The Spear of Destiny by Marcus Sedgwick: an E-book review.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. As always, still behind on blogging, too much to do, not enough time. This time, the third book in the Doctor Who 50th anniversary short stories. The spear of destiny by Marcus Sedgwick. And as always, spoilers!

The Spear of Destiny

About the Book:

  • Kindle Edition, 55 pages
  • Published: March 23rd 2013 by Puffin
  • ASIN: B00B54TZD8
  • edition language: English
  • series: Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts #3
  • characters: The Third Doctor
  • Author: Marcus Sedgwick

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

The Third Doctor and Jo Grant are trying to track down the magical spear of Odin when they find themselves caught up in a vicious battle between two Viking tribes. But one of the Vikings is even more dangerous than he appears to be. Can the Doctor stop the spear getting into the wrong hands before it’s too late?

Eleven Doctors, eleven months, eleven stories: a year-long celebration of Doctor Who! The most exciting names in children’s fiction each create their own unique adventure about the time-travelling Time Lord.

My Thoughts:

As stated before in the other reviews of the Doctor Who 50th anniversary short stories. I haven’t watched the original Doctor Who episodes. So whether the author did a good job describing the third Doctor and his companion Jo, I don’t know.

I’m not familiar with this children’s book author, but reading this story certainly peaked my interest. I loved this one. In the short number of pages this story has, we get all the elements of a good Doctor Who story.

The Doctor, companion and Tardis, check. Time travel, check. Companion not listening, check. Strange artefact, check. The master, oh double check! Wibbly wobbly timey wimey, yep, also check.

I do like the adding of the spear of destiny as the mystery artefact that has the Doctor running trough time and space to keep it from the wrong kind of hands. It is of course a much used object in many stories about how it came to be and where it ended up, and I like the Doctor’s explanation a lot.

Throw in a couple of famous Vikings and a god complex, suspension and kidnapping and I’m sold to this story.

You know, I find it funny that because I didn’t watch the classic Doctor Who stories and the Master shows up I have the ‘new’ Master’s image in my head when reading this, instead of how he was depicted in the old series.

But the more I read these stories about the previous Doctors the more I feel the urge to finally catch up on the old series. Because I see a lot of quirks of the ‘newer’ Doctors that began in the ‘older’ Doctors.

Buttons, aka I wanna buy my own copy:

buy-on-amazon.combuy-on-amazon.co.uk

 

 

Rating:

I give this a definite 9 out of 10, for such a short story, it’s still enjoyable and a must read for every whovian out there. And if you have kids, read this to them!

Lots of love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “The Spear of Destiny by Marcus Sedgwick: an E-book review.

  1. […] The Spear of Destiny by Marcus Sedgwick: an E-book review. (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

