Dutch Comic Con 2015

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. Dutch Comic Con happened last weekend. It was the first ever Dutch Comic Con in the Netherlands. And I attended the whole weekend.  DSC_0619

I’ve been excited for this for months, keeping up with the guests who were attending, the stands, the amazing geeky cars and planning for two whole days of cosplaying for the first time ever.

DSC_0620

And although a couple weeks prior to the start of DCC there were a lot of rumours online about the people organizing DCC and money issues, a weekend before the start, some guests started to cancel because there were no flights or hotels booked. It all turned out in the end.

DSC_0926

Because this was the first time, you can expect some things not to well organised, such as some part of the venue were really dark (sucks taking pictures), no chairs for the Q&A, getting photo ops not organised, and the organizer and vendors didn’t expect so many people. We had 16.000 for the first day! For a first time con, that’s really amazing!

DSC_0850

As expected there were a lot of people cosplaying. Not as much as you expect attending an US con. On Saturday maybe 30-40 percent and on Sunday 20 percent. But for us Dutchies that is a lot. The level of cosplay was amazing. Ok you had the crazy people wearing onesies and other really mismatched stuff, but loads of people really did put up there best show.

DSC_0884

The vendors were amazing. So much geeky stuff, so little money! You could get everything your geeky heart desired. From comics, to pop vinyl’s, to full Japanese Manga body pillows to amazing handcrafted jewellery.

DSC_0696DSC_0929

I attended Comic Con with my lovely geeky friend Nanayah (who also took all the pictures, kudos to her and her amazing camera!) The first day we stood in line for ages to get our photo ops. I bought a photo op with Osric Chau (Kevin Tran on Supernatural) and Marnix van den Broeke (he plays the Silence in Doctor Who, the werewolf on Harry Potter and Death in the Hogfather). We also made some new friends waiting in line. The Supernatural fandom is just epic!

IMG_20150328_185816

We attended the Q&A with Osric on the first and second day and I shot some vids (which I still need to upload on YouTube, I had a very busy week, sorry). We had no idea it was so crazy busy until we left the Q&A and although we did look at the merchandise, it was too busy to really buy anything.

IMG_20150328_185551

We left to get a signed photo with Osric. I presented him my homemade Gishwhes 2015 hat and some syrup waffles. And I got an unexpected hug. Osric gives the best hugs!

FB_IMG_1427715662502 DSC_0750

After that is was time for my photo op with Marnix. He was a last minute announced guest and he’s not really know for his work. I was sad to learn only 3 people bought a photo op with him on Saturday, hopefully he got more fans on Sunday. The good this was I had some time to chat with him and laugh about getting my picture taking with him. He’s freakishly tall, 2.01 m or 6’7 tall! While I am 1.67 m or 5’4. The photographer ended up getting a step stool to get both of us in the picture!

DSC_0889

We looked around some more, met up with some other friends, seeing loads of Doctors. Funny thing as you are dressed up as the Doctor and see another Doctor we greet each other with a “Doctor!” “Doctor!”

DSC_0645

We also bought two ‘dating for geeks’ comics and got them signed before getting our pictures taken with Osric, my second Osric hug in a day!

DSC_0803

The second day I went as Osgood from Doctor Who and I was early at the con, basically to buy some merchandise and I scored! Some pop vinyls and a vortex manipulator! Because Osric was going in cosplay today and he was dressed as Peter Pan, I had to get another picture with him!

DSC_0948

Nanayah and I also learned the people of Wolfcon would be attending and giving away free passes, so naturally we found them and we are going to Wolfcon in May!!!

DSC_0741

The Q&A with Marnix the second day was hilarious as was the second Q&A with Osric. Osric also used my Gishwes hat for the raffle he was holding that weekend to win a free dinner with him (too bad we didn’t win) but I did get an epic picture with Osric the second day.

DSC_0084

We bought more merchandise and I even bought my first 3 manga! And according to Tekira I did very well. I bought the first manga from: Blue Exorcist, Vampire Knight and Black Butler. I loved those! (Don’t tell anyone but I found accompanying anime online and already watched Vampire Knight and Black Butler). Tekira is very proud of me.

DSC_0774

I was absolutely dead after two days of Comic Con, but I can’t wait for next year and a new cosplay I have in mind!

That was it for this post. Love you guys!

Lots of love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy!

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

4 thoughts on “Dutch Comic Con 2015

  1. Tekira says:

    Yes, very proud! If you get into manga and anime a bit more I really recommend you to go to a anime-related con! About 60-70% of the people that attend are cosplaying there, it’s not as massive (they can still very big though) and much more ‘gezellig’ than comic con. The main focus isn’t on the dealer room, because there are also lectures, workshops, meetings, etc! Let me know if you want to go to one!

    • Oh yes, take me with you!!! And teach me oh wise master of manga and anime 😉

      • Tekira says:

        Hehe. I’m still not sure if I want to go to Animecon (it’s in June). I never went before because the tickets are quite expensive (around 40 for Saturday and 60 for the whole weekend) and up until now June was always a pretty busy period for me. But it’s located in the Hague, so I don’t have to book a hotel. But I am certainly going to Abunai for the whole weekend, which is in the last weekend of August. Downside is that it’s in Eindhoven so you’ll have to book a hotel if you want to go the entire weekend.

      • June is not doable for me since I’m already attending wolfcon in may. Also don’t know about Abunai because I have my 1 year contract ending in September plus I wanna go on a holiday as well. Eindhoven is no problem for me. I’ll just crash at my dad’s place in Oss

Leave a Reply

