Sleepy Hollow, 2 episodes in and my thoughts and hopes for this new series.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. Since I still have some days left before going to work I decided to catch up on my TV series. I am currently way behind on watching some of my favourite shows and the new season are already starting so I am dividing my few days left between writing, reading and watching TV. Basically vegging on the couch and such. So expect a few blogs coming your way the next couple of days if I can keep up writing them.

Let’s start with Sleepy Hollow. One of the new shows I’ve been looking forward to watching. The first two episodes aired in the States and here is my review or opinion about it, also if you haven’t seen it yet, be beware of spoilers 😉

Sleepy-Hollow-Title-300x204

Synopsis according to the official website:

Welcome to SLEEPY HOLLOW, the thrilling new mystery-adventure drama from co-creators/executive producers Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci (the “Star Trek” and “Transformers” franchises, “Fringe”).

In this modern-day twist on Washington Irving’s classic, ICHABOD CRANE (Tom Mison, “Salmon Fishing in the Yemen”) is resurrected and pulled two and a half centuries through time to unravel a mystery that dates all the way back to the founding fathers. Revived alongside Ichabod is the infamous Headless Horseman who is on a murderous rampage in present-day Sleepy Hollow. Ichabod quickly realizes that stopping Headless is just the beginning, as the resurrected rider is but the first of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse and only one of the many formidable foes that Ichabod must face to protect not only Sleepy Hollow, but the world.

As Ichabod finds himself in 2013’s Sleepy Hollow, he discovers a town he no longer recognizes and grapples to understand. Teaming up with Lt. ABBIE MILLS (Nicole Beharie, “42,” “The Good Wife,” “Shame”), a young cop who has her own supernatural experiences, the two embark on a mission to stop the evil that has awoken along with Ichabod and that now is seeping into this once-sleepy town.

Clues from the past enlighten mysteries in the present, as each episode features a flashback to Ichabod’s life in 1776. Ripe with untold stories from American history and cloaked in mythology, the divide between present and past becomes dangerously blurred. Lives are in the balance, including that of Ichabod’s late wife, KATRINA (Katia Winter, “Dexter”), who is trapped in a mysterious netherworld. In his pursuit to save her, Ichabod uncovers secrets about her, leaving him with countless questions.

Not everyone believes Ichabod’s tales of 1776 and supernatural evils, especially the new head of Abbie’s police precinct, Captain FRANK IRVING (Orlando Jones, “The Chicago 8,” “Drumline”). When faced with bizarre events he can’t explain, Capt. Irving reluctantly turns to Ichabod and Abbie to investigate.

Ichabod’s extensive first-hand knowledge of our country’s hidden history, coupled with Abbie’s superior profiling and modern threat assessment skills, make them a formidable duo. The complex pasts of the pair, from Ichabod’s inclusion in the powerful and secretive Freemasons Society to Abbie’s childhood visions, will help them solve the intricate puzzles of Sleepy Hollow in order to protect its – and the world’s – future. As history repeats itself, the oddly-linked pair will draw on the real stories and secrets this nation was founded on in their quest to stop an increasingly vicious cycle of evil.

My thoughts:

I absolutely love it! Seriously! The first episode started with the famous music ‘Sympathy for the Devil’ by the Rolling Stones! How freaking awesome! But let’s start at the beginning as we see Ichabod Crane, played by the (sorry lads, a very hunky Tom Mison, seriously, the guy is one year older than I am, can I have a piece of him please?) You may know him from Parade’s End or Lost in Austen. Back to what I was saying, so we see Crane on the battlefield, fighting and dying 250 years ago and then waking up in modern day Sleepy Hollow.

Sleepy-Hollow

At the same time Lt. Abbie Mills (played by Nicole Beharie) and her partner the Sheriff (Clancy Brown) respond to some spooked horses. Basically, not only Ichabod woke up, but the headless horseman as well, he kills the Sheriff, Ichabod is arrested as the suspect, a wild Sulu appears, Lt. Mills and Ichabod have a nice chat about crazy stuff happening, they team up and a new OTP is in the making boys and girls.fall_tv_preview_sleepyhollow1

So that’s how it begins. Why do I love it? First of all, I love strong female leads. And although I described the pairing of our two main characters as an OTP (I haven’t checked tumblr yet, but there is bound to be some smutt written by now), I love the fact that it probably ain’t gonna happen. Mainly because Ichabod Crane is still in contact with his ‘not so dead’ wife Katherine, who’s a witch and lost in between the worlds. Not every freaking show needs a romance happening.

Also, it’s funny as hell to see Ichabod Crane adjusting to the new world around him. He is smart as hell (I do love smart guys) and his reaction is just priceless.

tom_mison1_SH-900x551

And I love that, the funny bit I mean. I love me a show where characters speak their minds, make mistakes, screw up, are sarcastic and all is mixed up with some good old fashioned horror bits, the apocalypse rising, witches, a headless horsemen and a tall dark and British guy. (Although, why all the German? Still don’t get it.)

tumblr_ms046fBvdP1r3uy8do1_500

No, but seriously. The first two episodes left me speechless on the couch and I hate that I have to wait until next week for the next episode. If the writers keep up the pace, don’t make all the different storylines and flashbacks to complicated, leave out the freaking romance, and add some more gory stuff this show is bound to be a winner. I am already looking forward to next week’s episode and I’ll leave you with the trailer for episode two and three (beware of spoilers).

All I can say is watch it. Especially my US based followers, keep up those viewing ratings so we get to enjoy more episodes!

If you have seen the episodes, let me know what you think!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

Sleepy-Hollow-Poster

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

2 thoughts on “Sleepy Hollow, 2 episodes in and my thoughts and hopes for this new series.

  1. Anita says:

    Can I just say that I love sleepy hollow as well. Just the concept of sleepy hollow even way back from the movie with christina ricci. The show does tie into my love of supernatural related show(s) like Supernatural, so am quite biased.

    Abbie mills still has to grow on me, maybe it has to do that doubting everything. Maybe when she is a 100% on board with her destiny I might digg her more.

    • I have the same thing. I love this show, and it does remind me a bit of a crossover between SPN and UOAT. But I think Abbie being sceptical is what makes it fresh. She keeps us on a edge by not accepting everything and questioning everything as well, although she can be a bit less sceptical, I mean, seeing the third episode we get a bit more explenation why she is sceptical but sometimes she whines to much about it.

Leave a Reply

