what-you-love-and-do-it-often

For the people who know me in real life, one way to annoy me is to tell me what I should and shouldn’t do. I’m a semi-functional geeky adult, I do as I please, thank you very much.

its-emotionally-exhausting-pretending-to-be-a-functional-adult-3a248

I started this blog in 2012, when I discovered I had a lower back hernia and couldn’t work fulltime. I had a lot of spare time on my hands and I needed an outlet. Because I didn’t wanted this blog to turn into some ranting of a crazy and bored mind I decided to dedicate it to geeky stuff.

rb1ii

In the beginning I did a lot of book reviews. I met some amazing Indy authors and made new friends, all thanks to scribbling something on paper and posting it online.

slide_16

It has never been my intention to get internet famous. I used to write blogs to fight boredom, but looking back at the previous year I didn’t write a lot.

I’m not bored any longer. While recovering from my surgery in 2012 I decided to learn myself how to knit. In two months’ time (the time it took me to recover from said surgery) I knitted my first scarf, a 6/7 meter long Doctor Who scarf. Which I’m still very proud of, even though I don’t wear it that much. You’d be surprised how unpractical that scarf is in real life.

Blogger Meme

I started knitting a second scarf, and a third (which still isn’t finished to this day) and learned different techniques. I learned myself how to knit in the round so I could make hats. When my first hat was finished (the Sherlock Chullo) people commented on it that they wanted one.

My etsy shop was born (well, actually this happened later but I already started selling stuff to friends).

Because there were so many cute amigurumi (stuffed animals / toys which are crocheted) out there, I learned how to crochet. I started with a simple granny square, that I later turned into my very first blanket. Gradually the crocheting and knitting was taking up more and more time.

I also discovered that for me it was the perfect way to relax and occupy my brain without getting exhausted. For me it’s not Netflix and chill, it’s Netflix and crochet.

2836828090_67d4900ab3_o

Knitting and crocheting is such a big part of my life now I seriously get antsy when I don’t have something to occupy my hands with while watching the telly.

I still read loads of books (and buy loads more), I watch too much series and films, collect epic geeky stuff and geek out with friends over our favourite characters. The fandom life gave me a new family, because you know, family doesn’t end with blood.

I feel at home with my fellow geeks, feel like I belong somewhere and I found some peace in my life thanks to that.

I will continue blogging, maybe not as frequent as I did in the beginning, but just when I feel like it, or when I need to geek out, or when I discovered a new show I want to share. I will keep blogging for the fun of it, not because someone tells me it’s a great release or I should really do this or that.

10288796_10152211448903366_4550784491408205286_n

This is still my life and I make my own choices. I choose to continue to blog just for me. Not for anyone else. If only a hand full of people read this, then that’s ok. If no one reads it, that’s ok too.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

 

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

