Cosplay adventures or prepping for Dutch Comic Con.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. In two months’ time Dutch Comic Con will start and I have tickets! I am so excited to go! Although seriously bummed I couldn’t persuade Theta to come along, so I will be going solo.

Not really solo, because I’m meeting a lot of friends there. And I decided to do some cosplay as well. As a Whovian and British at heart I just had to cosplay my female eleventh Doctor. I have the costume and all the props already so that one is easy, although I wonder how I’m going to enjoy walking around with a mop all day.

DSC_0425

The second day cosplaying is going to be Osgood! And if you follow me on social media you might have seen some pics of me assembling the outfit.

I found the corduroy dark green pants, already own black sand shoes, bowtie and the fourth Doctor’s scarf (although the colors are a bit off, it was my first knitting project I finished and I couldn’t find the right colors at the time. Besides making a new one is going to take ages.)

DSC_0394

I got my mum’s old asthma inhaler, bought a brown blouse in case I couldn’t find a white one with a brown sweater, just to be sure. I ordered my lab coat and it will arrive later this week.

I’ve been struggling with my hair. I’m blond, Osgood has dark brown hair. I’m not dying my hair for just a day, it’s a drag to grow it out, plus blond going brown is a good change at getting stuck with green hair. I’ve been researching wigs as well. But as I need a full lace wig (because I need a high pony tail) those are a big expensive for just the one time.

DSC_0449

I bought a brown hairspray at the ‘carnaval’ store and just tried it out. The color looks amazing, although it is vile stuff, plus I need someone to help me spray it on, on Sunday morning before I leave for the DCC.

Another downside, it can’t get wet. If it gets wet it’s going to stain like hell. I now have a huge amount of brown hairspray in my hair and I need to wash it in a couple of hours. Just so see if I can get it out of my hair without any stains. If not, I’ll guess I’ll go wig shopping.

Oh and my new glasses arrived as well, yay for the Osgood looking glasses!

Are you going to Dutch Comic Con, or any con? Any tips for a new cosplayer? Know any cheap full lace wig sites? Let me know!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “Cosplay adventures or prepping for Dutch Comic Con.

  1. rtgrthetasigma says:

    Trust me, I’m as equally bummed that I can’t be there. It’s been over five years since I last went to a Comic Con and it would have been fun to have come. (Could you imagine all the questions that I’d be asked as a full on Whovian who’s been a fan since the Classic series?)

    Your Cosplays look epic and I’m sure that you’ll have loads of fun.

    Thank you again for inviting me, even though I can’t make it on this occasion.

Leave a Reply

