How to survive the world cup if you’re not a sports geek.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. The world cup has started when you are reading this. And I’m not into soccer or football, depending on where you are living. Hell, I’m not into sports period. And I don’t know how it is over where you guys are living, but my country and fellow Dutchies are going crazy. My whole country turns orange, our national colour. And I mean everything, foods, drinks, houses, and people.

So I decided to help out my fellow geeks who despise the craziness just as I do.

I asked my fellow geeks online how they would deal with surviving the world cup and we came up with a pretty epic list.

Stella is gonna hide in a bomb shelter and avoid human interaction at all costs. During said time in the bomb shelter she is gonna read books, binge watch all the TV series and bake a shitload of cupcakes. Hmm, wonder where I can find a bomb shelter which provides such things.

Ilana is going to catch up with her DVD sets from TV series and movies, as well as a huge stack of books. And she is gonna add it with lots of edible goodies and she wants to invite other geeks over to enjoy all these things. Well, count me in!

My good friend Lex added moving to the US, apparently they don’t consider football a sports. Ok, maybe to rigorous to do, but maybe an extended holiday may be a good idea for the next world cup.

Laura gave the tip that most TV networks also have programs for non-sports lovers. She mentioned one of our Dutch networks are doing a rerun on detective shows, including Sherlock. And if you’re into romantic movies, another Dutch TV channel shows those almost every night.

Tracy, my favourite bear polare suggests going to libraries, museums, book stores because they will be empty.

And Nieke who is a massive geek and epic cosplayer loves all the football madness and her tip is to try and understand the rules, maybe you’ll enjoy it.

Lauren gave the tip to create your own world cup of TV shows. Creating team with random episode vs episode. Winner is your favourite episode and continue watching the rest of the show as a reward!.

My own tips:

  • Have a geeky picnic, the weather is nice, team up with fellow geeks and try to come up with geeky recipes.
  • Learn how to crochet, you can find excellent tutorials online and ravelry is full of epic geeky patterns.
  • Fill your mp3 player with audiobooks and listen to them to drown out the craziness.
  • Start sewing your own cosplay outfit.
  • Participate into Camp NaNo in July.
  • Prepare for GISHWHES!!!

Just check my blog to get ideas about what to watch and what to read, and if any of you geeks want to meet up to escape the madness just let me know.

So how are things in your country, do you have any other survival tips, share in the comment section so other geeks can enjoy.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “How to survive the world cup if you’re not a sports geek.

  1. rtgrthetasigma says:

    All these are great alternatives to the event that shall not be named.

    Unfortunately, I couldn’t really contribute beyond this as my weekends will consist of running, rugby, athletics and general chilling out… Oh, and trying to beat Level 5 of Doctor Who Legacy. 😀

Leave a Reply

