The Rory Gilmore reading challenge, January books.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. I made a Facebook group, added some people and the Rory Gilmore reading challenge started for me on Monday morning.

Charlotte's Web

I am so excited, the list with books is amazing (well, not all the books, but the majority is). And I can’t wait to read them all, plus it will help me with my normal reading slump and not knowing what to read although my to read list is endless.

Speaking of endless, I added all the books I could find to my Goodreads account and made a separate shelf for it as well.

Let me explain a bit why I am this excited. I live in the Netherlands. I grew up with Dutch books and Dutch classics. I even read some of them for my mandatory reading list, which I didn’t enjoyed. I mean, I can even remember getting into an argument with our school librarian because I wanted to borrow a book, which was recommended to me by one of my French teachers, and it wasn’t on the mandatory reading list. He didn’t believe me I read books for fun.

A lot of the books on the reading challenge list are American and British classics. Books kids in the US and the UK grow up with, which I didn’t grow up Dorian Graywith. A lot of the stories I know about, but I haven’t actually read the books. And it always seems something else comes along I want to read as well and I need to make a choice. By doing this reading challenge, it gives me the opportunity the finally start reading them. And I already finished Charlotte’s Webb the first day.

But enough of that know. I picked three books for January. Not to read all of them (although I probably will), but more so the group can read two books and have a spare. January books are:

  • Charlotte’s Webb by E.B. White
  • The picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  • The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

As you can see the books I picked are really different in genre. This to give all of the group a bit of change during the month and so there is something for everyone.

If you don’t want to read the books with us on Facebook, but just for yourself, you’re more than welcome to follow the blog for all the updates.

time traveller's wifeAlthough comments such as “if someone picks pride and prejudice, can I read pride and prejudice and zombies instead” are things that are epic and geeky and you don’t want to miss.

Happy reading everyone and good luck with whatever challenge you pick to read this year.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “The Rory Gilmore reading challenge, January books.

  1. rtgrthetasigma says:

    Good luck on your challenge for this year.

Leave a Reply

