Guardians of the Galaxy, a film review.

 

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. As I said in my previous post, I’m back I and I thought it would be nice to write a film review for a film that is surprising box offices all over the world by how popular it is. I am talking about Guardians of the Galaxy of course. Oh and beware of major spoilers ahead.

GOTG_wpw_Poster

First things first. I am not a comic geek, so that means I can’t give you detailed insight into how well the comic is adapted into a film. I’m sure there are plenty of reviews to be found online going into such a thing. This is merely me geeking out about the film and why you should see it.

Synopsis according to IMDB.com:

Light years from Earth, 26 years after being abducted, Peter Quill finds himself the prime target of a manhunt after discovering an orb wanted by Ronan the Accuser.

My thoughts:

Well, that synopsis is telling you absolutely nothing. And as I am typing this I am listening to Awesome Mix Tape Vol. 1. A must have for lovers of this epic Marvel adaptation.

I have the perfect target audience age to watch this film, as it starts in the early ‘80s where a young Peter Quill (It’s Star-Lord, just so you know) is abducted by aliens as his mother just died in the hospital. Where his father is, we don’t know and we get a small hint at the end of the film.

GOTG_wpw_Starlord

We fast forward into present day and on some desolate planet we see a grown-up Peter Quill (Star-Lord) putting a strange device on his belt attached to vintage looking headphones. Yes kids, this is how we used to listen to music before we had mp3 players and smartphones. A portable cassette player.

Ok, can you be nostalgic at the age of 30? I mean, this whole movie is just one big nostalgic trip for me, with epic ‘70s and ‘80s music, references to old TV shows (ALF!) films (Footloose with Kevin Bacon) and plastic troll dolls with rainbow coloured hair. I don’t know whether to be super excited to see all these references or feel really old at the age of 30. But for me it was epic and pure enjoyment to see such thing.

I mean, who doesn’t remember sitting in front of the radio, listening to a music program, your tape in the cassette recorder and your fingers on the record button, creating your own mix tapes.

But to go back to the film. Peter Quill (still Star-Lord) has some groovy moves as he steels a futuristic looking orb and let that be the one thing just about everyone is after.

He double crosses the guy that abducted and raised him, trying to sell it, only to encounter a very green looking Zoe Saldana playing Gamora and Rocket and Groot.

GOTG_wpw_Gamora

Rocket, a genetically engineered walking, talking and shooting raccoon (although he has no clue what a raccoon is) and Groot. Descended from a race of walking flora and resembling a sentient tree. And he talks, well, talks. He can only say ‘I am Groot’ but the moment you spot him, you have a soft spot for him. He is Rocket’s conscience and muscle man and he has an important part to play towards the end of the film. (Fun fact: Groot means big or huge in Dutch).

GOTG_wpw_RocketGroot

As there is a price on Peter Quill (Star-Lord, yes we know) and Rocket and Groot are bounty hunters they try to catch him. But alas, they all get arrested for shooting and fighting in public, together with Gamora and land in a maximum secured prison.

Gamora turns out to be not so nice a person and the adopted (stolen) daughter of Thanos who turned her into the perfect killing machine, so most of the prisoners want her dead for killing their families.

Inside the prison we meet Drax (and he looks amazing, beautifully done.) A really big muscled man, looking for revenge.

GOTG_wpw_Drax

In the end they team up and escape the prison. Gamora knows someone who wants to buy the orb, so they venture onto the next planet.

In the meantime, Gamora’s sister (also adopted), played by the beautiful and ultimate companion Karen Gillan (what might the Doctor say about her new looks, not to mention Rory). She plays Nebula who wants to team up pretty much with the winning team at the time.

GOTG_wpw_Nebula

Basically it’s one big epic fight over the Orb, Ronan on the one hand who wants the orb to destroy a whole planet, Yondu who wants to kill Peter (oh god yes, we know Star-Lord) for betraying him, and the good guys to prevent everything and save the planet Xandar.

GOTG_wpw_Ronan

And throw in lots of humour, cool music, lots of great references to the ‘80s era, strange looking aliens, space ships, an amazing cast and beautiful decors and graphics and you have me sold.

In the end, of course the good guys win and they take the name Guardians of the Galaxy. Please wait until after the credits for a special bonus scene as Marvel does with all its films.

GOTG_wpw_teaser

And of course… dancing baby Groot! The cutest thing ever!

You have to watch this film, watch it, and go to the cinema, as in now. Just go, you won’t be disappointed. I want to go a second time and maybe I will. And this is definitely one to add to my DVD collection.

Have you seen it? What are your thoughts, did you like it?

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

Disclaimer: Picture credits to the official Marvel website: http://marvel.com/guardians

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

2 thoughts on “Guardians of the Galaxy, a film review.

  1. Tekira says:

    I like how this movie can be implemented in the rest of the Marvel Universe. You don’t have to see the other Marvel movies to understand this one, but if you have, there is some added value of some details. They explain the origins of the Infinity Stones, We get more information about the ‘super villain’ Thanos and we see a bit more of The Collector.

    Also, I reaaaaally hop Howard the Duck is a troll. I can’t see how that would work out well.

  2. Loved this movie!!! Maybe it was the sound track and I LOVE sci-fi? Hum…. or maybe the hunkie, hunk who played the lead? In any case, it was a good film and entertained me! Lots of love, Emily

Leave a Reply

