Tip of the tongue by Patrick Ness, an e-book review

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. This is probably the last time I’ll state I am still behind on reviewing stuff. I’ll try to finish my stuff before the end of this year, and probably gonna fail at it as well because of life happening and such.

17900258

So another oldie I read a couple of weeks ago. one of the 50th anniversary e-book short stories for Doctor Who. That clock is ticking fast isn’t it? The 23rd of November is getting closer and closer and I still have so much stuff to do. Help!

Ok, done complaining now. Let’s get on with this review. And please beware for some spoilers ahead.

About the book:

  • Kindle Edition, 37 pages
  • Published: May 23rd 2013 by Puffin more details…
  • ASIN: B00B54TZBA
  • edition language: English
  • series: Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts #5

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

In 1945, a strange new craze for Truth Tellers is sweeping the kids of small-town America. The Fifth Doctor and Nyssa soon arrive to investigate the phenomenon, only to discover that the actual truth behind the Truth Tellers is far more sinister than anyone could have imagined …

Eleven Doctors, eleven months, eleven stories: a year-long celebration of Doctor Who! The most exciting names in children’s fiction each create their own unique adventure about the time-travelling Time Lord.

My thoughts:

As I stated before, and I’m doing so again. I haven’t watched any of the older Doctor Who episodes yet, so I still can’t give a proper review on how the Doctor and his companion are depicted in this short story. Only on the story itself.

Oh I loved this one. Although I consider this one a Doctor Who light story, because of the Doctor not playing a big role in it. (Just as you have some episodes in Doctor Who like ‘blink’ where the Doctor doesn’t have a lot of screen time. I did enjoy the story. And the fact it’s in Maine in the US and not good old UK makes it a bit interesting and different from the other stories as well.

I thought the Truth Tellers are quit a good find as for alien tech / aliens. I love how the author came up with it (at least, that’s what I think, as I don’t know for sure thanks to my lack of knowledge, I know, I can only blame myself for it.)

It’s a story that has a definite moral in it and there is a lesson to learn. Funny how they trick kids into learning stuff when they read. Patrick Ness, and I don’t know his other work, but he describes the scenery, the main characters and the Truth Tellers in such a way you see it all clearly in your head and I think that’s a strength in an author.

But as for just about all the short stories, the pace is high and not enough explanation. I love long stories and big books, the more pages the better. And although these short stories are fun to read, it feels like an in between snack, while I’m a person who loves a three course meal. But still, I liked it better than some of the others.

Where to buy it:

buy-on-amazon.combuy-on-amazon.co.uk

 

 

My ratings:

I give this one 8 out of 10. Despite being it a Doctor Who light, the story was fun, entertaining and a swift read, and I love the idea of the Truth Tellers.

Until next time.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

