The Roots of Evil by Philip Reeve: an E-book review

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. I’m writing reviews as fast as I can to catch up, but I’m reading faster than I can write, oh the difficult life of a geeky book blogger. Another Doctor Who 50th anniversary short story, the roots of evil by Philip Reeve, and remember sweeties, spoilers!

The Roots of Evil

About the book:

  • Kindle Edition, 40 pages
  • Published April 23rd 2013 by Puffin
  • ASIN: B00B54TZA6
  • edition language: English
  • series: Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts #4
  • characters: The Fourth Doctor
  • Author: Philip Reeve

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

When the Fourth Doctor takes Leela to visit an immense tree space station known as the Heligan Structure, little do they know that the tree has been asleep for centuries, dreaming of vengeance against a man in a blue box… As the tree awakes, the Time Lord and his companion soon discover why they are such unwelcome guests.

Eleven Doctors, eleven months, eleven stories: a year-long celebration of Doctor Who! The most exciting names in children’s fiction each create their own unique adventure about the time-travelling Time Lord.

My thoughts:

I will state it again, didn’t see the classic Doctor Who episodes, so I can’t comment about how well the author described the Doctor and his companion, I can however comment on the story itself.

Yes! The fourth Doctor and his magnificent scarf! Oh I love that scarf, I have one myself! I knitted it myself and I’m currently knitting my second one (I’ll continue knitting in the winter, already halfway done, oh and if you read this review on Goodreads, follow my blog to get regular updates on my progress hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com)

The fourth short story was nice, but in comparison to the first and the third one, this ranks slightly lower in how much I liked it. I don’t know, it didn’t capture me as did the others.

I liked the story in general, but just as a couple of the other stories it felt a bit rushed in order to keep the pages to a minimum and for me it didn’t have that particular Doctor Who feel to it.

It feels more like a nice short story which happens to have the fourth Doctor and Leela in it as the lead characters.

With most of the short stories, I read them while I travel during work, I hated the fact I reached my destination and had to wait a couple of hours to continue reading, with this one, not so much.

I don’t know, I feel this story is too complicated, too wibbly wobbly for a children’s story. Pretty much the only thing I liked was the scarf and the fact it was a Doctor Who story. But that’s my opinion about it. I’m entitled to not like everything I read.

Buttons:

buy-on-amazon.com buy-on-amazon.co.uk

 

My rating:

As I said before, didn’t really like this one as much as previous read stories, but I’ll still give it 7 out of 10.

Lots of love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “The Roots of Evil by Philip Reeve: an E-book review

  1. […] The Roots of Evil by Philip Reeve: an E-book review (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

