Tsunacon!

https://i0.wp.com/www.tsunacon.nl/fileadmin/template/images/logo2012top.png

Tsunacon will always be a little special to me. Not only is it the first con I visited, it also takes place on the Erasmus University of Rotterdam, which happens to be the university I addend to. I was once buying merchandise in the same room where I made an exam two days before, and I’m watching a cosplay competition in the room where I usually go to lectures. I can’t describe the experience in another word but weird. It’s weird to see the boring grey building transform into a place where people cosplay and play games. It’s weird to see those two separate worlds collapse into one. It has a surreal feeling. But it also feels like coming home. Like I’m the one inviting all those other people into my own home.

The M building

This was my third time visiting Tsunacon. Usually, Tsunacon takes place on that one day in February where it suddenly snows again. This year that was not the case (no snow at all this winter in this part of the Netherlands), but both last year and the year before, I had to stand in line for an hour in cosplay while it was snowing before opening. So I decided this year to arrive 1,5 hours after opening, so I didn’t need to stand in line. Brilliant idea. And it only took me two years to think about it.

Triple Links! Left to right: me, Eric van Dongen, and Babette Sonnevelt. Picture taken by Danique Wieling.

But I was not the only one who learned from my experiences. Tsunacon grows and improves every year.  In my first year, ordering food was a disaster (a two-hour line for a miso soup), last year they left the catering to the caterer of the University (which happens to be bad, but Tsunacon couldn’t know that and I only had to wait for 20 minutes this time, so it kinda improved), and this year they sold Japanese food and they also had a bakery, and I only had to wait for 10 minutes. Also, the cosplay competition took place on a stage in stead of a flat floor (which happened last year). So credit for the organization for listening to the complaints and flaws of previous years and improving them.

Kokoro Connect figures

So what did I do while I was there? I visited the dealer room and bought two Kokoro Connect figures, and my boyfriend bought a few Gundam model kits. I also had a €160,- Zelda action figure in my hands, but unfortunately that was one digit too much for my wallet. We had a HAAMC (Holland’s Anime And Manga Club) mini meet and made a group photo, and got in touch with some awesome people. We watched the AMV (Anime Music Video) competition, which was kind of disappointing this year in my opinion (I will do a blog on AMV’s in the future 😉 ). We had lunch, took some pics, and watched the cosplay competition.

This year there was a regular cosplay competition and a Capcom cosplay competition. Some memorable contestants from the regular competition: Elsa (Frozen), a lot of League of Legends characters and an amazing Jessica Rabbit. She has BOOBS and she knows it. If I had such a large chest I would probably feel uncomfortable, but she owned it! It fitted the cosplay perfectly and  she got the whole room going crazy. I later heard she got second place. The Capcom cosplay competition was a little disappointing, exept for the first to contestants; two girls in full Monster Hunter Armor with an exceptional arsenal of props (they won). The other contestants were a black dude with  boxing gloves who was supposed the be Balrog from Streetfighter and some dudes in a regular suit who did Ace Attorney cosplay. Meh.

The HAAMC mini-meet. My boyfriend as Hijikata Toshiro (with the mayonaise) and me as Link next to him

The last two years I left at 17/18 o’clock, but since I arrived later than usual I wasn’t tired yet. Which was good, because at 18:30, it was time for playing the Werewolfs of Miller’s Hallow (also organized by HAAMC). After that, the day came to an end and it was really time to go home. I’m already looking forward to the next convention!

Links:

HAAMC fb-page (Dutch): https://www.facebook.com/groups/247452401968471/

HAAMC on My Anime List (Dutch): http://myanimelist.net/forum/?clubid=21349

Tsunacon (Dutch): http://www.tsunacon.nl/

About Tekira

24 year old psychologist, on the quest of finding a job, loves anime and games.

Leave a Reply

