The Fifth Estate, a movie review (with spoilers)

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. I rarely go to the cinema since it’s so expensive and I don’t have a lot of spare time. But when one of my DCC friends scored tickets to the Gent (Belgium) film festival to see the Fifth Estate, I couldn’t refuse. Also because we would meet up with fellow Benedict fans in Belgium and because this film was high on my to-watch list.

Before I begin, let me state this review contains spoilers. Since the movie isn’t released everywhere yet, if you don’t want to be spoiled, don’t read it!

And now we begin.

FifthEstate

Synopsis according to IMDB:

A dramatic thriller based on real events that reveals the quest to expose the deceptions and corruptions of power that turned an Internet upstart into the 21st century’s most fiercely debated organization.

 

My thoughts.

Let me state first I absolutely love this movie. If you take out the whole based on a true story effect (according to the movie company, not according to Mr Assange himself), the story is something that peaks my interest a lot. I love films about hackers and computer stuff and everything, and although there aren’t many good movies about this subject, this one is definitely one I want to add to my collection when it’s out on DVD.

The main story tells the tale of Julian Assange and his (former) fellow friend Daniel Domscheit-Berg and how WikiLeaks started. One man with a vision to provide the world with free access of knowledge and to protect the whistleblowers behind it, providing said information. It tells the story about how they started out small, fighting for a good cause, but eventually ending up fighting against powerful governments and losing track of said cause to strife to get all the information published without editing. And eventually leading up to the situation today holds. With Julian staying in the Ecuadorian Embassy in London, not being able to leave in fear of prosecution.

Julian Assange feared by this movie that he would be portrayed as the bad guy, some deranged hacker with no remorse. And although the movie lets us see a glimpse into his life and how he became the man he is today, I don’t think he has something to fear.

I think (basing my opinion about the fact the movie is true) that the circumstances pushed him into a path, combined with his strange upbringing. I think he had a brilliant idea and vision and he executed it to the best possible means he could with the limited resources he had. I think that the surrounding circumstances and his own nature pushed him beyond his limits and that he made the choices with only the best interest in heart. That doesn’t mean I agree with him.

I think his idea of free information and the public having a right to know are important, but not at the cost of lives. I mean, at the one hand he protects the whistleblowers by not revealing their personal information, but at the same time he publishes other peoples personal information? But I don’t want this review to turn into some political discussion.

I want to give credit to the people who made this movie possible. The scriptwriters, the actors, the director, producers and everybody else. This movie could have easily turned into one big blaming the bad guy scenario and I truly believe they did their best to try to be as objective as possible. I think Benedict Cumberbatch portrayed a brilliant role here. And even after having been in contact with Mr. Assange himself he continued making this movie only with the best intentions, is something admirable.

The movie itself, if you are not interested in the whole true story idea is still an interesting thriller/hacker movie to watch. The pace is high, the surrounding are beautiful. I loved how they filmed in different cities around the world and the more indebt computer stuff is brilliantly done, and reminded me sometimes of the movie Hackers.

This is a movie that leaves room for discussing when leaving the theatre. And although only the real people behind the story know all the facts I think everyone has an opinion when you have watched it. And I think that’s also the power of this movie. And I do recommend you should watch it.

So check it out in theatres near you and go watch it!

Love, your hot cute girly geek, Mendy

Letter from Julian Assange to Benedict Cumberbatch: http://wikileaks.org/First-Letter-from-Julian-Assange.html

Sorry, I couldn’t resist. Smaug writes open letter to Benedict Cumberbatch: http://celluloidheroes.co.uk/smaug-writes-open-letter-to-benedict-cumberbatch/

 

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

