Series that came, I saw and dismissed or continued watching.

Hello my lovely and very patient hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course.

Life has been crazy these past few weeks. Got some bad news, making exciting new plans, am extremely busy with studying, working, knitting and everything.

Ok, first things first. I started a 10 week course to prep myself for the Cambridge CPE exam. Whoop, whoop. And in order to fulfil my homework duties, I need to watch lots and lots of TV without subtitles, or with English subtitles, I need to read English books, newspapers, articles etc. I need to talk a lot with English people and I need to listen to podcasts / radio shows. So basically nothing changes at the moment 😉

Although you will be getting a bit more blog posts compared to the last two months.

The winter season of the TV shows is slowly coming towards an end and I’ve been trying to find new shows I can watch. And guess what, not everything was as good as I suspected.

What I did watch and dismissed:

  • Helix
  • Misfits
  • From Dusk Till Dawn

What I did watch and stuck to it:

  • Believe
  • Game of Thrones
  • Musketeers
  • Star Crossed
  • The 100
  • Continuum
  • The After

helix-posterLet’s start with Helix. Synopsis according to IMDB: A team of scientists are thrust into a potentially life-or-death situation in this thriller, which begins with the group being deployed to the Arctic to secretly investigate what could be a disease outbreak. It sounded promising, a virus let loose in an underground facility in the middle of freaking nowhere, surrounded by lots and lots of snow and ice. Ok, it sounds like a lot of other ‘disaster / virus’ movies, but I like those a lot.

The thing is, Helix is made by the syfy channel and whereas it works brilliantly for Warehouse 13, it doesn’t work, in my opinion, for Helix. It has that whole, bad b-movie feeling towards it and basically, it sucks. But if you’re into that kinda thing, go ahead. I don’t mind. But the acting is bad, the special effects seem even worse and I wonder how the script-writers are getting paid for this.

Ok, moving on. Misfits. Synopsis according to IMDB: A group of young offenders doing community service get struck by lightning during a storm, and begin to misfitsdevelop superpowers. A nice American whovian pointed this serious out for me. And although I love British series, this isn’t my style. It reminds me to much of bad Dutch television, filled with swearing, violence, nudity and sex. And although I don’t mind any of those things, I mean I watch Game of Thrones after all, it seems kinda cheesy and sorry, I did try it, but I just don’t like it. Although people assured me season 2 gets better, I pulled the plug, halfway season 1.

from-dusk-till-dawn-tv-series-posterNext one on the list, From Dusk Till Dawn. Synopsis according to IMDB: A Texas Ranger is in hot pursuit of the infamous Gecko brothers. Oh, I love the movies, although progressing into movie number 2, 3 and four, the quality dwindles a lot. But it has that nice over the top vampire movie feeling, which I think is great for some stories. And at least it’s better than twilight, right? But the series, nope. They are trying too hard to remake the episodes into the movie. And even though I’m saying episodes, I just watched the first, found it horrible and not interesting enough to stick around for another one.

Ok, now onwards to the list of series I did watch and continue watching at the moment, if it doesn’t interfere with homework duties. Believe. The synopsis according to BELIEVE-TV-Series-600x337IMDB: A relationship forms between a gifted young girl and a man sprung from prison who has been tasked with protecting her from the evil elements that hunt her power. Oh I love it; you should also check the review Den of Geek did for this series. It has that wonderful supernatural feeling, but still pretty much down to earth and mixed in with some drama. And luckily, no freaking romance! Check it out for yourself.

game of thronesGame of Thrones. Synopsis according to IMDB: Seven noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros .Seriously; do I need to say more? I’m still in the process of reading the books, but my hunger for the series doesn’t keep me back from actually watching it before reading about it. I’ve been following the series since the beginning. And thanks to social media, you practically need to watch it the minute it’s on US TV thanks to all the spoilers. Oh and everybody dies.

The Musketeers. Synopsis according to IMDB: Set on the streets of 17th century Paris, series gives a contemporary take on the classic story about a group of highly trained soldiers TV Musketeers 1and bodyguards assigned to protect King and country. I love British TV / drama. A well know story, hot men in leather, Peter Capaldi as an evil bishop or something. Those floppy hats and women who can kick ass. Sign me up for season two please.

kinopoisk.ruStar-Crossed. Synopsis according to IMDB: About an epic romance between a human girl and an alien boy when he and others of his kind are integrated into a suburban high school 10 years after they landed on Earth and were consigned to an internment camp. It sounded promising, but it feels like the CW channel is taking one central story, boy meets girl, they fall in love, they can’t be together but are sneaking around, throw in a different background story and we have a new series. I like it, enough to keep on watching, but I can’t shake the feeling they are trying to teach the target audience, teenage girls, sneaky ways of a society that deals with racism. I like the whole alien race and stuff, but it sometimes feels as if the writers didn’t pay enough attention towards it. Let’s just see how the series is progressing.

The 100, synopsis according to IMDB: Set 97 years after a nuclear war has destroyed civilization, when a spaceship housing humanity’s lone survivors sends 100 The-100-posterjuvenile delinquents back to Earth in hopes of possibly re-populating the planet. Another CW series. I like the idea, 100 kids dumped on earth after it was inhabitable for generations and the only way to let the other people on the spaceship survive was kicking them out. Although I question the whole dumping kids on earth thing. Hasn’t history thought us that we, as a species do everything to protect our offspring? And maybe, living on said spaceship for a couple of generations, something went horrible wrong. Ok and I don’t like the whole drama / love story thing again. But the people (teenage girls / young adults) clearly demand it, and that’s what we get.

continuumContinuum, synopsis according to IMDB:A detective from the year 2077 finds herself trapped in present day Vancouver and searching for ruthless criminals from the future. I missed the first two seasons, so naturally I watched them all in about a weekend, that’s the perk of having short seasons and I fell in love with it. It’s all wibbly wobbly timey wimey stuff, good stories, a brilliant cast and I seriously need to catch up with season 3 as soon as I have some more time, which will be never! Although I do have some questions about the leading lady adapting so quickly towards time-travel and being back in the past, understanding everything.

The after: Synopsis according to IMDB: Eight strangers are thrown together by mysterious forces and must help each other survive in a violent world thatthe after defies explanation. A promising first episode and I love to see more of it, unfortunately, we only have the pilot episode for now, but it got the go ahead to make a full season, so we have to wait a bit, I think until June or July before we can watch some more episodes.

And that concludes my list of newish series, together with the old stuff I’m already watching and looking forward towards Salem, Vikings and Fargo. Have you replaced some series? Are you watching something I should check out? Or are you watching any of the shows I mentioned above? Just let me know.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

