The Petrosian Invitation by T.P. Keating, a book review

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks. The perks of running a book reviewing blog is that sometimes authors find your blog, contact you and ask you to read their books. Oh and in the process they actually provide you with a book to read. I love free books and I’m to Dutch to turn such an offer down 😉

That’s how you end up with this latest review. And just let me say, vampires, Russian Culture, cooking and a to die for Chocolate dessert? Oh yes please! Beware of some spoilers, although I try to keep them to a minimum.

About the book:

  • ASIN: B00DQ9JSGY
  • edition language: English
  • Author: T.P. Keating
  • Genre: vampire romance novel

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

Oleg Petrosian, the self-made Russian Billionaire, wonders when his un-beating heart will experience a glimmer of love. On a business trip to London, to seal a gas deal, he meets Sam Latham, the chef at a swanky restaurant in South Kensington. After she caters for a business meeting at his nearby home, his private Learjet (flown by his cosmonaut sister) whisks Oleg, Sam and her younger actress sister to Oleg’s cliff top home in Russia’s Anapa, a health resort on the Black Sea. But can their fledgling romance survive Oleg’s deep, dark secret?

About the Author:

Hmm, I have to say this author seems to be as mysterious as Oleg. All I could find about the author was on Amazon:

I live for writing, and travel has always been an awesome source of inspiration for me. I love my cats – which mean I cannot travel so much nowadays. At home with 6 cats and my wife, I am never far from my keyboard. I was a former semi-pro musician; until my wife convinced me to switch to writing (she’s full of good ideas like that). You can contact me by email at keatingwrites@yahoo.com. Or drop by my website at www.tpkeating.com.

My thoughts:

The fact I read this book in just 2 days (and I had to work those 2 days) says enough about me that I really liked it. I mean, I’m a sucker for vampire novels, mix that with Russian culture (which I’m also interested in) and some cooking and I am sold.

And my biggest issue with this particular novel is that it’s too short. Now don’t worry I’m going into a bitching mode. But I like more elaborated books. Sometimes the story feels too rushed or things aren’t explained to properly. For example I would love to read more about Oleg’s background. And this is addressed in the book briefly I want more explanation. Or Sam going through the motions a bit more. I mean, she accepts Oleg’s invitation a bit too easy for my taste, dragging along her sister into a big adventure. Certainly towards the ending, which came way too early for my taste.

But Oleg’s Russian background is a relief for all the current American sparkling vampires walking around. Finally a bit more man instead of teenage boys swooping up the public.

I loved Sam’s no nonsense attitude and hard working attitude towards life. It gives it a ‘real’ feeling to the story. And the fact that she’s a female chef (where do I get the recipe for that Mousse au Chocolate Noir???) is a big bonus for me. She’s not some troubled young female in need of rescue. (Thank god for that one).

I like books that have a different outtake towards vampires instead of walking along the better known paths of vampire history. And T.P. Keating certainly delivers on that front.

I don’t know if this book is getting a second part or is going to be re-written into a longer novel or if it’s gonna stay the way it is. But I found it funny, well-written, new in its genre, a bit of romance, which is always good and it made me hunger for more.

Where to get your own copy:

buy-on-amazon.combuy-on-amazon.co.uk

 

 

My rating:

I rate this book 7 out of 10. And that’s just based of the fact I want more. So should you read it? Yes definitely. If you like strong female characters, handsome Russian vampires and a bit of romance added in the mix. So go get your own copy and leave a nice review on Goodreads for this author!

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

