Hot cute girly geek (and mum) went to London.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. Although I have been back for a couple of weeks now, I still want to tell you about my epic trip to London. Because I changed jobs and had a shitload of holiday days left at my old job I was able to book a pretty much last minute vacation to London.

DSC_0150

It happened that my mum had some holiday days left as well and we decided to go together. It’s been a couple of years that we went together on a holiday and we both love London.

Now, the thing is we don’t have the same interest. We do however share a couple of things we wanted to do together. For instance, I love going to a theatre, visit museums, spend half my day in Forbidden planet, while my mum basically loves shopping, which I hate. We do share a love of Doctor Who and Sherlock, although I’m a bit more passionate about it then she is.

We booked a hotel and train tickets and it also happened to coincide with my best friend’s trip to London with Theta, and of course we planned a quick get together.

After getting up really early on Thursday my mum and I boarded the train which took us from our home town to Rotterdam and from Rotterdam to Brussels and our final train to London. I love traveling by train, basically because I hate flying, but also about the no weight restriction and I always, always take extra stuff with me from London.

We tried booking into our hotel near Paddington station, but unfortunately the rooms wouldn’t be available for another half hour. So to Costa we went. I love Costa, I survive on Costa, and I need Costa in the Netherlands. Screw Starbucks with overpriced fancy coffees, I want a ridiculous large tea and chocolate goodies please!

I won’t bore you with the details but our first plan was already made, Covent Garden! And I had a particular mission in mind. In 2012 I met a guy who had a Doctor Who stall at Covent Garden and he was so nice to me, we chatted about Doctor Who, gave me huge discounts and was interested in a charm bracelet I made. I went back a year later, but he wasn’t there and I learned his stall isn’t open in the weekends. At that time I brought an Adipose I made for him with me and dropped it at the store he was affiliated with. This time I did find him and asked about the Adipose and he actually got it! He was so happy that he could thank me for it. But I also had a little sneaky plan. I brought with me some hats I knitted and he is interested. I’m currently waiting for a reply about actually selling my hats in his store. Oh and I bought some epic pictures for my wall.

We went to Leicester square to see if I could get tickets for Doctor Who, but it was sold out. I found another cinema which did had tickets and I went to the theatre to get a ticket for Richard III. It was sold out, but they told me they would release 7 tickets the next morning for a reduced price at 10 am.

DSC_0151

We were both pretty much knackered and decided to turn in early. On Friday I got up early to wait for a chance to get a ticket for Richard III. I got at the theatre around 8.30 and Just 1 guy was waiting for tickets as well. I had a pretty nice wait with this Scotsman and we talked about theatre, Doctor Who, museums and traveling. Luckily we both got tickets since we were 1 and 2 in line.

My mum and I planned on a visit to the Tower of London. We both wanted to see the poppy flowers they ‘planted’ there to remember the victims from the First World War and the Tower has always been on my list of things to see. It turned out to be a bust. For some reason I felt a bit unwell (actually a lot) and I didn’t see much.

DSC_0161

In the afternoon a trip to Forbidden Planet was on the menu and although my mum liked it, she pretty much found the only empty chair in the store to sit and wait for me geeking around and piling her lap with all the goodies I wanted to buy. Amongst others a signed book by one of my all-time favourite fantasy writers Robin Hobb!

DSC_0264DSC_0268

After a quick rest and a quick dinner I went to see Richard III. Wow, amazing, epic, brilliant, wonderful, molto bene! I will be doing a separate post about this play otherwise this one would be too long. But I loved every minute about it and I was amazed and blown away by the performance of Martin Freeman and his fellow cast members. Unfortunately he didn’t do any signings that night, but I did see him up close.

Saturday morning, Theta!!! What better way to meet up with your bestie in London is at Speedy’s cafe! We geeked out, including squealing and extensive hugging, much to the amusement of the staff hiding in the kitchen cheering us on. We exchanged presents, had a wonderful breakfast and took some geeky pics!

DSC_0193

We had some shopping planned and I got news that there was a Tardis at Parliaments square. Unfortunately I was too late, but Theta had planned a trip to Leicester square and texted me about the Tardis standing there. I left my mum to her shopping and rushed over to take some epic pics with the Tardis and a Dalek. I met a fangirling mum and daughter who loved my bag and I even leant her my sonic screwdriver to take some pictures.

DSC_0220

I made a quick stop at Waterstones Oxford Street to buy yet more books and we enjoyed an early pub dinner so we were on time to see Doctor Who at the cinema! It was amazing to share it with fellow fans including the buzzing of several sonic screwdrivers and such.DSC_0255 And no Doctor Who episode is complete without Jelly Babies!

DSC_0259

Sunday we planned a trip to Camden market. I’ve never been there and I heard it was pretty amazing, and it was. I found a cyber-shop who had the most amazing Matrix t-shirt, which was unfortunately way out of my price range, but I did manage to buy a new Sherlock shirt.

DSC_0262

I also got to introduce my mum to Byron burgers. I love Byron burgers, and now she does as well.

Monday was our last day and since we would be leaving after lunch my mum wanted to do some more shopping and I went to the National History museum. Note to self, not a good idea on a bank holiday. I really loved it, but boy was it crowded.

DSC_0317

We ended our 5 day London trip the only way you can, with an afternoon tea!

DSC_0322

And that was it. Of course I did way more things than I described, and I saw more epic things, and I’m already looking forward to going back in December. I miss London already.

Lots of love, your own hot cute girly geek Mendy (and mum).

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

