This Weekend: Abunaicon!

Hello lovely geeks! This weekend I will be attending the Abunaicon in Veldhoven, the Netherlands. This is one of the biggest anime conventions of the Netherlands and this will be my third time attending and this time we were able to get a room at the location itself instead of a hotel close by! This will be short review of my preperations!

I will wear my Link cosplay on Friday, and I will ware my newly made Great Fairy (tLoZ: Twilight Princess) on Saturday and Sunday.

Since I’m still an amateur cosplayer with no sewing skills whatsoever, I thought the Great Fairy would be easy to make. I found the right fabric at a market. It turned out a lot more difficult that I thought! Here are some pictures of work in progress. Also, yay for double-sided tape! And for those who want to know: I bought my wig at FM-anime.com 😉 . And yes, I know I have to comb my bangs back.




This year there will be a masked ball at Abunai. Because I don’t really have ball-gown cosplay, I figured I would just wear the dress I wore to prom at high school. Actually I’m kinda happy I can wear it again! But since this is of course an anime convention, I wanted to add a little Zelda-touch to my outfit. So I decided to decorate the masks! Also, the Majora’s Mask mask helped me to convince my boyfriend to attend to the ball as well 🙂




I’m really looking forward to the con! Expect a report one or two weeks after this weekend! Do you live in the Netherlands or Belgium and want to visit a convention too? Here is a list with (also other fantasy related conventions and events)

-Abunai
2014 – August 29-31 augustus – Veldhoven, the Netherlands
Elfia (Elf Fantasy Fair/EFF)
2014 – September 20 – 21 – Castle Arcen, Arcen, the Netherlands
FACTS
2014 – October 18 – 19 – Flanders Expo, Ghent, Belgium
MGC Experience
2014 – November 1st – Utrecht, the Netherlands
Nishicon
2014 – November 15 – 16 – Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Tsunacon
2015 – Februari – Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Made in Asia
2015 – March – Brussels Expo, Brussel, Belgium
Imagicon
2015 – Unknown – Ede, the Netherlands
YaYCon
2015 – around the start of April – Amersfoort, the Netherlands
Tomocon
2015 – around the start of April- Oss, The Netherlands
Elfia (Elf Fantasy Fair/EFF)
2015 – April 19 – 21 april – Castle de Haar, Haarzuilens, the Netherlands
Animecon
2015 – June – The Hague, The Netherlands
Japanfestival 2015
2015 – June – Amstelveen, the Netherlands
EpiCon
2015 – July – ‘s-Hertogenbosch/Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Moshi Moshi
2015 – July – Amstelveen, the Netherlands

Bye everybody, and maybe I’ll see you at Abunaicon!

About Tekira

26 year old psychologist, on the quest of finding a job, loves anime and games.

One thought on “This Weekend: Abunaicon!

  1. Anita says:

    I’m looking forward to the 1st edition of Dutch Comic Con

Leave a Reply

