Vlogging Hot Cute Girly Geek: Geeky Monthly round-up June 2013

Hi my hot cute girly geeks and boy geeks of course. A new vlogging topic. Geeky monthly round-up. Where I will try to do a monthly round-up of geeky things I did, watched, experienced etc. Here is the first vlog about June.

And on a site note.

Due to unfortunate circumstances my e-reader died. I was supposed to order a new one but I’m currently not able to. This means I’m not able to participate in any book blogging activities or promotion tours if the books aren’t actually paper books. Reading e-books either on my laptop or smartphone is out of the question for the moment.

As soon as I have a new e-reader I will be back again participating, until that moment comes I’ll be stuck with audio books or books I actually have a physical copy of.

Or one of you nice readers is willing to donate an e-reader. Gifts are always welcome 😉

Until next time my lovely geeks.

Love from your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

5 thoughts on “Vlogging Hot Cute Girly Geek: Geeky Monthly round-up June 2013

  1. Bin it says:

    I’m a hot Dutch chick girly geek as well, and I love my e-reader. I mainly read fanfiction and SF books. I’m down to one e-reader, so I have none to donate.

    I also love audiobooks. I’m making my way through a lot of SF audiobooks, and pick them up whenever I can. It’s so relaxed. I also love the podcasts on Star Trek, SF media and all sorts that I can get on iTunes.

    Until you get an e-reader again, I’m interested in reviews and blogging about the current and old tv-series and some current film-fandoms that are exploding. Plenty to keep us busy.

    I just discovered your blog, I have to catch up with old posts and I’m looking forward to more.

  2. Hi, it’s so nice to meet a fellow Dutchie geeky girl as well. And I use my e-reader for fanfiction a lot as well. Reading them on my Phone is just not the same 😉 I will be going back to blogging a lot about tv series and movies and I have some blogs to catch up with, mainly some book reviews but also museum stuff and other geeky things.
    If you want you can follow my twitter to get a daily inside in my life at the moment and the geeky stuff I love and do, besides rambling about work and such.
    I’m interested to know which are your main fandoms. Do you have a blog of your own? If so, give me a link, if not and you like my blog, I’m always keeping a spot open for guestbloggers if you’re interested. Just let me know!
    Love, Mendy

    • Galadriel says:

      Hi Mendy,
      My main fandoms are Star Trek, Quantum Leap, Kung Fu The Legend Continues. I’ll read anything Heinlein, and various other famous SF writers, and I’ll try most SF things on TV.

      I’m currently watching Defying Gravity – about 5 eps in, and it’s really exciting. It’s a short series from a few years back, that I didn’t know about for whatever reason. So I’m catchin up. I can highly recommend that one the people who like astronauts, near-future space exploration with good characters and relationships. There’s a lot of mystery going on as well, so my husband and I are just watching every night to see what happens next.

      Kung Fu TLC is a series that was never aired in the Netherlands. More’s the pity. The first two seasons are fairly mundane, but they get more and more mystical and start travelling in time, fighting demons and going into spritual worlds throughout the show. It’s a little show I love a lot, but it never got a lot of exposure. Even now, only season 1 is out on DVD. And only in Germany. WTF?

      Star Trek is just awesome. I have seen most of everything ever made, but I only consider myself a fan of the TOS. The new movies are therefore a little hard to deal with, with the 2009 movie being just plain pathetic, and the recent Into Darkness Movie being surprisingly good. Fans of Original Trek should only watch Into Darkness, before even attempting the 2009 movie (I hate movies that don’t have a proper name!). JJ can go do Star Wars as far as I’m concerned, and let’s please have someone else in to bring it to a proper Star Trek level.

      I’m also in the process of watching Legend of the Seeker, which can be classed as high fantasy, only it’s quite downplayed. There are not Orcs and Dragons everywhere. But it is a world of magic, and the series is very pretty to watch. Filmed in New Zealand by Sam Raimi and Robert Tapert, well known of Xena, Hercules and the Spiderman trilogy.

      Which brings me to the current Marvel Superhero movies. They are AWESOME! Marvel is making a bunch of their big comic book heroes into a film versions: The Hulk, Iron Man, Captain America, Thor. Each of them gets their own movie with backstory, and they all come together in The Avengers, a fun romp where big bad and big good take out their differences with a lot of force. 😉 It’s great fun, even though the Incredible Hulk movie was quite missable. I had never heard of Captain America and I rather like him. My favourite superhero has always been Superman. And guess what, they have also brought out yet another new version of Superman.

      I like living in an age where SF entertainment has finally entered the big screens and the large companies are producing tv series and movies left right and centre, just so they can cash into this genre, which had been ignored until Buffy brought it to the forefront around 2000.

      • I love the Legend of the Seeker, I have all the books and watched the tv series as well, too bad they cancelled after two seasons, it was very well written and portrayed.
        I watched just about all the Original Star Trek as well, but I do love the new movies, and agree that STID is better then the 2009 version.
        I’m not so much a comic lover myself. I do enjoy just about all the new superhero movies, but I have been brought up with books and have a large imagination. So I never saw the appeal of comics myself.
        Oh and Buffy, I love Buffy, have all the dvd’s and everything. I still harbour a secret crush on Spike, even if James is much older now.
        I’m more a fantasy girl myself but I do love SF a lot. I have so many fandoms and love for different tv series, movies and books I really don’t know where to start.
        But as I said in my previous reply, I am looking for a guestblogger, or maybe a second blogger who would love to write stuff for my blog as well.
        Just let me know if you are interested!

        Love, Mendy

  3. I REALLY WISH I COULD MAIL YOU STUFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have a spare one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lots of love, Emily

Leave a Reply

