Smaug!!!

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. The DCC, well some of us, went to see the Hobbit: the desolation of Smaug, last Friday. And oh my, it was good! So here is my review and it contains spoilers!

the-desolation-of-smaug-poster

Synopsis according to IMDB:

The dwarves, along with Bilbo Baggins and Gandalf the Grey, continue their quest to reclaim Erebor, their homeland, from Smaug. Bilbo Baggins is in possession of a mysterious and magical ring.

My thoughts:

I loved it! I missed seeing the first movie in the cinema due to surgery recovery, although I was lucky to get see it in a more unconventional way…

But his movie deserved to be seen, if you can, in IMAX 3D. And after much careful planning, 6 of the now 15 members got together to watch Smaug!! In all its glory.

First of all, prepping for the Desolation of Smaug:

I didn’t have time to read the Hobbit again, probably will do it in the next couple of weeks. But I did watch all the Lord of the Rings movies, extended versions of course, and the Hobbit, extended version again, on DVD prier to my cinema visit. I love being in this middle-earth mind set to properly enjoy the movie.

We start with a flashback as Gandalf meets Thorin in the prancing pony in Bree. He, that looks familiar. Speaking about familiar, did you notice, and sorry but how could you not, the carrot eating man in the first openings scene as Peter Jackson himself?

There is a price on Thorin’s head and Gandalf wants him to claim back Erebor, thus creating actually the beginning of the Hobbit and how it came to be.

Last time we left the dwarves and Bilbo after the eagles saved them and they are now on their way towards the lonely mountain and Smaug!

THE HOBBIT: THE DESOLATION OF SMAUGAs the companion is being tracked, yet again, by orcs and in particular the pale Orc Azog and the Warg riders they all but flee for their lives. But the orcs are not the only thing hunting them; a monstrous looking bear is on the hunt as well.

Gandalf leads the company towards a house in the middle of nowhere, where he explains it to be safe / not safe depending on their host and they find themselves in the house of shape shifter Beorn. Now, correct me if I’m wrong, but the passage in the book seemed a bit more elaborate than what we can see in the movie.

We are introduced by Beorn and he helps them flee towards Mirkwood, but with a couple of warnings in mind. Gandalf finds something disturbing inside the woods and get’s a warning from Galadriel, and leaves the confused dwarves and Hobbit behind to meet up with the Doctor, ehh, I mean Radagast the Brown, brilliantly played of course by Sylvester McCoy. But not before Bilbo explains about finding his ‘courage’ with the Goblins. Sure Bilbo, but that wasn’t the only thing you found.

The dwarves don’t pay much attention to Gandalf’s warning and get under the influence of the illusion of Mirkwood, keeping them walking in circles, straying from the path and fight.

One of the scenes I love in this movie is the bit where Bilbo climbs up the tree and for a moment, the spell falls from him and he gets a breath of fresh air, enjoying, content, sighing with relief.

The-Hobbit-The-Desolation-of-Smaug-7

Ok, there is one thing seriously bothering me. Not about the movie but about Martin Freeman. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Martin is a brilliant actor, amazing. The things he can do with simple facial expressions, a well placed sigh, how he poses his body. I mean, he’s not simply an actor, and every bloody time I read an interview with him it’s all about Sherlock and Benedict joining as Smaug. I really believe is he underrated as an actor. The things he can do, Benedict wishes he could. Don’t get me wrong, Benedict is brilliant, but in his own way. And in this little scene, just peaking above the treetops, that what makes me love and appreciate Martin even more as an actor. He can act with his eyes, which I think is rare.

Ok, back to the movie, and one of the reasons I hate 3D in this bit. Spiders! I freaking hate spiders! I don’t have need to see them up close in IMAX 3D, thank you very much.the-hobbit-desolation-of-smaug-hobbits-wb

Bilbo saves the day and the dwarves think they are save, but get captured by the Mirkwood elves. And mind you, they are not like the Rivendell elves, not at all.

Hey look, it’s Legolas. Ok purist will hate Peter brought him in, as well as creating Tauriel, but I don’t mind. I have a thing for elves. Not only in the way you think, but they fascinate me, their language, their posture, how they live and experience things, old and wise, but also merry and light-hearted at times.

THE HOBBIT: THE DESOLATION OF SMAUGLegolas seems to put up a bit of weight, and one thing we noticed, his eyes. And I don’t know if it has to do with the fact we had those butt ugly 3D glasses on, but his eyes seem all wrong. And we had this discussion after the movie, especially when we saw Thranduil, that the wood and whatever was in that wood as portada9well, affected the elves somehow. Because this Legolas is nothing like the Legolas we saw in the LOTR trilogy and you wonder that maybe he offers himself a place in the quest to redeem himself of the actions of him and his father in the Hobbit movies. Which is an interesting theory, but we’ll have to wait till movie nr 3, now don’t we.

The escape of Bilbo and the Dwarves in the barrels is one of the most fun scenes in the movie, almost slapstick like and it makes for a fun intermission between all the drama of the movie.barrels

Poor Kili gets shot by a poisoned Orc arrow. (Ok sorry for this, but I love Aiden Turner and he is one hot dwarf).

86266CAD2F58D8AFDB229E68798A97_h450_w598_m2_q90_cWZgFhduY

Meanwhile Gandalf has problems of his own and he is looking to find answers about the necromancer (brilliant voice that guy has, sounds familiar).

And wait what?! B is the necromancer, is the eye, is Sauron?! Wow, didn’t see that one coming.

Ok, back to the company of dwarves and the Hobbit.

They try to outrun the Orcs still following them and meet-up with Bard, habitant of Lake-town and part-time smuggler. For the right price he brings them into Lake-town so the the_hobbit_the_desolation_of_smaug_photo_bardDwarves are one step closer to the Mountain in dire need to reach it before Durins Day.

tumblr_mu0tnwL9iz1r50xflo1_500The master of Lake-town, an epic Stephen Fry, if I may add, finds the dwarves and with some old prophecy, because what’s a fantasy story without at least on good prophecy, gives the Dwarves all they need to send them on their quest to slay the dragon.

But without Kili, who is now seriously infected by the Orc poison. Oin and Fili decide to stay with him and luckily, depending on what side you are on, Bofur overslept, thus missing the boat and stays behind as well.

With Kili on the verge of dying, Bofur is looking frantically for Athelas or Kingsfoil, which apparently these humans in Lake-town use as pigs food.

Elves to the rescue! As soon as Tauriel found out Kili was being poised thanks to a now headless Orc, she rushed after the Dwarves with Legolas in her pursuit. They make it to Lake-town in time to fight with the Orcs and Tauriel helps Bofur and Kili with the kingsfoil and she saves him (I think it was the same spell Arwen used, but I’m not sure, my Elvish is a bit rusty).

the-hobbit-the-desolation-of-smaug-evangeline-lilly

Legolas finds he’s not infallible as he thinks he is and is bleeding after a nasty fight scene with an Orc.

la_ca_1217_the_hobbitFinally, the mountain and Smaug!!! The moment we have been freaking waiting for all damn year! Bilbo proves again to be the clever one, solving the riddle on Thorin’s map and getting the Dwarves inside the mountain.

Sometimes I hate Peter Jackson for all the feelings he’s giving me with these movies. The part where the Dwarves walk into the mountain, it almost made me cry.

So Bilbo finally gets to know why he’s there, to find the Arkenstone and leave the dragon the hell alone!the-hobbit-the-desolation-of-smaug-dragon

Enter a big pile of gold, a very confused Bilbo, look for a pretty white shiny stone they say, leave the dragon sleep, they say. And of course he screws up and wakes… Smaug!!! Did anyone else have the whole Khan experience as well? YOU SHOULD HAVE LET ME SLEEP!!!

Desolation-of-Smaug-Movie-Dragon

Smaug is, wow, he’s beautiful and magnificent and stupendous and marvellous and, and … well, it’s a huge dragon with Benedict Cumberbatch’s voice; seriously, I’m now swooning over a freaking CGI dragon!

benedict-cumberbatch-smaug-motion-capture-photo-1

I know some people complained about the scene with the dragon taking too long. No, oh god no, please give us more!!!

Desolation-of-Smaug-Martin-Freeman-Bilbo-Baggins

All in all the movie ends with one seriously pissed of dragon, taking revenge on Lake-town and a pile of Dwarfs and a Hobbit who look guilt ridden as they watch Smaug the stupendous fly away.

I freaking loved it! I mean, at fist before the whole Hobbit is going to be two movies, no wait three movies, I was a bit reluctant, afraid the movies would be to slow, the pace almost sleep like, but I sat on the edge of my chair the whole time. When can I go again!!!

If you haven’t got the time yet to see it, do so!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

2 thoughts on “Smaug!!!

  1. Ok, sorry guys for all the grammar and spelling mistakes I made in this post. My brain goes faster than my typing and well, mistakes happen, lol.

  2. Tekira says:

    I loved the movie as well, but I’m still in a dilemma about seeing it in IMAX or seeing it in HFR. I don’t know how it is in other cinemas but at Pathé you have to choose, and it’s basically a choice between bigger or faster. In retrospective I think I would’ve rather seen it in HFR, because that’s more of a new and unique experience (and partially because the chairs in IMAX are little back killing machines).

Leave a Reply

