A Big Hand For The Doctor, an E-book review

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. Another e-book review thanks to Boris (not my boyfriend, my e-reader). This time the first in the Doctor Who 50th anniversary short stories.

A big hand for the Doctor

Oh and remember the spoilers!!!

About the book:

  • Kindle Edition, 41 pages
  • Published January 23rd 2013 by Puffin
  • Author: Eon Colfer
  • ASIN: B00AX0MRNK
  • Edition language: English
  • Series: Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts #1
  • Characters: The First Doctor, Susan Foreman

add-to-goodreads

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

Eleven Doctors, eleven months, eleven stories: a year-long celebration of Doctor Who! The most exciting names in children’s fiction each create their own unique adventure about the time-travelling Time Lord.

London, 1900. The First Doctor is missing both his hand and his granddaughter, Susan. Faced with the search for Susan, a strange beam of soporific light, and a host of marauding Soul Pirates intent on harvesting human limbs, the Doctor is promised a dangerous journey into a land he may never forget…

My thoughts:

Can I just start by saying I love Eon Colfer. I have a couple of his Artemis Fowl books at home and I remember when I started reading them I even took out a pencil and translated the strange symbols he wrote in his books to get the message he had hidden. So I was really excited to start reading his story for the Doctor Who 50th anniversary short stories!

So remember, I haven’t watched any of the old Doctor Who series yet. It’s on my to-do list, along with everything else, but I will get to it, someday. (Although I have watched the 5 Doctors, present from my good friend Theta cause it aired on the day I was born back in ’83. Yes I was born on Doctor Who day, how cool is that!)

As I am not familiar with the first 8 Doctors and their companions (ok, Sarah Jane a bit) I can’t really tell you anything if the way the Doctor and Susan are described in this story is accurate.

However I can review the story itself. And it was wonderful. This is the kind of story, you need in a book, with lots of pictures, and read it to your kid when they go to sleep. It has adventure, and pirates and kidnappings and a good ending and I love and adore every word of it.

When reading the story I noticed one of the sentences, second star to the right. Hold one a minute, that’s a Peter Pan reference, what the hell? Imagine my surprise when the second reference ‘Hook’ came along. Either Eon is a huge Peter Pan fan or he has something else in store… All I can say is, read the epilogue. It will blow your mind away.

I know this isn’t much of a proper review, but I don’t want to give away the whole story. It’s just so short. Just read it yourself.

Buttons aka where do I buy this e-book:

buy-on-amazon.com buy-on-amazon.co.uk

Rating:

Oh this is easy, a definite 10 out of 10. In such a short story we get the Doctor, crazy aliens, space pirates, kidnappings, a big hand, a happy ending and bonus Peter Pan references. I love Eon Colfer even more for writing this one! Seriously, if you love Doctor Who, get this book. Oh and BBC? Get me a printed version, preferably with pictures asap!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

