Report: Abunai! 2014

Hello everybody!
As promised here is the report of Abunai! 2014. Note: I didn’t really feel like taking too much pictures, if you want to see some awesome cosplay pictures made at Abunaicon, visit http://www.nozlan.com (although pictures of Abunai 2014 are not online yet at the moment of writing)

Friday
After a 2 hour drive (I only got lost twice!) we arrived at NH Koningshof. There was a long line for the entrance, but that was a good opportunity to take in the atmosphere. We changed clothes at our hotel room (Sander (my boyfriend) as Animal Crossing Villager (sorry, no pictures! You can check my Abunai blog of last year!) and me as FemLink (again, no pictures, you can check my Tsunacon 2013 blog!).

Outside NH Koningshof

We walked around for a while until the dealer room opened. I was hoping to find a stand where I could buy a yukata (a summer kimono, lighter and easier to wear than a normal Kimono), but for the past 2 years, I didn’t manage to find one. This year, I was lucky! I found a small stand, but unfortunately, the yukata’s were a little out of my budget. But the nice seller told me that she would sell (relatively) cheaper ones tomorrow. Yay!

the dealer room

After dinner, we attended the cosplay fashion show and the EuroCos preliminary’s. Again, sorry no pictures! You’re not allowed to use flashes and it was really to dark to take good pictures otherwise. But I advice you to look for pictures of Him (from the Powerpuff Girls). He/She was amazing!!! Because it started one hour (!) late, we didn’t stay until they announced the winners because we wanted to attend the Masked Cosplay ball.

The Masked Cosplay Ball was kind of a set-back. There was the opportunity to learn how to ballroom dance, but they forced everyone to listen, which didn’t work. But I think I can do the quickstep now… Also, the music ranged from classical Ghibli songs to Mambo no. 5. After that, time for bed!

Saturday
Saturday morning I wanted to go to the dealer room as fast as possible to buy a yukata. And yay! I bought one! I’m so happy with it! After I bought my yukata I got changed to my Great Fairy Cosplay (Twilight Princess). It looked quite awesome, but I took the liberty to forget that I have apparently an extremely large head, so the wig was killing me! We took some pictures and played Mah-Jongg (maybe I’ll write a blog about Mah-Jongg in the future) but after 1,5 hour my headache became too strong so I changed into my yukata.

After that we attended the Cosplay Act Competition, which sadly wasn’t as good as last year, but still amusing (also, about 50% of the acts was a dance act). Again, we didn’t stay until they announced the winners because we wanted to attend a panel of Lisle Wilkerson, a American/Japanese voice actress (Hello Kitty, Tekken e.o.). She was born in the US, but moved to Japan when she was 5 and moved back when she was 35. She told us some funny and interesting anecdotes the differences between living in Japan and the US. She’s a really fun, nice and interesting person!

After dinner we attended to the Cosplay In Japan panel, where 2 professional Belgian Cosplayers told us about the differences between European cosplay culture and Japanese coslplay culture. There was a really nice and informal atmosphere and we learned about some interesting events we want to attend in the future.

Finally, we went to Otaku Millionaire, where you were able to win tickets for Animecon. Sander even managed to get to the preliminary’s but the questions were so hard that nobody won. It was fun though!

Sunday
Sunday we both didn’t cosplay because we had to check out of our hotel room, so we didn’t have the chance to change back. After some last rounds through the dealer room, we attended to the AMV (Anime Music Video) competition, which was excellent this year! Usually, there are some bad ones, some average ones and some great ones, but the majority this year was great and only a few were average. As alywas the AMV competition inspired me to watch some anime I’ve never heard of (White Album 2 and Kyoukai No Kanata). After the AMV competition it was already time to go home.

our loot

Overall Experience
This year was amazing! Because we had a hotel room at the location itself we could change multiple times a day and we didn’t need to drag a bag everywhere. The panels where really fun and intrusting and I’ve never seen such a good AMV competition. And I’ve finally bought a yukata!

Oh, I almost forgot! I found W.I.T.C.H. cosplayers! W.I.T.C.H. is my guilty please, expect a blog about it in the future!

About Tekira

26 year old psychologist, on the quest of finding a job, loves anime and games.

Leave a Reply

