Nintendo Updates!

Some important dates for Nintendo gamers are coming up in the near future! This is quite bad for me because I don’t have a job at the moment. Sigh, poor wallet, I guess I just have to skip some meals this month *priorities*.

Hyrule Warriors (Wii-U)
Hyrule Warriors
This Dynasty Warriors/The Legend of Zelda spin-off game is already released in Japan. I’m really looking forward to it! Also, check out this awesome scarf that’s in the Limited Edition!
https://i0.wp.com/www.zeldadungeon.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/zelda-musou-treasure-box-363923.21.jpg

– Europe: September 19
– Australia: September 20
– North America: September 26

Super Smash Bros 3DS

SmashNintendo3DSBoxart.png
I’ve been a fan of the Smash Bros series since Melee, and I think off all my Wii games, I played Smash Bros Brawl the most! The new installment will have a lot of female characters: Zelda, Sheik, Samus, Zero Suit Samus, Peach, Lucina, Palutena, and Rosalina. You can pick both genders for the following characters: Animal Crossing Villager, Wii Fit Trainer, and Robin. I really look forward to this installment of the game! I even got so crazy I pre-ordered this 3DS-XL version (which includes a pre-installed version of SSB3DS). And then… stuff happened. Read further to find out what! Oh yea, there is a rumour going on that there will be bundles available which contain 2 copies of the game (for a slightly cheaper price). That will be great if you want to play together with you brother, sister, friend, or partner!
https://i2.wp.com/i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/s--fwrGASF4--/c_fit,fl_progressive,q_80,w_636/t6qrbjnc4gqqyryls7sy.png
– Japan: September 13
– Europe: October 3
– North America: October 3
– Australia: October 4

3 Special 3DS-XL versions (US only)

The US was feeling a bit left out since the Limited Edition Super Smash Bros 3DS-XL version was only announced for Europe. But now they don’t have any reason to complain, since they will get the Limited Edition Super Smash Bros 3DS-XL both in red and blue (although the game is not pre-installed), a Persona Q 3DS-XL, and a NES-themed 3DS-XL. Damn you US.

– Super Smash Brothers 3DS-XL: October 3
– NES 3DS-XL: October 10 (GameStop exclusive)
– Persona Q 3DS-XL: October 10 (GameStop exclusive)

Bayonetta 2 (Wii-U)
Bayonetta2boxart.png

To be honest, I haven’t played Bayonetta 1, but my boyfriend did and it looks pretty darn cool. And check this awesome limited edition box (which also contains an artbook). The limited condition as well as the normal edition contain a disc with Bayonetta 1 (which was exclusive for PS3 and Xbox360), and since my boyfriend ordered the limited edition I think I’m going to play both games.

– Japan: September 20
– Europe: October 24
– North America: October 24
– Australia: October 25

Mario Kart 8 DLC (wii-U)


Last month Nintendo made some major updates available for the latest Mario Kart installment, and gave away free Mercedes DLC. No, I am not making this stuff up. We are now able to pick 3 different Mercedes carts (for the experts: the GLA, the W 25 Silver Arrow, and the 300 SL Rooster). But, we were in for a surprise! We were also able to pre-order 2 very awesome DLC packs, which will be available in a few months. The first pack is the Legend of Zelda Pack and adds 3 characters to the roster, namely Link (!!!), Tanuki Mario, and Cat Peach. It will add 4 new vehicles, including the Blue Falcon, and it adds two cups (= 8 tracks), which are called the Triforce Cup and the Yoshi Egg cup. The second pack is the Animal Crossing Pack and will add 3 characters, namely Animal Crossing Villager, Isabelle, and Dry Bowser. It will add 4 new vehicles and 2 cups, called the Animal Crossing Cup and the Super Bell Cup. Both packs will cost 8 Euro’s or Dollars seperately, but you can also buy them as a bundle for 12 Euro’s or Dollars. If you buy both packs, you will be able to pick between 8 different colours for Yoshi and Shy Guy.

I am extremely excited for this. This is the first time we will be able to play as charcters in Mario Kart which are not related to the Mario Universe, and I did really not see this coming. To be able to play as a character from my favourite franchise (I mean Link, duh) in Mario Kart is really amazing. Also, 16 extra tracks! That expands the game with 50%!

– The Legend of Zelda Pack: November 2014 (worldwide)
– Animal Crossing Pack: May 2015 (worldwide)

Pokémon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire (3DS)
https://i1.wp.com/www.gametown.tv/screenshots/pok-mon-omega-ruby-en-alpha-sapphire/pok-mon-omega-ruby-en-alpha-sapphire-1.png
I did not want this game. I did not understand why it was necessary to remake Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire. But that was before these games were announced. NOW I NEED THEM. I can’t wait until November! There is also a limited edition steel box, but as far as I know, those are only announced for the UK. There is also a pre-order bonus (a small figurine of either Mega Groudon or Mega Kyogre), but it’s not really clear to me in which countries they give those away (sorry!). Also, remember the Smash Bros bundle I was talking about? I really hope they’re going to sell bundles with the 2 versions of this game too!

– Japan: November 21
– North America: November 21
– Australia: November 21
– Europe: November 28

Super Smash Bros U (Wii-U)
http://i2.wp.com/shoryuken.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/WiiU_SuperSmashBros_pkg.png

This game will contain the same characters as the 3DS version, but will have different arena’s and will have a different soundtrack. Also, if you register both the 3DS version and the Wii-U version on Club Nintendo, you will receive a CD with the full soundtrack! The Wii-U installment will be released in December. No further details about the release date are known.

The ‘New’ 3DS

So I just told you guys I pre-ordered the Limited Edition Smash Bros 3DS-Xl right? 1 week after I did that, the New 3DS was announced. This beauty has a C-stick and 2 extra shoulder buttons. The angle for 3D view is bigger, and there are some technical improvements too (like bigger RAM and stuff). Some games (like Xenoblade) will be exclusive for the New 3DS. It comes in a ‘normal’ edition and an XL edition. So yea… I cancelled my Limited Edition 3DS-XL and decided to wait for this one. Although it hurt my heart a little. Oh yea, New 3DS is the official name. Nintendo doesn’t learn fast it seems (to clarify, when Nintendo announced the 3DS, it wasn’t clear to a lot of people that the 3DS was a next-gen handheld, since the name didn’t differ much from the previous handheld, the DS. Nintendo made this mistake again when they announced the Wii-U).

– Japan: October 2014
– Rest of the world: Somewhere in 2015

So yea, Nintendo has a lot in store for us! I hope I can find the time to write a review of each game I just mentioned. Are you guys planning to buy any of these?

About Tekira

24 year old psychologist, on the quest of finding a job, loves anime and games.

Leave a Reply

