Maleficent, a film review.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. Life keeps happening over and over, but I finally managed to find a bit of time to write this review.

Maleficent

I went to see Maleficent last Thursday with a friend after a bit of studying and working. Hey, we needed the break and we ended up seeing Maleficent in 3D.

First things first. Can we stop with the whole 3D thing? It gives me migraines if I don’t take massive amounts of painkillers before settling down in the cinema. I don’t think it improves a film, nor for me at least has it any other value besides being more expensive.

Oh and as always be beware of spoilers!

This whole fairy-tale revival is really peaking at the moment  but I don’t know if it’s a good thing per se. Ok, it gives us a few interesting stories and such, but I would like my fairy tales the way they intended to be, scary gruesome and with a moral at the end of the story.

We’ve seen the a lot of films come by these last few years, but I long for the old fashioned 80’s movies like Legend, the NeverEnding story, Willow and Labyrinth to come back. I grew up in the ‘80s and ‘90s so there you have it.

Now a days we have once upon a time in wonderland which epically failed due to terrible green screen CGI effects and a horrible plot, although it’s original Once Upon a Time is slightly better. We have Beauty and the Beast the TV series, Snow White and the Huntsman the film, Mirror Mirror, the TV series Grimm (again terrible CGI), Red Riding hood, Alice in Wonderland the film and now Maleficent.

One thing all these productions have in common is that they definitely don’t follow the original stories as they were once written down by the brothers Grimm or Hans Christian Anderson. No, they are all some sort of Disney adaptation, and that’s ok, I mean, who didn’t grew up with Disney films as a child and as an adult as well. What I don’t like is that they all follow the same sort of soppy romance spin-off and most of the times a terrible plot and bad acting as well. The same goes for Maleficent.

Synopsis according to IMDB.com

A vengeful fairy is driven to curse an infant princess, only to discover that the child may be the one person who can restore peace to their troubled land.

My thoughts:

It was an entertaining movie, don’t get me wrong, but it will never be one I’ll buy on DVD to watch over and over again. Isobelle Molloy is perfectly sweet as a young Maleficent and Angelina Jolie as adult version even more magnificent as Maleficent (try saying that 10 times fast) and as far as the story goes they tried at giving bad writing a positive outcome. The movie is about an hour and a half long and I couldn’t keep myself from thinking about the massive plot holes. And I can’t believe they intended this movie to be this way. So a lot must have been left out in the cutting room, which is a shame because it has so much more potential. You almost wish it was a book adaptation and you could read the whole story. Now it just felt like watching a J.J. Abrams film, instead of being distracted by lens flares you keep getting distracted by plot holes.

And don’t get me started on King Stefan. I don’t know if it has to do with bad writing or bad acting, but it was awful. The character was very flat, the accent was terrible, the actions of said character unbelievable rash and without motivation. And I almost feel sorry for Sharlto Copley who accepted the role.

The CGI in the movie has its good and bad sides. Little pixies and surrounds are beautifully done, but as soon as the character get any larger, it’s not so beautiful any more. And I constantly had the urge to yell stuff was stolen from other films (e.g. LOTR).

The film had its good moments as well. Elle Fanning as Aurora is such a sweet character and it was truly remarkable acting as well. And little Vivienne Jolie-Pitt melted the hearts of the audience by cuddling Maleficent’s horns.

The three good fairies were to dumb for my taste and I missed the third blessing of the child after Maleficent’s curse. They acted like the comic relief part of the film, which is a shame. And has Maleficent nothing better to do than lurking around Aurora all day?

One thing worth mentioning is Sam Riley as Diaval, the crow boy. He was the most interesting character in the film but was seriously lacking some background information and I would have loved to see an explanation to all his scars. And I was kind of hoping he was the one to give the kiss.

And one more thing, sleeping beauty sleeping for 5 freaking minutes? Nope!

All in all it felt very rushed, lacking a lot of explanation, bad script writing and some bad acting as well, plot holes all around. But if you’re in the mood for some light entertainment you should watch it. It’s not that I wasted the hour and a half in the cinema, but there are far better films out there.

If you want to know Theta’s thoughts on the film, check out his review of Maleficent by clicking the link! http://thewanderingbookworm.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/826/

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

3 thoughts on “Maleficent, a film review.

  1. rtgrthetasigma says:

    Have to admit, that your closing remarks are on the nail. Maleficent is one of the better films of the summer so far, and whilst it seeks to break new ground, it’s basically a Wicked style take on Sleeping Beauty.

    Hollywood needs to take more risks with the fantasy genre as a whole. (Maybe a Neil Gaiman adaptation or two… Hint Hint). 😉

  2. Anita says:

    It seems that Disney is doing a re-boot of the fairy tales villains origin story. they started with Oz the great and the powerful and now Malificent. Oz and Malificent were beautiful to watch but om my gosh they were long and the writing was terrible. I don’t even know why they are doing Cinderella with Kate Blanchet as the evil stepmom. For me Ever After will always be the best live action version of Cinderella. I feel lately that Disney is making movies where I would rather buy the movie soundtrack (You know I mean Frozen) than actually watch their movie that’s full of plot holes. And it seems they don’t have any intention of stopping, saw they have jungle book, beauty & the beast, Creulla planned for the coming years. Maybe they’re going the marvel direction after they make the origin story of all the fairy tales they will make an fairy tale villain assembly movie. hahahaha

    Ps. did you read that Peter Capaldi played as Malificent uncle and got cut in the editing room. Seems like the movie has a lot of cut & paste and reshoot, which I think resulted in a shaky storyline.

  3. Maddi says:

    This is my first time seeing your blog and while I was hoping to get some info on the film, I found this to be less informative and more opinion based. I would like more substance and specific examples of the allegedly bad acting (aside from Stefan who had a wimpy, girly voice). The fairies were weak for sure too – were you as annoyed that they changed their names as I was? I loved Jolie as Maleficent. Fanning was sweet and likable, but she was no Briar Rose/Aurora in appearance nor disposition. I’m curious as to why you think/thought the lack of development on Diaval was a plot hole rather than just lack of development of a minor character. I didn’t care to know his history and accepted him for what he was.

Leave a Reply

