Z Nation, a series review.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. I am so glad summer hiatus is over, and new series are starting. This time we look at Z Nation. And as always, there will be spoilers, oh and zombies.

image

Synopsis according to IMDB:

Three years after the zombie virus has gutted the country, a team of everyday heroes must transport the only know survivor of the plague from New York to California, where the last functioning viral labs awaits for his blood.

My thoughts:

I love monster movies, weather its mummies, vampires, werewolves or zombies. Bring them on. There are a lot of bad ones out there, which shall not be named, but just remember something sparkly and you know what I mean.

Zombies are a hot item at the moment. I’ve seen my classics like night of the living dead. We had a bit of an uprise in the ’90’s with resident evil, and only a couple years ago an epic movie came out. Zombieland! If you haven’t seen it already, I really recommend it. I mean, Bill Murray and a quest for twinkies, mix that with zombies, hell yeah! (It tried to have a spinoff series, which failed, but rumours are Zombieland 2 is in the making).

And of course for the last couple of years we have the Walking Dead. An epic, scary well-written zombie series (which is starting again in a couple of days).

New on your telly is Z Nation, which combines the humour of Zombieland with the epicness of scary zombies from the Walking Dead. This can’t go wrong, right? Oh and not to forget, it has my favourite hunter / newly made vampire in it as well! I’m obviously talking about the DJ Qualls.

He plays the hilarious role of Citizen Z. Basically the last NSA person still alive, surrounded by some epic computer shit so he can hack his way into, well everything, and in those lonely cold nights he also plays a DJ, cheering up survivors with good music. In one word, brilliant.

I like the zombies, I mean, they look like zombies, but I like theses fast zombies. It makes it a bit harder to get away. Also, apparently they react to specific noises or frequencies. It’s always nice to have a new twist in your favourite monster.

The rest of the survivor group is pretty much what you expect. Die hard veterans, bimbo girl, couple in love and so one. Also nice to know that no matter what happens, human beings are willing to do everything to survive.

Although I’m not a big fan of creepy CGI babies and zombie animals.

I’m curious to see where it goes and if there is room for two zombie series on TV.

That’s it for this review. Check it out or let me know what you think about it.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy. 

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

