BBC Atlantis season 1, two episodes in.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course.

I started watching BBC Atlantis. It’s not like I have anything better to do with my Saturday nights until Doctor Who starts again. And I thought it would be fun to do a post about it.

Atlantis-BBC-poster

Synopsis according to the official BBC site:

A fantasy drama set in a world of legendary heroes and mythical creatures. Far from home, Jason washes up on the shores of the ancient and mysterious city of Atlantis.

Meet some of the characters:

JasonJason: The main character played by Jack Donnelly. Jason is searching for his father who went missing with a sub. Jason decides to follow his tracks and finds himself suddenly in Atlantis. Within each episode he learns more about himself, where he belongs, discovering friends and fighting mythical monsters.  I never truly felt I belonged where I came from. I was always searching for something.” -Jason

Pythagoras: Played by Robert Emms. The nerdy sidekick and the one offering help to Jason on his quests to finding answers and yes he is the triangle Pythagorasguy. He often plays the voice of reason for the three friends. I would have to say the probability of us dying seems extremely high.” – Pythagoras

HerculesHercules: played by Mark Addy. Hercules is the one and only, well, sort off. Up until this point we’re still not sure if this is Hercules from the legends or not. Although he hints a lot about being famous and such. But this is more Hercules after his success and the more comical of the three main characters. Also, not so bright. “Finding boredom in one’s work is to be relished. It means you are being paid to do nothing.”- Hercules

The Oracle: Played by Juliet Stevenson. She is an oracle, she knows everything, says little, and basically that’s it. The images I see are fleeting.” – OracleOracle

MedusaMedusa: Played by Jemima Rooper. Although I don’t know it for sure, but BBC Atlantis twitter suggested it that she has more parts to play in the series. We see a young Medusa before all the gory snake bits are added. “Why do you look at me like that?” – Medusa

Ariadne: played by Aiysha Hart. Daughter of King Minos and Queen Pasiphae. Has a fancy for Jason and helps him with his quests if she can. “I take noAriadne joy in seeing men die for my entertainment.”- Ariadne

My thoughts:

I like it. It’s funny, the pace is high, not too long, add in some mythology and I’m sold. Ok it’s not Doctor Who, but I think this will run for at least a couple of seasons. The CGI is at least better then it was in Merlin. And a tip if you’re able to. Watch the show on TV with the British subtitles on. They are hilarious (mostly things we can hear that happens and how they describe it.)

I noticed on BBC America you guys have to wait until the 23rd of November. But if the series continues as it now does. I’ll keep on watching it. It’s just that light hearted in between series. I don’t think, for me at least, I will become a huge fan. But the entertainment value is something I appreciate.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek Mendy.

PS: picture credit goes to the official BBC Atlantis website, along with the quotes as well.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

