The Strain, a series review.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. Today a review about the Strain. And although it’s been going on for several weeks now. I still think it’s worth mentioning as a series you should watch. That is, if you like vampires or strange virus / disease programs. Without further ado and with spoilers I give you my opinion.

the strain

Synopsis according to IMDB:

A Boeing 767 arrives at JFK and is on its way across the tarmac, when it suddenly stops dead. All window shades are pulled down. All lights are out. All communication channels have gone quiet. Crews on the ground are lost for answers, but an alert goes out to the CDC. Dr. Ephraim “Eph” Goodweather, head of their Canary project, a rapid-response team that investigates biological threats, gets the call and boards the plane. What he finds makes his blood run cold.

In a pawnshop in Spanish Harlem, a former professor and survivor of the Holocaust names Abraham Setrakian knows something is happening. And he knows the time has come, that a war is brewing.

So begins a battle of mammoth proportions as the vampiric virus that has infected New York begins to spill out into the streets. Eph, who is joined by Setrakian and a motley crew of fighters, must now find a way to stop the contagion and save the city – a city that includes his wife and son – before it’s too late.    

My thoughts:

First of all, let me state that this isn’t the best vampire series out there, or viral series for that matter. However, when something comes along about vampires, I am bound to check it out and I am a sucker for vampire series and films who give a different outtake to the ‘original’ vampire myth (sparkling not included).  Although it did remind me a bit of Blade II

I love the fact that they see vampirism as a virus and the vampires actually turn into some sort of zombies. Well, vampires are after all undead, and if you read the Anita Blake novels, you know they respond to her necromancy.

Going back to the Strain. It is sometimes gory, which you must love. Me? I love the old-fashioned hack and slash movies, so blood and gore is cool with me. It has an interesting backstory about the main vampire or I think first vampire? And the fact that they do keep a bit of the old rules (with a twist) in tact is great.

What or who I don’t like is the main vampire. I mean, at first we don’t get to see the main vampire, or just his form and some tattered clothes/drapes whatever. As the series progresses you do get to see the vampire full frontal and it is really disappointing. The prosthetics are terrible and he looks like he took a trip to many to a Botox clinic.

It does have a bit of comic relief in it, which sometimes feels really misplaced for a ‘scary’ program, but it isn’t distracting. The characters sometimes feel over the top, as I said, not the best series out there. But for some reason I am drawn to it and I keep watching every episode in a weekly basis.

Oh and I almost forgot to mention it. Sean Astin, everyone’s favourite Hobbit Samwise Gamgee plays a part as well!

Have you seen it? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “The Strain, a series review.

  1. Wow great review! I’m interested in this, and look it up! Lots of love, Emily

Leave a Reply

