Hot cute girly geek is back.

Hi my lovely hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. Guess what, I’m back!!! Technically I never went away, but these last few months have been crazy and it felt like my life was a rollercoaster.

I will explain a bit what happened and then I’ll go back to writing regular updates on my blogs for all the geeky stuff.

Ok, work first. I am a social worker and for the past seven years I’ve been working with drug addicts and homeless people. I love my job and I love my clients and the work itself. But even though the economy is picking up again, working in the mental health department in the Netherlands isn’t a good place to be today. Next year our general care and health system is changing and due to that change a lot of companies are afraid they won’t be getting enough money to take care of the people. And as a result a lot of people have lost their jobs or are about to lose their jobs.

I for one didn’t want to wait for that to happen and because of some other work related stuff (which I won’t mention), I decided to look for something else. In the meantime I’ve also been looking into changing careers and see if there was any opportunity for me to become a teacher, which is also a passion of mine. And of course I was looking into becoming an English teacher. And I even looked into getting a job in the UK and moving there. But because I only have a secondary school grade in English to show for, no University would have accepted me, and the same goes for jobs in the UK. You need to show you’re able to understand the English language. That’s why I have been studying to get my Cambridge CPE grade. A 10 week crash course to prep you for the exam.

And my boss had the bright idea to give me another course at the same time. So since April I have been managing multiple courses, and looking for new jobs.

I’m pleased to say I passed the exam for my English CPE and I am overjoyed with that. And to make things even better, after multiple interviews with different companies, I started my new job last Monday.

I now will be working as a Social Worker with disabled people, both physically and mentally, chronically ill people and people who have autism.

For me it also means I can cut back on my hours and have more time at home for myself, being chronically ill myself. And they don’t even mind that.

My new job is so much different than my old one. The people are nice, everything is arranged for us workers, you have plenty of time to develop yourself and I absolutely love it.

Of course I will miss things from my old job and some of the clients and colleagues, but after seven years it was time to go.

And due to changing jobs I also was able to book a holiday for me and my mum. We went to London for 5 days and we had a blast. Not to forget, I got the change to hug my bestie Theta, who was visiting London with his brother at the same time. And I saw the TARDIS and a Dalek and went to see Richard the III and the premiere episode of Doctor Who in the cinema and it was epic. Keep a look out for a London blog soon.

So that basically was my life the last couple of months. Job hunting, being stressed, learning, exams, taking care of a friend who crashed for a couple of weeks in  my house as well and things have settled down now.

I can look forward to learning loads of new stuff at my new job (I’m a knowledge geek), and a new trip to London in December, and even cooking a traditional Christmas dinner for the DCC!

Oh and I almost forgot. I contacted an artist who is now looking into changing this blog, yay! And I have a new guest blogger as well.

Thank you for being patient with me and I hope to hear from you guys and I look forward to going back to writing again!

Lots of love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

DSC_0207

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

2 thoughts on “Hot cute girly geek is back.

  1. Astrid says:

    Congratulations on your new job! That’s awesome! It sounds a lot better than your old one. Also congratulations on passing the Cambridge exam. It will be valid forever, and who knows, you may end up using it.

  2. Awww thanks. yeah, I’m so happy with my new job. Fewer hours, more pay, relaxed people and I’m just happy. And indeed, who knows about that Cambridge exam.

Leave a Reply

