Looking back on 2014 and looking forward to 2015.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. We agreed to do a, we’re looking forward to 2015 and looking back towards 2014.

DSC_0200

I had a pretty turbulent year. But I guess it was no exception to the past years. The biggest thing for this past year was work related. With the economic crisis and working in mental health sector. The government is planning big reforming plan for 2015 I expected to be out of a job by the end of the year. For me this meant a tight budget, putting all extra money on my savings account, no vacations or extra stuff and looking for a new job.

On the one hand, it’s really scary. I have a house, a mortgage, and a permanent position with my old boss. But I also knew it didn’t meant anything if they wanted to let you go.

I also made plans about going back to school, maybe learning to be an English teacher and getting my CPE degree. Another plan was to move to the UK, because there were more jobs there for my line of work.

Luckily, I could start prepping for my CPE degree the day I decided and I followed a 10-week course, which ended in an exam, which I passed! I am now the proud owner of my CPE degree in the highest level, near native speaker. I was and am still very happy with this degree. It also means that if I want to move to the UK I can!

Furthermore, I went on a job hunt. It had its ups and downs. Loads of companies now a day don’t even bother to send you a confirmation letter any more or even let you know you didn’t get the job.

I ended up with three interviews. One job was a ridiculous low pay, so low I couldn’t even pay my mortgage, let alone groceries and other bills.

Another job I got a second interview, but I felt like it wasn’t for me.

The third interview almost hired me on the spot. I got a call back the same day I did the interview to sign my contract. It also meant I could work lesser hours for more pay. I now work with this company for four months and love it. I found my place, love my work and colleagues and I have a normal boss. Which is awesome.

On landing this job I could book a vacation as well, be it last minute, but I spend 5 days in London with my mum. Saw Martin Freeman perform live on stage. Hugged my bestie at Speedy’s café. Went to the season 8 premier of Doctor Who in the cinema, got my picture taken with a real-life tardis and Dalek and generally had an amazing time, feeling at home again back in London.

2014 was also the year I got back in contact with my dad after a huge fight and me being generally tired of the way he treated me. Things are getting better and he’s coming over for Christmas day this year.

I started Gishwhes, but it was a bust thanks to no help from my temporary roommate.

I started NaNoWriMo but had to give up after two weeks after some health problems. But I did meet new friends, which is epic.

I decided to celebrate Christmas again this year. I wasn’t feeling up to it last year so this year I went all out. Bought the biggest tree I could find and my house is now properly Christmassy and cosy. All ready for the upcoming Christmas days. Yes days. We celebrate first and second Christmas day and I decided to add a third one as well.

First Christmas day was dinner with my dad and his wife, unfortunately no Doctor Who for me, I had to record it. But all in all I enjoyed myself.

Second Christmas day was my relaxing day, prepping for an epic British Christmas dinner for the third Christmas day and going out to dinner with my mum.

The third Christmas day was my epic British Christmas dinner with some friends roasted a turkey for the first time and it worked! I roasted a turkey! And juggled with loads of side dished and we had fun with dinner, friends and playing Sherlock cluedo and Doctor Who monopoly afterwards.

This year I lost some friends and gained some friends. It was a year with high highs and very low lows. I struggled, fought, cried, rejoiced, enjoyed and laughed. Unexcitingly reached my reading challenge. I knitted and crocheted until the burn marks from the year were etched in my fingers.

I had a super quick December visit to London again. Bought loads of stuff and can’t wait to go back.

And I have good hopes for 2015.

I have the feeling I’m closing off some stuff from the past. I turned 31 this year and now own my very first Dalek.

I have very high hopes for next year. Hopefully finding some love, blogging more, enjoying more, celebrating more. Attending my first con. Going back to London, getting a renewal for my contract and who knows?

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

fireworks

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

