Fangirling over a new book.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks. Today a quick post about myself and fangirling over a new book, a specific book to be precise. I’m talking about the new book written by Robin Hobb, Fool’s Assassin.

DSC_0268

Robin Hobb is my all-time favourite fantasy author. I’ve been reading her books about 15/20 years. And wow, that’s a really long time. I’ll give you a shortcut to one of my other blog posts I wrote about her and her books to give you an idea what they mean to me: farseer trilogy

I know I used a Dutch cover picture in that review, but that’s because I used to read the books in Dutch. You can’t expect a 10 year old to read English that well.

But enough about that. Me fangirling. I love books, I buy books, I devour books. There isn’t a single room in my house without books and that includes the toilet and bath chamber. I have my book cases but there are still stacks of books everywhere. I usually read several books at the same time.

Sometimes because I can’t hold interest in a particular book for too long, but I still want to read it. Sometimes because I’m listening to the audiobook, but sometimes because it’s too heavy to take the actual book with me. And sometimes because I want to keep the actual book clean and neat, usually because it’s autographed.

A couple of days before my latest trip to London, my all-time favourite author, Robin Hobb, did a book signing at Forbidden Planet (together with George R.R. Martin) and as usual I missed it with a couple of days. But from prior experience I know Forbidden Planet sells autographed copies after the signing. So one of my missions was to get my hands on a signed copy.

Traveling through London I saw huge posters hanging at tube stations, mentioning Robin Hobb’s new book and it couldn’t have made me prouder and more ecstatic.

And finally I got the time to visit Forbidden Planet and get my hands on that book. It made me feel a bit like Gollum. He, the book is all golden and shiny and it’s my precious… (Admit it, you read that in Gollum’s voice, hell I wrote it down in Gollum’s voice).

Now the thing is, I didn’t immediately started reading it. I was still traveling and as I said before I want some books kept neat. It landed between a good stack of clothes in my suitcase, waiting for me to get home.

But arriving home, still I didn’t immediately started reading it. And there’s a reason for that. I read fast, really really fast. The upside is I can read a lot in a small amount of time, the downside… well, the story finishes too early for me. Until a couple of days ago I couldn’t contain myself any longer and I took my beautiful hardcover copy of Fool’s Assassin to bed with me. Yeah I read a lot of my books either travelling or in bed before I go to sleep.

And I only read the first couple of chapters, but I missed Fitz and the Fool and Molly and Burrich and all my favourite characters. Although it’s a bit adjusting because of all the names (like I said, I’m used to read these books in Dutch) I now can hardly wait to read another chapter before sleeping and I find myself waiting until a decent time to go to bed.

I hope many more books will be written in this particular series and I hope some of you who aren’t familiar with this series will pick it up and start reading it from the start. You won’t be disappointed.

Ok, is it 10 pm yet? Can I go to bed now to read another chapter?

What are your reading habits, do you geek out or fangirl over a long anticipated book by your favourite author. Have you read the books written by Robin Hobb? Let me know!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

