The 12th Doctor and a review!

Tick Tock goes the clock, even for the Doctor…

Tick Tock goes the clock

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. Since everyone is doing a blog about this, I couldn’t stay behind. So all of you know by now who the new Doctor is. Peter Capaldi! Welcome sir, so a long line of brilliant time-lords.

New-Dr-Who

Like half of the geek world I was transfixed on my TV during the live show on BBC. Thank the Dutchies for broadcasting BBC! Sonic screwdriver in one hand and my emergency stash of Jammy Dodgers opened I watched some familiar and unfamiliar faces come by on my screen. Wilf! (Sorry, had to). Everybody had an opinion about the previous Doctors (don’t we all) and how they imagine the new Doctor. Although I missed David in this brilliant line-up.

And the minutes slowly ticked away until the new Doctor was being revealed. As the bookies in the UK predicted it turned out to be Peter Capaldi. Now where do I know this guy from? Ancient Pompeii of course! (Ok, I know he’s known for a lot more things, but I only know the guy from a previous Doctor Who episode.)

What I did miss during this live event was more time with Peter. He got a brief say on Doctor Who and his new role and that was it. Come on BBC, at least show us the 50th trailer!

My mum fancies him (about the same age), I like his accent and Theta thinks he will be brilliant. I for one welcome him into the fandom and look forward to his outfit, his quirks, his catchphrases and please give us at least a scene with River!

I also give you a quick review on the fires of Pompeii, as I am currently re-watching all the new episodes. (Still have to finish the end of time part 2; I need a shock blanket, stat!)

I’m a huge history geek, even briefly considered being a history teacher. I always had a fascination for Pompeii and I hope someday I’ll get the chance to visit the town completely preserved in ash. And I did love this episode!Fires of Pompeii

The lovely Doctor Who cast and crew even shot most of the episode in Rome! And we have Donna! I love Donna. And we get a brief glimpse of a future companion, Amy Pond, or actually Karen Gillan playing one of the Soothsayers.Amy

Donna and the Doctor find themselves in ancient Rome, but actually land in Pompeii, on volcano day! (Sorry, to good of a joke not to repeat). Although the lovely and slightly creepy people of Pompeii don’t know what a volcano is. Think more of the lines of angry gods spitting fire kind of thing.

They abandon the Tardis to look around and discover the Tardis is sold as a piece of modern art to Lucius Caecilius Lucundus, a sculpture merchant. They go to the family to retrieve it, but find something strange going on.

Suddenly, without warning, all the truthsayers in Pompeii actually predict the future (except for Volcano day). The Doctor and Donna try to get to the bottom of this, because something is also rumbling and growling beneath them, and it’s not just magma.

Donna get’s kidnapped by the Soothsayers, a cult who predicts the future and where young maidens of upstanding families are promised into joining them. (See, creepy).

It turns out, when the Doctor rescues Donna, they are worshipping a Pyrovile, hosting inside the body of the high priestess. The pyroviles woke up during an earlier earthquake when they landed on earth after their home planet got lost. (How the hell do you lose a complete planet, don’t worry, it all makes a lot more sense later in the season).

The Doctor uses his bright yellow water pistol (I guess his coat pockets are also bigger on the inside) to temporarily distract the sisterhood and he and Donna escape.

Yellow watergun

He also discovers that the Pyroviles are trying to convert the whole human race and earth and turn it into one big pile of dust (sort of)

And we get on to one of the most brilliant and sad scenes in this episode. Donna wants to stop Pompeii from being buried into ash, killing about 20.000 human beings in the process. The Doctor explains it’s a fixed point in time and can’t be changed, until he finds out, he’s responsible for killing the people of Pompeii, in order to save the rest of earth. (Heartbreaking, truly heartbreaking).

Finally Donna persuades him to save at least one person and the Doctor agrees to help his future generation and their family (see what I did there?) The Doctor and Donna are now the new house gods of the family, happily living in Rome, and all is well.

Peter plays the role of the father in this happy, disturbed family, and I find it hard to base an opinion on just one episode, basically because he plays a bit of a loser dad. Focusing his time and energy on his daughter and scalding his, in his eyes, deadbeat son. The man clearly can’t base an opinion of his own and is practically owned by his wife and the rich buyers of Pompeii.The 12th Doctor

But the more I think of it, the more I see him as the new Doctor and I am really looking forward to seeing him in the Christmas episode. (Can we include at least a Sparta joke?)

What do you think? Are you happy with the choice, upset, downright disappointed, fangirling, or fanboying? Tell me!

Lots of love, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “The 12th Doctor and a review!

  1. Thanks for the shout out.

    I saw Peter last year in the stage production of “The Ladykillers” where he portrayed the role of Professor Marcus which was portrayed by Sir Alec Guinness in the film.

    He ably blended gentle wit alongside points of serious acting and dark, bordering on gallows, humour – all traits which are prerequisites for the role of the Doctor, along with an other wordly eccentricity.

    As for Pompeii, after visiting the town in June 2002, I recommend it as a place to add to your historical world tour. 🙂

Leave a Reply

