The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddess Master Quest

Hellow everyone!

Story time: A long time ago, it was announced that there was going to be a concert tour of a symphonic version of songs from the Legend of Zelda. Okay, they didn’t come to the Netherlands, and okay, it wasn’t in a weekend. But I wanted to go so badly that I didn’t care that I had to go to London on a Thursday. I asked the only other hard-core Zelda fan I knew if he wanted to come with me, but he didn’t want to come because he didn’t want to skip school and he thought it was too expensive (pfffft). I didn’t want to go alone so I didn’t go to the concert.

-TUMDADADADUM *insert Doctor Who theme* 3,5 year time-skip-. Me and the boy who didn’t want to go are living together and we in a relationship for 3 years. It was announced that there was going to be a second concert tour, one week after my birthday. So I kindly reminded the boy who didn’t want to go/my boyfriend that he still owned me a Zelda concert. Again, the concert wasn’t coming to the Netherlands, but it did come to Dusseldorf, London, and Paris. As you might know I went to Paris last year, so London it was (because who’d want to go to Dusseldorf?)!

-TUMDADADADUM 0,5 year time skip- New concert tour dates are added! The tour is going to come to Amsterdam in November! DAMN. Or not? I was frustrated at first because we spent about €200,- for transport and a hotel in London and now the concert is also going to be a 25 minute train ride away. But then I realized: I was going to London for a weekend AND I was going to be able to see the concert twice. Besides, when I bought the London tickets, there was no way I could know the concert was also going to come to Amsterdam anyway. So I also bought tickets to the Amsterdam concert (I’m not greedy at all).

-TUMDADADADUM one week time skip, last weekend- We stayed in London for the whole weekend but I’m going to write about that in another blog that I will post later this week. The concert was Friday evening. After a day of traveling and exploring London, we traveled to Wembley Stadium, where the concert was held (or so we thought). We figured we could eat a fast snack before the concert started, but all we could find was a mall with a few fancy restaurants and a Subway (and I didn’t want to eat Subway, I wanted fries). Eventually I ended up at a Brazilian BBQ where I very awkwardly only ordered some fries and a coke (I don’t think the staff was happy with me, but they stayed polite, that’s something I’m not used to in the Netherlands).

It still wasn’t time to go to the concert so we decided to walk around some more, and then we found out that the concert wasn’t in the actual stadium, but at a smaller building close by, dedicated to smaller events. I’m happy we found out in time! I also met up with someone I know from the WITCH forum and his friend. It’s always fun to meet people you’ve known for years on the internet irl! We had very fun conversations, but we had to cut our little get-together short because it was time for the concert to start.

 photo SAM_0072_zpswmxsrq0g.jpg

It was getting really crowded, and there was a pretty nice and laid-back atmosphere. Most of the fans wore fan T-shirts, but some were in cosplay. There was less cosplay then I expected, but then again, I myself didn’t go in cosplay because of the luggage restrictions in the airplane and because I wanted to comfortably enjoy the concert without having to worry about my pointy ears and such. But I did wear my A Link to the Past map dress (the picture below was taken at comic con, but I wore the exact same thing) and I got a lot of compliments!

IMG-20150328-WA0003.jpg wordt weergegeven

When I booked the tickets, I could chose the general area where we were going to be seated, but not the exact seats. I figured we must’ve gotten pretty good ones because the tickets said row 6. But MAN, these seats were REALLY GOOD. We sat really close to the stage and because the room was tilted slightly upwards towards the back, we had a really good view. The orchestra itself was on the stage, and behind it was a large screen which showed footage from the games which corresponded to the music that was placed.

 photo SAM_0081_zpsvqvk7bdw.jpg

When it was time to start, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra took place on the stage and stemmed their instruments. And then… they started playing. It was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever heard. I had goosebumps and tears in my eyes. I saw several grown man around me peak away a few tears too. This was definitely worth taking a bus, a tube, a train, an airplane, another train and another tube to get here. It went on and on and I didn’t want it to stop.

 photo SAM_0084_zpsimxra53b.jpg

After the first song, the CEO of the whole thing welcomed us and told us this wasn’t a usual orchestra, and we were welcome to cheer and clap if we heard something we like. That’s the thing I love about Zelda gamers. I felt the urge of the entire audience (myself included) to cheer and clap when the music was playing, but we were all holding back out of respect for the orchestra. We only go in hyper-fan-mode when we’re allowed to. There was another problem with the cheering though. The concert was so beautiful that we all wanted to absorb every note played. So even when the audience started to cheer, it stopped very quickly because we didn’t want to miss a thing. Between songs (see the list below), we also got video messages from Shigeru Miyamoto (the creator of Zelda), Eji Aonuma (the director of the Zelda games), and Koji Kondo (the composer of all Zelda game music and this symphony), which was pretty awesome.

 photo SAM_0086_zpsrkb40lpr.jpg

After 2,5 hours of awesomeness, it was time to go back to the hotel again. With the most awesome tube of the world (because it was filled with Zelda-fans). So that’s about it! It was an amazing experience and I am extremely happy I can go to this concert again in November!

Do you want to know if the concert’s coming to an area near you? Check the schedule: http://zelda-symphony.com/pages/schedule

 photo SAM_0088_zpsc2bgvaqo.jpg

Playlist

Part One

01) The Legend of Zelda: Symphony Overture
02) Gerudo valley (Ocarina of Time)
03) Boss Battle song medley
04) Majora’s Mask medley
05) Hyrule Castle & Lorule Castle (ALBW)
06) Prelude: “The Creation of Hyrule”
07) First movement: “Ocarina of Time”
08) Second movement: “Wind Waker”

Part Two

09) Interlude – Intermezzo: “Great Fairy theme”
10) Ocarina melodies from Ocarina of Time and Majora’s Mask
11) Third movement: “Twilight Princess”
12) Fourth movement: “A Link to the Past Finale”

Encore

13) Ballad of the Goddess and Fi’s Theme (Skyward Sword)
14) Dragon Roost Island (Wind Waker)

Encore 2

15) Majora’s Mask Medley 2

About Tekira

26 year old psychologist, on the quest of finding a job, loves anime and games.

One thought on “The Legend of Zelda: Symphony of the Goddess Master Quest

  1. SO awesome! 🙂 I might go to the one in Amsterdam as well.

Leave a Reply

