Spore (Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts #8) by Alex Scarrow, an e-book review

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks. Another Doctor Who 50th anniversary e-book review. This time, the 8th Doctor and book number 8. Spore, by Alex Scarrow. Be aware of spoilers!

Spore

About the book:

  • Kindle Edition, 40 pages
  • Published:  August 23rd 2013 by Puffin
  • Author: Alec Scarrow
  • ASIN: B00BLVO8WS
  • edition language: English
  • series: Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts #8

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

In a small town in the Nevada desert, an alien pathogen has reduced the entire population to a seething mass of black slime. When the Eighth Doctor arrives, he realises this latest threat to humanity is horrifyingly familiar – it is a virus which almost annihilated his entire race, the Time Lords…

Eleven Doctors, eleven months, eleven stories: a year-long celebration of Doctor Who! The most exciting names in children’s fiction each create their own unique adventure about the time-travelling Time Lord.

About the author:

I live a nomadic existence with my wife Frances, and son Jacob. For now we’re living in Norwich. I spent the first 10 years out of college in the music business chasing record deals and the next 12 years in the computer games business as a graphic artist and eventually a games designer. For those of you who like their computer games, here’s some of the titles I’ve worked on:
Waterworld, Evolva, The Thing, Spartan, Gates of Troy, Legion Arena
Since signing up as an author with Orion, I seem to spend most of my time hunched over my laptop in various cafes and coffee bars sipping lattes, tapping keys and watching the ebb and flow of shoppers outside on the street. As I write this, I’m awaiting the launch of my next book – the sequel to , LAST LI…more
I live a nomadic existence with my wife Frances, and son Jacob. For now we’re living in Norwich. I spent the first 10 years out of college in the music business chasing record deals and the next 12 years in the computer games business as a graphic artist and eventually a games designer. For those of you who like their computer games, here’s some of the titles I’ve worked on:
Waterworld, Evolva, The Thing, Spartan, Gates of Troy, Legion Arena
Since signing up as an author with Orion, I seem to spend most of my time hunched over my laptop in various cafes and coffee bars sipping lattes, tapping keys and watching the ebb and flow of shoppers outside on the street. As I write this, I’m awaiting the launch of my next book – the sequel to , LAST LIGHT, and getting ready to find a publisher for the first book in a separate series, ELLIE QUIN. Ahead of me, lies research work for my next thriller, and also some screenplays I’m looking forward to writing. Although I’m glad to be where I am now, I do occasionally kick myself for not having succumbed to the writing bug much earlier. But then we all just muddle along through life, don’t we? There’s rarely a plan.

My thoughts:

After finishing this book my first thoughts where, ok this is epic. I do love stories and movies about viruses and stuff like that. But this seems awfully a lot like a combination of the movie Outbreak and the Doctor Who episode Silence in the Library.

And although I think Silence in the Library with the Vastha Nerada is one of the most brilliant episodes. (I bow down to your epicness Mr. Moffat)And the movie Outbreak is a really good virus / the world is doomed movie. It doesn’t work all that well for this book.

And again I’m gonna complain about the ‘short’ in this series of e-books. All these writers have such good ideas about storylines and some would make even better episodes. They are just too short to tell a story properly.

And as far as children’s novels go, this one is kinda scary for children.

And although I’m not familiar with the Doctor Who classics and Paul McGann as the eight Doctor. This could have easily been a tenth Doctor Story, but I blame my feel of the whole Vastha Nerada thing to it.

But despite my comments about this book. I did like to read it. It’s short; it’s nice seeing the Doctor without a companion, a setting different from the UK is always a pleasure to read. And as I said before, I like the idea. Also, bring in the Time-Lords and Gallifrey and I’m sold.

Where to get it:

buy-on-amazon.combuy-on-amazon.co.uk

 

 

Ratings:

So I rate this book a 7 out of 10.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

