Rotterdam Book fair!

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks. For a couple of years now I wanted to go to the book fair in Rotterdam, but usually I either just miss it or don’t have enough cash. This time I made sure I didn’t forget and had enough spending money.

So on the last day of the 4 day book fair I went to Rotterdam to go hunt down some books, without really knowing what to expect.

DSC_0437

It was epic! It turned out it was an enormous hall filled with long tables of endless rows of books. No independent market salesmen just everything in one big heap so no haggling on prices or anything. They advertised books were at a maximum of 90% discount and all new!

DSC_0438

Some books were a bit damaged but I don’t mind.

At the entrance you could get a little book trolley to carry all the books around with you. I must say, they had a lot of books. Unfortunately, most of them were in Dutch. Now I don’t mind buying some books in Dutch to get a collection complete, but I do want the majority of my books in English. And I don’t know who was responsible for dividing the books into genres because all the sci-fi and fantasy books were under romance and thriller novels.

DSC_0440

I am very serious about my books. You don’t mix and match, you give them a proper place.

When I entered, one of the first books I saw was the biography of Roald Dahl. Since that book came out it 2010 it has been on my ‘I need this book in my collection and want to read it.’ But the price was very steep. And every time I bought new books I looked at it and still was too expensive. Until now… 5.99 in euros! It was the first book to go in my trolley. And I have already start reading it.

DSC_0447

I browsed the Dutch books and stumbled upon a book from my childhood. It was a series of books and I own just one of them “Tiny is ziek” translated Tiny is sick. For some twisted reason I really loved it. And now I found a second book “Tiny ziet spoken” or Tiny sees ghosts. I had to have it. Yay, second book found. The young adult section had many good books I wanted, but all in Dutch so I let them be. (Be still my crying heart).

DSC_0448

I did however found another Robin Hobb book I didn’t own yet. The second book in a series I already have in Dutch so I added it. Making three books now in my trolley. I loved the trolley and wanted to take it home with me. My own personal book trolley. Can I have it please?

DSC_0446

Finally I stumbled upon the English novels. Because it was just two tables, no genres specified I really had to dig through them to find some gems and I did. I added Dawn of the Dreadfulls, the prequel to pride and prejudice and zombies (epic, epic book) and Android Karenina (really looking forward to reading that one.)

DSC_0442

DSC_0445DSC_0444

I also found a cheap vampire novel which looks interesting enough for just 1.99. And I found Wild Thyme beyond, a book that came recommended by Russel T. Davies, so of course it ended up in my book trolley as well.

DSC_0443

The next time the book fair is close by I’m going again, although I won’t wait until the last day. I seriously think I missed out on loads of good books. But I did ok and am really happy about my book haul which ended up costing me 23 euros!

DSC_0441

Do you go to book fairs or book markets? Do you love discount books or always pay full price?

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “Rotterdam Book fair!

  1. I’m still a bit gutted I missed it this year. I will try and time my visit better next year so that I can go =p

Leave a Reply

