Scorpion, a new series review.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. Winter is coming and summer hiatus is finally over. Fall is also the start of many new series. Everything that interests me I’ll watch and I’ll let you guys know about it. Just like last year.

For now, let’s have a look at Scorpion, a new series by CBS:

104703_d0320b2b1

Synopsis according to IMDB.

An eccentric genius forms an international network of super-geniuses to act as the last line of defense against the complicated threats of the modern world.

Official website

My thoughts:

Geeks, nerds, autism, hackers and highly intelligent people are hot at the moment. A lot of series use these characteristics as a main focus in their series. Look at Sheldon from the Big Bang Theory, Sherlock Holmes in BBC Sherlock, Chasing Shadows, Numb3rs, the film Hackers, the Net and so many more. We have a huge hackers theme going on in the ’90, with the uprising of personal computers and the world wide web. And now it seems it’s all coming back.

If we look at Scorpion it’s a combination of all of these series above with a bit of McGyver in there as well. And I think it has a lot of potential, but for the love of god, please let the scriptwriters consult with real hackers. The numerous mistakes made in just the first episode are astounding and I’m not even a real IT nerd. But even I cringe at the ridiculous solutions the series presented. Although it’s supposed to be based on real events.

I mean, obtaining a LAN connection between a Porsche and a moving plane? Come on. Or what about destroying a hard-drive in a car door because of the speaker system?

The soon to be named Scorpion team consists of 4 people: Walter O’Brien, the über smart hacker. Toby Curtis, the über smart psychology major who can deduct human behaviour just like Sherlock. Happy Quinn, our über smart hardware / electrician and Sylvester Dodd, the über smart maths guy. Combined they have an IQ of almost 700. They can do everything they want concerning there field of expertise, but forget to eat proper, keep relationships or pay there bills.

But it does have a lot of potential. The first episode had a high pace and you really needed to keep your attention towards the screen to catch everything. I like the main character (although the first couple of minutes reminded me a lot of Hackers), a young boy, hacking into NASA and being picked up by one of the numerous US alphabetic agencies, his brilliant mind being used to develop (what later is explained as a weapons system, killing lots of innocent bystanders.

And one thing I didn’t like was the whole, oh we’re really smart, so we function on a different level. We recognise emotions but don’t know how to act on them. Although, if you look at the end of the episode, that was what needed to create a new human element in this ‘McGyverish’ team.

It is heart breaking to see the little kid being lost in his own mind and our four savvy techies recognising him for what he is, explaining his behaviour towards his ‘normal’ mum.

What I’m trying to say, it’s a lot of stereotype behaviour, and in my opinion, giving a very wrong signal about how these kids are, behave and function. Not all kids / people with a high IQ are beaving like autistic people. A lot of them can function just like you and me, although there interests lie elsewhere.

But even though I think the series got so many things wrong, for me it’s really good entertainment and I look forward to the second episode. Although I get the feeling, if they continue in this path, there won’t be a second season.

What new series are you looking forward to? Have you seen Scorpion? What are your thoughts? Let me know.

 

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

2 thoughts on “Scorpion, a new series review.

  1. Astrid says:

    I’ve not seen it yet, but I will take a look.

    I don’t know if you reviewed this one, but I’ve been watching Silicon Valley, which takes a group of pressure cooker wannabes along their path when one of them actually creates an awesome compression algorhythm. It’s not so much that any of them are autistic, but some of the people in power around them are. It seems like a reasonable ratio for the industry and area they are in, so I recommend that. Not all of them are genius status intelligent, but some pique in their field, or else they probably wouldn’t have been there in the first place.
    Geeks struggling to become a viable company, and enough lovable characters and believable craziness to make it worth watching for me.

    I’m looking forward to your next review, Mendy!

    • Thanks for the tip, I will look into Silicon Valley. I’m always on the look-out for new series to watch. And tomorrow my review of Gotham will be posted, so you don’t have to wait too long for new tips into what to watch 😉

Leave a Reply

