I bought a new t-shirt and the fandom that hated.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks. A while back I ordered an epic t-shirt. I saw it online when it was just a possibility of a shirt and voted for it. A couple of weeks later it went into print and I bought it. Add a few weeks again and it arrived on my doormat. I couldn’t be happier. It is glorious, epic, brilliant, fantastic, multo benne and the likes. And because I was fangirling so hard I wanted to share it with the world, because that is what you do these days. Share your fangirling with your fellow geeks.

Screenshot_2015-02-10-17-22-22

Within the next few hours I got some reactions and they weren’t very nice. One was vomiting and another one, which I can’t seem to find right now was about the fact of combining the fandoms, some hate stuff because I liked it and something about the word epic. (Seriously, if you can’t understand how epic the word epic is, that’s just sad).

Screenshot_2015-02-10-17-20-28

Now I couldn’t care less that you hate my t-shirt. I’m the one wearing it, if you don’t like it close your fucking eyes. What I hate is the childish reactions. I mean are you 12? Come say it to my face if you dare. I mean, I’m a semi-sane 31 year old. I did the whole puberty raging hormones making mistakes things but really?

But what if I was say a 14 year old boy or girl, really susceptible for peer pressure. (Look it up in the dictionary if you can’t understand big words.) And I was feeling very happy with my t-shirt I bought with some pocket money and maybe even with money I earned with an after school job.

Screenshot_2015-02-10-17-23-48

What if I was feeling very insecure about myself and the things I like? What if I already was dealing with things like anxiety, auto mutilation, depression and such?  What if some random strangers online said those things to me? Maybe I throw the t-shirt in the trash. Maybe I would hide it somewhere at the back of my closet and every time I saw it was reminded about those harsh and ugly words. What if I thought that I wasn’t good enough anymore to wear the shirt? Or good enough to be a fan or simple good enough. What if I cut myself after reading those things? What if I stopped eating after those words? What if I just disappeared? People don’t seem to like my shirt so they don’t like me. What if this was the last thing that drove me over the edge and I tried to kill myself?

Screenshot_2015-02-10-17-19-14

And I know it’s easy to say things in the spur of a moment to a total stranger online. You get kicks and followers and fame for being a nasty piece of shit. Do you really want to have those things all by bringing down others?

You don’t have to love the things I love. You don’t have to agree with the things I say. You don’t have to like the things I wear. I couldn’t care less. But someone else might care.

You could be so much more to other people without all the hating and hate blogs. For one thing, get some professional help for those ugly urges you have of bringing others down.

Tumblr is a lovely place where people can share their love for fandoms, things they like, share their thoughts, get in contact with other people and so much more.

It’s also an ugly place, full of hate, crazy stuff, people who seriously need professional help.

Please just think about what you post online.

Love, your own hot cute and very annoyed girly geek.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “I bought a new t-shirt and the fandom that hated.

  1. Anita says:

    Haters gonna hate.

Leave a Reply

