A very Geeky Valentine 2014!

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. My fellow bloggers worked very hard to get you some awesome gifts for Christmas 2013, and I screwed up by a serious lack of time. So I guess I owed them and you faithful readers of course something special for Valentine’s Day this year.

Without further ado, some lovely gifts for that geeky someone in your life, a collaboration post done by Theta, Tekira and myself!

Doctor Who / Torchwood:

Theta: On the visual side of things, I have a bumper bundle of DVDs and Blu-Rays timed for release around December last year to get your hands on.  Firstly, and the most costly, is this boxset of Series 1-7 on Blu Ray.  It includes the Specials along with Series 5,6 and 7 on Blu Ray, but it also includes Series 1-4 which have previously been unreleased in this format.

Theta: Shortly after the November transmission, there will be a release of two programmes which mark the fiftieth anniversary.  The first of these is the docu-drama “An Adventure In Space And Time” written by Sherlock co-creator Mark Gatiss and starring David Bradley (Argus Filch in the “Harry Potter” franchise and Solomon The Trader in the Doctor Who episode “Dinosaurs On A Spaceship”) in the role of the actor who portrayed the First Doctor, William Hartnell.

Theta: The other item to mark the fiftieth anniversary is the episode that we’re all waiting for, “The Day Of The Doctor”, starring Matt Smith, David Tennant, Jenna Coleman, Billie Piper and John Hurt.

Theta: The final DVD is the first of two special releases marking the recent recovery of lost episodes in Nigeria.  “The Enemy Of The World” features the Second Doctor, portrayed by Patrick Troughton, in adventure where he faces up to a ruthless dictator, Salamander, also portrayed by Troughton.

Theta: The fiftieth anniversary is being marked by Big Finish Productions, who have been producing Doctor Who audio adventures since 1999, with “The Light At The End”, a story that stars Tom Baker, Peter Davison, Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy and Paul McGann in their respective incarnations of the Doctor who have to face off against The Master, portrayed by Geoffrey Beevers, reprising his role from the 1981 story “The Keeper of Traken”. The story can be bought in three formats – Standard Edition, Collector’s Edition and a Limited Vinyl Edition.

Theta: Finally, some clothing and I’m going to use it as a shout out for a Whovian friend who produce t-shirts as part of her ongoing artwork projects. Sami produces t-shirts as part of her “Time and Space and Cute” range through Red Bubble and the name pretty much sums up the shirts as she has designed a series of shirts which portrays various Doctors, companions and villains in cute designs.  Suitable for both girly and boy geeks.

Mendy: Ok, first of all, I’m going to use my whovian gift ideas as a shameless self-promotion for my recently opened Etsy store. How about a nice and cute cuddly plush Adipose toy? They have different accessories; you can add bowties and fezzes if you like.

Mendy: and if that’s not to your liking, how about a warm, hand knitted Doctor Who season 18 hat. The hat is based on the famous red, orange and purple scarf the fourth Doctor wears oh and the scarf itself is not for sale, at least not made by me. It takes me about 2 months to knit such a long scarf and you can’t afford my prices I would ask 😉

Mendy: Talking about scarves, you can actually buy them from someone else, check out the Doctor Who scarves by Lovarzi. They have the multicoloured scarf, the red, orange and purple one. Even a lovely Dalek scarf, as far as Daleks can been seen as lovely.

Mendy: one thing I have my eye on, and if there isn’t a lovely geek willing to buy me these, I’m going to buy them in September myself, are the range of new  Doctor Who earrings from forbidden planet! They have the 10th and 11th Doctor Sonic Screwdriver, the Tardis, Cybermen and Daleks. I want them all!! And the best thing, they are affordable!

Mendy: although not really romantic, I’m gonna give another shout out to the geeks from Direct Blinds for their amazing Tardis Blind. Check my blogpost for details and remember they have a promotion at the moment for 33% off!

Mendy: If you don’t already have it in your collection, I recommend, as a Torchwood fan, to buy this book: the Torchwood Archives. It’s amazingly detailed and a must have for every Torchwood fan.  And just to add another book, Torchwood Exodus code, written by John and Carole E. Barrowman (his sister) and it picks up after the Torchwood TV series! Again, you must read this!

Sherlock

Mendy: as always, there isn’t a lot of Sherlock merchandise out there. After we ended season 3 the BBC picked up on some items. If your geek doesn’t have it yet, buy him/her Sherlock season 3 on DVD (I don’t have it yet, hint hint!)

Mendy: as I said, the BBC has released some amazing items (don’t have them either!) To enjoy your cuppa after running around London with a certain Detective, the Sherlock mug. Or what if he ruined another one of your shirts by doing experiments. Sherlock T-shirt set based on season 3. Including an ‘I don’t shave for Sherlock’ and ‘I don’t understand, I still don’t understand.’ They come in different sizes and in men and women shirts!

Mendy: Something the BBC shop doesn’t have, but I do, another shameless self-promotion. The one and only Sherlock deduction game Chullo hat. Hand knitted, warm and ideal for a deduction game with annoying siblings or loving geeky partners.

Mendy: I bought some amazing and lovely Sherlock earrings from Etsy last year and I wear them almost every day! Check out Pia’s etsy shop and don’t be afraid to ask her if she has a new batch ready!

Mendy: One of my dear DCC friends Meike as her own etsy shop as well and I have 3 of her hand drawn Sherlock pictures on my wall. She is an amazing artist and I urge you to buy something from her!

Mendy: last item on the Sherlock list, made by ConsultingFangeeks, a 221B messenger bag available on etsy!

Gaming:

Tekira: You can never go wrong with figures! They exist in all price categories, and they are made for Practically each manga, anime, or game. Just make sure the other person does not already own the one you intend to buy. They are quite easy to acquire. I always get mine from amazon.co.uk or achonia.com. You can also buy them on anime and/or game conventions

Tekira: On Etsy, you can find jewelry of every fandom you can imagine. I’m especially fond of Zelda jewelry. Last Christmas, my boyfriend made me very happy with this Heart Piece necklace from the Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword, available on www.thepixelsmithy.com

Tekira: (Limited Edition) Guide books Often not so limited as you might think, but awesome nonetheless. For a few pounds less you can get the ‘regular’ version, but that just means a less awesome cover in most of the cases. You can get them in game stores and on amazon (the picture shows Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: Legendary Edition (Prima Official Game Guides), available on amazon.co.uk).

Tekira: Plushies are awesome. There is not much else I can tell about them. Buy them on amazon, game stores, or achonia.com.

Star Trek

Theta / Mendy: I think that everyone will agree that the highlight of Star Trek Into Darkness was Benedict Cumberbatch’s performance as Khan… I mean, John Harrison.  Well, IDW has created an official tie-in mini-series of comics not surprisingly titled “Star Trek: Khan” which tells the character’s back-story.  Oh and don’t forget to buy the DVD ‘Star Trek: Into Darkness’ if your geek doesn’t have it already!

Game of Thrones

Theta: Okay, I admit it.  I’m still not into this whole Game Of Thrones thing but as “Winter Is Coming” (see that, I’ve made a pun), I thought that this box set of books would be a nice item to put on any Game of Thrones or fantasy fan’s wish list.

Mendy: People like their eggs all sorts of ways. In an omelette. Scrambled. Fried. Poached. Boiled. And then there’s Daenerys. She likes hers roasted in a funeral pyre. Illyrio’s gift to Daenerys upon her wedding to Khal Drogo, these eggs are now yours to take home. No, really. We asked Jorah Mormont. He’s cool with it. Note: Do not place these in your fireplace. They will not hatch dragons. And if they do, it’s not our fault. These ‘Game of Thrones plush Dragon Eggs’ are a must have for any Khaleesi! If you can’t find the real deal of course!

Mendy: Speaking of eggs, to stay in the same theme here. Buy your lovely geek a ‘Game of Thrones Dragon Egg Canister’ to keep hidden treasures, a pre-hatched dragons (capacity: 1) or home bakes cookies safe.

The Hobbit/The Lord Of The Rings

Theta: For Tolkien related items, it’d be so easy to go with an item from the new film “The Desolation Of Smaug”, but I’m going to pick two which are more generally “Hobbit” based Firstly ladies, for that frustrated LARPer in your life, this Deluxe role play Dwarven battle axe should hit (see, another pun) the spot.

Theta: Secondly, I’m going to suggest a big part in my TV childhood with this CD reading of The Hobbit from the BBC television children’s series “Jackanory”.  The Hobbit was selected to commemorate the 3000th episode of the programme and is read by Maurice Denham, Jan Francis, David Wood and (now how’s this for geeky credentials) Bernard Cribbins.

Mendy: To unlock the heart of your geeky love, use this lovely ‘Thorin Oakenshield Key’ and a slight warning, only accessible on Durins day!

Mendy: Or something to cuddle with, a cuddly and ‘invisible Bilbo’ I wonder if Amanda Abbington has one in her collection. I’d say you buy a bell and put it around his neck, those damn invisible burglars these days!

Mendy: and last but not least, of course Smaug deserves some love. All those gold coins and jewels don’t warm that big heart of his. I have yet to find a good plush Smaug, but this cute ‘Flygdrake’ from IKEA makes a good representative!

Vampires:

Mendy: well, this is my area! I freaking love vampires! And I do mean the monsters, not the sparkly kind. First some advice from last year, ‘Anita Blake’ Laurell K. Hamilton has everything on her website, check it out!

Mendy: A tat more expensive, but for the hunter geeks amongst ourselves, as in Buffy the vampire slayer, Think Geek provides us with this amazing ‘Vampire Hunter Kit’ everything a slayer needs these days!

Mendy: a ring for your loved one! The reason I started wearing this particular ring was my love for the show. ‘Claddagh Ring’ you can get one at your jewellery store, but Amazon ships.

Theta: I thought that I’d select a vampire film, or should I say films, which uses the winter atmosphere of snow and the like are “Let Me In” or “Let The Right One In”.  Now, I have to admit that I’ve only seen the Hammer version that was released in 2010, but I thought that it was a hauntingly beautiful film.

Werewolves:

Theta: Okay, when you think of werewolf franchises, you’re probably thinking of the current “Teen Wolf” television series.  Well, as I had already exhausted my number one pick of “Being Human”, I decided to go back to my cinematic teenage years and pick the original “Teen Wolf” film starring Michael J. Fox.  He manages to craft a character who is funny, the underdog (number three on the pun-o-metre), and learns a lesson to be true to yourself, rather than just being popular.  A brilliant film.

Mendy: Although the series Beauty and the Beast doesn’t really fall under the category werewolves, he does look like one, check out the ‘Beauty and the Beast webshop’ for all cool stuff.

Mendy: What to do if you meet a real werewolf? Thank god your geeky love provided you with this silver bullet to protect you. (Ps not real ammo, just for decoration only!)

Mendy: and I though you Teen Wolf fans out there love these ‘Teen Wolf Phone Cases’ just so you know (go Stilinski)

Comic Books and Movie adaptations

Theta: Well, it has been a year for comic book adaptations in the movies, but I’m going to focus on two.  The first is “Man of Steel” directed by Zack Snyder.  Granted, this film has polarised opinion, but I really enjoyed it with the treatment of the source material with suitable gravitas and Henry Cavill making for a suitable portrayal of Clark/Kal-El/Superman facing off against Michael Shannon’s Zod.  Think of it as “Superman: Year One”.

Theta: The second, and my favourite adaptation of this year is “Kick-Ass 2”.  Rude, crude and exceedingly violent, this film sees Kick-Ass, portrayed by Aaron Taylor-Johnson, inspiring a whole host of superheroes including Colonel Stars & Stripes, portrayed by Jim Carrey, whilst having to battle against the former fake super-hero Red Mist (I’m not going to say his character name on this site), portrayed by Christopher Mintz-Plasse, whilst fellow super-hero Hit Girl (Chloe Grace Moretz) struggles to find a place in the world after the death of her mentor, Big Daddy.

Mendy: wanna be part of the good guys? Show you are a secret / not so secret agent? Wear an ‘agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’ t-shirt and the whole world knows. Maybe not so smart to wear it in public, you might never know what kind of baddie you may encounter.

Books:

Theta: Rather than putting a book related item on this list, I’m going to plug a series of books based on the virtue that I really enjoyed the first book.  The “Geekhood” series of books by Andy Robb follows the character of Archie who seeks to build a relationship with classmate Sarah in the face of a hostile reaction from his fellow geeks and intimidation from a bully.  The first book was a fast read that I could relate to and I really want to get hold of the second novel.

Mendy: I do love books and bookish gifts, and again I’m dusting of a gift idea I gave you last year. I love all the bookish gifts this site provides. Check ‘the Literary Gift Company’ for the ideal geek Valentines gift for your lovely bookworm.

That’s it:

That’s it my lovely geeks, I hope you liked this epic post and you’ll be able to find some nice geeky gifts for that special geek in your life, and it’s safe to say we all accept one of these gifts as a thank you 😉

Love, your geeks, Tekira, Theta and Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

