Gotham, a new series review.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks. Sometimes I wonder if I have a life because of the amount of books I read and series and films I watch. But then again, I mostly do this during the evening of my weekdays.

I have another new series to talk about. Usually I wait for 2 episodes to write something about it. But just like Scorpion, I’m writing about Gotham just after one episode.

images

Synopsis according to IMDB:

The origin story behind Commissioner James Gordon’s rise to prominence in Gotham City in the years before Batman’s arrival.

Official website

My thoughts:

First things first, I only know the Batman universe from the films, not the comics, so my opinion is based on said films. I loved the ‘90’s films, not so much the newer ones and I remember watching cartoons and a series on tv. I grew up with Batman and Robin and I much anticipated the new series Gotham.

I loved this episode! It’s like watching the muppet babies in the Gotham universe. Everyone is so young! Again, the pace was really high.

We start with the most important scene from all Batman universes, the murder of Mr. and Mrs. Wayne. And a terrible young Bruce Wayne aka Batman still a little kid, crying over the brutal murder of his parents and a young James Gordon, still a Detective and just started working at the Gotham police department. Promising young Bruce to catch the killer.

We see a young woman, almost a teenager, behaving catlike, jumping and climbing on and off buildings, feeding stray cats with stolen milk. Catwoman anyone?

We see a young psychotic Oswald Cobblepot, his facial charactaristics very familiar, and basically lashing out to everyone calling him penguin as a nickname.

We also get to meet Ivy Pepper, a sweet poison Ivy in her younger years.

A lot of characters from the Batman Universe get there introduction and even more references are being made toward people like the Riddler and Dr. Freeze and my guess is I still missed half of them.

And with the first episode giving us al these characters they need a hell of a story to keep things interested for the rest of the season. Gotham laid all its cards on the table, and although, what I know of the series, it’s not a new Batman story, but revolving more around James Gordon and how he came to be the Commissioner, it still leaves a lot of questions unanswered.

Oh and can we talk about Alfred Pennyworth? I mean, in every depicture of the Batman world you see him as the stiff upper lip butler, the best of the best in British servants and here? He’s like this though bloke from around the block, cussing his way trough things he doesn’t agree with and not the smart, some what docile / senile Alfred we know.

All in all, I really loved the first episode and I’m really curious as to see where the storyline brings us. And if our young Catwoman and young master Bruce get to meet as well.

So, have you seen Gotham? Any thoughts? Did the first episode live up to it’s expectation? Let me know!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

 

 

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

