Neil Gaiman Booksigning in Rotterdam.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. As promised, my blog about the Neil Gaiman Booksigning in Rotterdam I attended last Friday night.

DSC_0002

I’ve been looking forward to this event for weeks now. Driving everybody around me crazy by shouting at random times throughout the day, ‘I’m gonna meet Neil Gaiman!’

But let’s begin at the beginning. A couple of weeks ago I saw the event for the signing in Utrecht and geeked out. Neil Gaiman coming to the Netherlands, signing his new book! Whatever it took, I needed to be there. Because a lot of my friends are also into this amazing writer, I posted a shout out at my fellow DCC members. (For the ones that don’t know what that is, it’s the Dutch Cumber Collective, an amazing group of crazy ladies, like myself, who have an appreciation of the actor Benedict Cumberbatch.) And seeing as Benedict preformed the Angel Islington in Neil’s latest Neverwhere adaptation, some were bound to want to join me.

The lovely Lilia pointed me towards the signing in Rotterdam, and unlike Utrecht, you needed to reserve places. So I did just that and two days later I got the conformation about my 2 tickets. Lokke, another DCC member, wanted that second spot, so the three of us made plans to attend the event.

DSC_0001

Looking back at the going to Rotterdam was the best decision I made. Because of the whole Gaiman Gate scandal. For further information about what happened I’ll refer you to another blog, who was a victim at the miscalculation of the popularity of Neil here in the Netherlands: http://www.snugglyoranges.com/2013/08/how-polare-dutch-bookstore-crushed.html

Ok, that’s enough of the Gaiman Gate scandal for now.

Because I’m also a huge whovian and I loved the episodes Neil wrote for the series I decided to make a present for him. You guys know by now I make these lovely stuffed Adipose, and that was the perfect gift for Neil. And I added a little something extra to this one. Check it out. How cool is this!

DSC_0011

So after working all day, carrying with me my newly bought copy of Neverwhere (I already had an eBook version, but they’re a bit hard to sign) and my Adipose I met up with Lilia to grab a bite to eat and go to the bookstore for more information about how the event was going to progress.

We were welcome at 18.30 for signing in, buying a copy of The Ocean at the End of the Lane and getting to our seats. Because we were early we got really good seats at the second row from the front and we saved a spot for Lokke who would be a bit later. Oh and I bought one of the few hardcover English versions.

DSC_0004

Neil came in and disappeared upstairs after a loud applause of the people already attending and the waiting happened. It was fun to hear so many people around you talk about Neil, Neverwhere, Doctor Who and Sherlock. I spotted a lot of Tardisses, Tom Baker bags, Whovian t-shirts and lots and lots more.

Because it was getting later and later and people were still in the queue for buying their books, Polare decided to start the event. And under loud applause Neil Gaiman entered the stage to be interviewed by the Dutch author Marcel van Driel. (I forgot his name while writing the blog and he contacted me, so I’m rectifying my lazy mistake.) Here is the link to his Goodreads page where you can find all the info about him and the books he wrote: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3274404.Marcel_van_Driel

DSC_0030

I think I listened in awe, like the rest of the audience to Neil talking about writing, Amanda, Dutch in-laws, rearranging the spice rack by alphabet, Doctor Who and much, much more. Check out one of the vids I shot that night. Oh and the rest I’m keeping in my private collection, but I had to share this one.

After Neil was done with being interviewed, although I don’t know if you can call it an interview, if the man starts talking he doesn’t stop, thank god for that! I would love to hear more!

DSC_0036

The room just about scrambled towards the signing table. Yep us Dutchies aren’t really organized like that. I’m ashamed for this thing. I mean, we all get a turn to get our books signed people. I know it’s late, I know people are tired, but can we just keep ourselves a bit more civilized?

Because we had good spots for the interview we ended up almost being last for the signing, but we didn’t mind. Us ladies had a lot to talk about and meeting fellow fans in line.

And finally it was our turn to meet and greet one of the (in my opinion) most amazing fantasy authors. Lokke thanked Neil for Neverwhere and the Angels Islington. And Neil spotted her as a Benedict fan (yes, we all are, blame Benedict, not us).DSC_0043

I thanked him for the amazing Doctor Who episodes he wrote and gave him the Adipose I made. I think he was a bit surprised someone brought him a gift and he looked up, took the Adipose and noticed the bowtie. ‘Oh look he has a little bowtie!’ ‘Yeah,’ I said, ‘because’ and he finished my sentence ‘bowties are cool!’ And he showed us a little metal pin he was wearing on his jacket, made by another fan. It was a little Cyperman. He also concluded he hoped he will be invited to write more stories for Doctor Who.

IMG-20130816-WA0005

Moffat! You make this happen! Let Mr. Gaiman write some amazing episodes for Peter Capaldi!

So that concludes the booksigning with Neil Gaiman, at Polare in Rotterdam.

DSC_0002

And Neil, if you are reading this. Thank you, again, for a wonderful night, for being such an amazing and inspiring author, for sharing your stories with us, for giving us a bit of your spare time to meet you, for Idris and new Cybermen, for the Angel Islington and Mind the Gap, for getting us back into reading, for making us better writers, Thank You!

DSC_0003

Lots of love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

4 thoughts on “Neil Gaiman Booksigning in Rotterdam.

  1. Great blog!

    The Dutch author 🙂

  2. Awesome blog post (read it again a few times).

    Strange you should talk about queueing, it’s something do really well. Hell, I’m sure we could win gold medals at the Olympics for queuing.

    As for writing more episodes of Doctor Who, I totally agree. Mr Moffat, you have the power – make it happen. I want to see more fantastical adventures written by Neil Gaiman. He’s already given us a beautifully bonkers romantic tale in The Doctor’s Wife and the classic “base under siege” story, albeit set in a theme park with The Spacey Zoomer in Nightmare In Silver.

    Basically Steven – I WANT MORE!!!!

    Thanks for sharing your fantastic evening with us. 🙂

  3. […] Neil Gaiman Booksigning in Rotterdam. (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] My friend Mendy managed to meet Mr Gaiman himself at a signing session for this book in Rotterdam last August.  Please check out her blog post. […]

Leave a Reply

