2014 – The Year of The Epic Fail?

So, as inevitable as the turning of the wheel another year has come round again and soon it’ll be goodbye to another year.

Why the slightly pessimistic tone of the title for this post?  Well, like a lot of other people, I decided on some New Year’s resolutions.  Read 40 books… child’s play!!!  Read all of the Sherlock Holmes adventures in a year alongside them… a doddle!!!  And it was when I started the year.  But then, “real life” creeps up and things happen.  As John Lennon sang, “Life is what happens when you’re busy making plans”.  (Also, I had big problems with Goodreads which prevented from me logging my books on).

Both challenges went by the wayside by the middle of the year and, as I imagine what happens to a lot of people, I didn’t feel the inspiration to catch up – partly due to falling behind and partly due to things that we’re going on behind the scenes.

 

That said, it wasn’t all doom and gloom.

On the television front:

  • “Sherlock” came back with three fantastic stories and a great addition to the cast in Amanda Abbington as Mary Morstan/Watson.
  • Peter Capaldi took the controls of the TARDIS in the latest series of “Doctor Who”.  Admittedly, this series has been a bit of a mixed bag but I’m really hoping that Series 9 will get the show back on track especially as Capaldi is looking to inject some of the fun back into the role again.
  • I got addicted to the latest show in the DC television universe in “The Flash”.  I have to admit that I’ve only watched one episode of “Arrow” (the cross over episode with “The Flash”) and it wasn’t to my particular taste, but I do love the fantastical elements of “The Flash” and Grant Gustin is making for a likeable lead in Barry Allen.
  • And right up to a couple of weeks before Christmas we get the wonderful BBC three part series “Remember Me”.  I mean, who would have thought of former Monty Python star Michael Palin tackling such a brilliant supernatural drama.

At the cinema, it was a bit of a mixed bag this year with some truly brilliant films such as “The Imitation Game”, “Chef”, “Paddington”, “The Fault In Our Stars” and “Guardians Of The Galaxy”; some films that promised to be great and didn’t really deliver such as “X-Men: Days Of Future Past”; and some which were pretty awful – yes, “Nativity 3: Dude, Where’s My Donkey?”, I mean you.

On the personal front, although my reading challenges were a bit of a fail, I did take up the challenge of running my first 10K run in over twenty years.  Okay, a time of nearly one and a half hours could be seen as slow, and it was to me considering that I had trained for eleven weeks beforehand, but I was proud that I’d made it round at all given that I had turned 42 a week earlier.

My breaks away this year have been a little less epic than previous with a couple of athletics related trips to Sheffield and Birmingham, a trip to the historical city of York (which I would recommend to any history buffs – if anybody who hasn’t been to York before says that they can’t fill a week there, then there’s something wrong with you) and a break in the Cotswolds where I visited places like Warwick Castle, the Black Country Museum in Dudley and the Severn Valley Railway.  Not only did I manage to do all that cool stuff, but, just to top it all off, I also managed to bump into Mendy for breakfast and a catch up whilst I was on an overnighter in London.  I really hope that we get a chance to catch up again sooner rather than later for a bit longer than breakfast at the renowned Speedy’s Cafe (who do a great coffee and toast… plug plug).

 

Speaking of Mendy, I’d like to say how great a friend she’s been this year… and not because she’ll be reading this blog post.  There are some friends who you go to in times of trouble and you just want to have a laugh and a joke… and then there are friends like Mendy who will do that, but also give you the metaphorical arm around the shoulder whilst giving you help and advice without sugar coating it.  (For want of a better phrase, kicking my arse).  I have needed that this year and I’m glad that she’s been there for me when I have needed it.  Thank you, Mendy.

 

So, on to 2015.

  • Yes, yet again, I’ll sign up to do a Reading Challenge next year but I’m not going to beat myself up if I succeed or not.  I’ve already managed to snag myself plenty of books over the Christmas period which I’m looking forward to reading, including some of a geeky disposition.  (Yes… finally, I’ve bought the “Doctor Who” book “Engines of War” after everyone has been raving about it plus “Good Omens” after Mendy told me how good it is).
  • There are already a few films on the horizon for 2015 that have me in eager anticipation – “The Theory of Everything”, “The Woman In Black 2: The Angel of Death”, “Avengers 2: Age of Ultron”, “Terminator Genesys” (featuring some bloke called Matt Smith – he was big in television last year), the latest 007 offering “Spectre”, “Insurgent”, “Paper Towns”, “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2″… Oh and a little film called “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”.
  • Despite my concerns about Series 8, I’m looking forward to the return of Doctor Who later in the year with the enigmatically titled “The Magician’s Apprentice”.

On a personal note, I already have some breaks away planned, both athletics and non-athletics related including an epic trip to Ireland followed shortly after by a trip to London, both of which I’m really looking forward to.  I’m also looking to get back into running after the festive break, not only to get myself to get fitter but with the intention of tackling another 10K later in the year.

 

Finally, I just want to wish you all a happy, healthy and geeky 2015 and thank you, dear readers, for continuing to support the blog.

Leave a Reply

