Goodbye 2014, hello 2015!

Hello everyone!

Another year has gone by! Time goes so fast! And what a year it has been. I’ve learned one thing: I’m terrible at New Year’s resolutions. I had 4 last year, and I failed at all of them. YAAAAY.

1) Participating at NaNoWriMo – Well, I did participate. I went to meetings. But I failed miserably when it comes to wordcount. But it was fun, so I’ll try again next year!
2) I didn’t set a goal for how many books I wanted to read, but I wanted at least to be reading a book at any point in time. I could take as long as I wanted to finish the book, but when I finished it I wanted to start reading another one instantly – I failed so hard at this one. I’ve finished one book this year. ONE. I’m a terrible person.
3) I wanted to follow at least 1 anime every season – This one worked out pretty well actually. Until the fall season started that is. I was way too busy with university and watching other series to also follow an anime. That said, I did continue watching ongoing anime, so I didn’t fail 100% at this one.
4) I wanted to visit the cinema at least once a week – That didn’t really work out too. Sometimes there are a lot of good movies at once, and sometimes none. I did go to the cinema frequently though.

That said, I am not going to make New Year’s resolutions for next year. You’ll understand why by now. But enough about what I didn’t do last year! Now it’s time for what I did do!

A lot of things changed in my personal life. I finished my internship and I finished my first master, after that, I started on my second master which I just finished last week. Go me! I went to Paris with Mendy and I went to the Azores with my boyfriend. Life is hard.

https://hotcutegirlygeek.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/dsc_0169.jpg?w=376&h=212

2014 was also a good year for gaming. We *coughmyboyfriendcough* bought a Playstation4, on which I played Infamous Second Son and I’m currently playing Dragon Age Inquisition. This year Nintendo released Mario Kart 8 (+ awesome DLC), Hyrule Warriors (+DLC), Pokémon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire, Smash Bros for Wii-U and 3DS, and Bayonetta 2 (they released more actually but this is what I’ve played). And don’t forget the introduction of the Amiibo’s! I’ve also played Shovel Knight (which was multi-plaform) and I got a bit into pc gaming (Minecraft and Left 4 Dead).

As for anime and manga, I’ve caught up with the Naruto anime (I skipped the fillers tough), and the manga has finished after 15 years! I don’t read the manga though, so I’m waiting patiently for the anime to end. I am watching Dragon Ball Z Kai (I didn’t watch Dragon Ball Z in my childhood, so I was lacking some basic anime knowledge) and I’m watching the remake of the sailor Moon anime (Sailor Moon Crystal). I’m not going to name every anime that I’ve watched this year, but some honorable mentions are D-Frag! Gin No Saji 2, Toaru Hikuushi e no Koiuta, Bokura Wa Minna Kawaisou, Isshuukan Friends, Mekaku City Actors, Soul Eater Not!, Ao Haru Ride, and Barakamon. Hayao Miyazaki released his last movie, The Wind Rises, and Studio Ghibli went on a break. But I got Mendy into Ghibli movies! And sadly, the legend of Korra came to an end. But what an ending it was! I’m planning to write a review of the Aang series and and Korra series next year. Oh yea, I went to Tsunacon and Abunaicon again too!

So that was last year. On to 2015! Having finished my studies also has a downside, because I’m sitting at home without a job now, *sort of*. I’m having a job in my field of study but I’m not getting payed for that and I have a job which has nothing to do with my field of study for which I do get payed. Both are part-time and temporary. So the next challenge is to find a job in my field of study for which I get payed! But I have a lot too look forward to, because I’m going to Zelda: Symphony of the Goddess in London in April, I’m officially graduating in May, and I’m *probably* going to Malaysia in June! I’m also planning to visit Tsunacon, Abunaicon and the first Dutch Comic Con! The New 3DS is probably releasing in Europe in 2015, and Majora’s Mask 3D, the new Star Fox, and Zelda U are being released next year too!

I wish you all a very very great and awesome and nerdy and geeky 2015! See you next year!

About Tekira

26 year old psychologist, on the quest of finding a job, loves anime and games.

Leave a Reply

