The Nameless city, an e-book review.

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course, and how are you guys today? Another Doctor Who 50th anniversary short story review, this time, the second one. The Nameless city, by Michael Scott.

The nameless city

Don’t forget, also spoilers ahead.

About the book:

  • Kindle Edition, 48 pages
  • Published February 23rd 2013 by Puffin
  • Author: Michael Scott
  • Edition language: English
  • Series: Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts #2
  • Characters: The Second Doctor

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

When Jamie McCrimmon brings the Second Doctor a mysterious book, little does he realise the danger contained within its pages. The book transports the TARDIS to a terrifying glass city on a distant world, where the Archons are intent on getting revenge on the Time Lord for an ancient grudge.

Eleven Doctors, eleven months, eleven stories: a year-long celebration of Doctor Who! The most exciting names in children’s fiction each create their own unique adventure about the time-travelling Time Lord.

My Thoughts:

As I stated before in my first review of the Doctor Who 50th anniversary short stories, I haven’t seen the original Doctor Who episodes, besides the one. So I can’t comment on the fact if the author did a good job describing and capturing the essence of the main characters.

But I can however review the story. First of all, I’m not familiar with the author, don’t know him, haven’t read a book he wrote. Sorry about that, if you have any recommendations, just let me know.

I liked the story, but I thought the principle was that these short stories where written for children. Now, because I read a lot of fantasy, sci-fi and such I am familiar with the Necronomicon. Isn’t that a bit to adult and too scary for kids? Don’t get me wrong, it worked in the story, but I did have my moments about it when I read it.

I loved the fact that the Tardis gets a huge part of this story, although I found the solution to repair her a bit easy. It’s nice to know where the Tardis originally came from. And in this case I found my lack of knowledge about the old Doctor Who series bothering me. I don’t know if a lot of the stuff explained in the story is originally from the series or that it’s made up.

Big shout out to another Time-Lord reference! And of course the music of the spheres! That I do know!

One thing, and I had the same with the first story, is that they all feel a bit rushed. I know they are short stories, but it feels sometimes important things are left out in order to keep the pages to a minimum, this story more than the first one.

Buttons aka I want a copy:

buy-on-amazon.com buy-on-amazon.co.uk

 

My Rating:

I give it an 8 out of 10. I liked the story, although it didn’t appeal so much to me as the first one. For a new whovian it’s sometime confusing reading about the older Doctors and not knowing who they were. Guess I have to catch up on my classics and maybe after that re-read these short stories.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

