TV series ending and beginning, a balance and some reviewing.

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks of course. Today my point of view on some current TV series I’m watching and going to watch.

Most TV series are wrapping up at the moment. Either the last episode of the season has already past or we have just a couple of episodes to come, so it’s time to make up a balance and also look forward to what’s to come. Either series back from a hiatus or the starting of a new season.

imagesCAIRS3O5Arrow: I’m not a particular big comic fan, actually not at all. I’m no comic geek, although I love some of the comic adaptations out there, but those are mainly the familiar ones. I am not familiar with the Arrow comics so the story is completely new for me. And to be honest, the only reason I start watching this series is John Barrowman. And although he doesn’t have a huge role in this series, I admire his work in it. But the series itself? It’s not something I would like to own on DVD. For me personally it feels like I’m watching a crossover between Robin Hood, Cast Away and another dozen of comic adaptations about a crime filled city and a hero standing up. Although the added bonus of Alex Kingston making a guest appearance made my whovian heart very happy. This is one of those series I watch while doing something else. I get the main storyline but not everything and I’m ok with that. I like the series well enough that I’m curious about the season finale and season 2. But to recommend it? No, not really.

Bones: is this considered a geeky series? I think so. We have the squints and the nerds, the brains and the heart and gruesome body parts. We are at season 8 at the bonesmoment and the finally is coming. My god, 8 seasons, it’s a lot. But I do love the whole crime of the week thing, and how they still manage to keep it entertaining. And with 8 seasons you get to see more of the background of the main characters. And I must say I love a good evil genius in a series and knowing that Pelant is coming back for the finally makes me eager to see it, although it probably will end in a major cliff-hanger for season 9.

bbtThe Big Bang Theory: I can be brief about that one, more episode please. Although it doesn’t really portray us geeks and nerd in a very good way, I do love a series where I at least understand all the geeky references. I’m sad season 6 is ending, and hoping we get a season 7.

Castle:  season 5 and 1 more episode left. Come one, although not majorly geeky, it has Nathan Fillion for crying out loud! Uber geek himself and this season castlewas filled with funny geeky references. I do love Castle and his funny and twisted brain. And while I’m on the subject. What is it with series, when we have two main characters, male and female, that eventually end up in a relationship? I mean, I do love a good romance, but it seems that every partnership needs to end up in a ship. Why is that? Don’t get me wrong, I do love good fanfiction, but that doesn’t mean I would like to see it on screen as well. I find it more interesting to watch the tension than the actual relationship. But that’s just me. Another season? Yes please!

doctor whoDoctor Who: we are in de middle of the second part of season 7. And I seriously don’t know. Where the hell is this going? There are so many rumours online at the moment about possible plot spoilers. What I do know is that the Doctor is turning dark. Do I like it? I don’t know. The whole impossible Clara thing? I don’t know. This is one of those series where you have to see the whole season to base your opinion on properly. There are too much possible spoilers, plot twists, hints, etc going on. And I am stuck to my TV every Saturday night. I can’t get enough of it! What I do know is that I hold my geeky little heart for what’s to come. Knowing Moffat, he’s gonna break it again and leave me crying on my couch, again. But that’s the life of a fangirl. Btw is it November the 23rd yet???

Fringe: is no more. We had our last episode and no more seasons to come. Which is a shame. It was a really good show. It’s too bad the series didn’t get enough episodes to properly endfringe the story and it felt too surreal and rushed. When watching the last season I really had to find the motivation to actually watch the latest episode of that week. But I’m also glad we had a proper ending with the series. How many series are in the middle of a story and just get cut off and we are left with nothing more. But out all of the seasons, the last one is my least favourite.

GoTGame of Thrones: So this series just started season 3. And it’s one of my favourite book adaptations seeing as a series. It’s hard to create movies and series from books. We all have a picture in our heads when we read a book, and seeing it on screen can be a real disappointment sometimes. Usually a book is way better then the series. But in this case it’s a tie. The casting is brilliant, the story is amazing, the scenery is epic and I’m glad winter has finally arrived.

Lost Girl: we had the final episode of season 3 and it still leaves me hungry for more. Although not one the more stronger endings of a series, I like where it’s going. Although this series Lost Girlisn’t in my top 5 of most favourite series ever, I do like it well enough for more seasons. But please, can we cut out the whole love triangle thing. And more sassy Kenzi please!

Once upon a timeOnce Upon a Time: we are near the end of season 2. When I started watching season 1 I was really excited. It sounded so promising, although it was riding the hype of fairytales adaptations going on at the moment (Grimm, beauty and the beast). And the main idea was really good, sort of a fairytale a week and fairytales coming to life in the real world. But with this second season I have the feeling they are running out of stories. For me it drags along and not coming to the point. I’m not sure I will watch a third season, I mean, the same thing happened with Grimm and I stopped watching that as well. Let’s just wait for the season’s finale before I make a final decision.

Revolution: Back from hiatus. I’m still not sure what to think of it. I love the idea of the series and the earth without power, how people adapted and the militia standing up. But I also revolutionhad a major Jericho feeling with this series and when comparing, give me back Jericho and cancel this one. I don’t know, the pace is to slow for me and it seems nothing is really happening, or maybe it’s happing to quick and not enough explanation. Another series for me that I don’t know if I’ll continue watching it.

sherlockSherlock: Now you are all wondering why I have this series in my list. It’s not on TV at the moment, and we are awaiting series 3. But the good news is they are filming it! I try to stay away from spoilers as much as I can. Which is strange. Give me spoilers of the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who and I can’t get enough, but spoilers of Sherlock? Get away from me as far as possible. That’s also one of the reasons I haven’t read the original series yet. I simply don’t want to know! And also a series 4? One day confirmed by Benedict Cumberbatch and the next day denied, I don’t care. And I also can’t wait! One thing is for sure, I am Sherlocked…

Supernatural: season 8, oh god yes! I love where this season is going, and some of the old characters returning. The tablets, Charlie, more Crowley. I love it all. Although I miss the SPNoriginal formula of monster of the week a bit, I do love the whole men of letters angle and I’m both anxious to see the season’s finale as to what my poor fangirl heart can cope with. Knowing the writers they are surely gonna rip it out and salt and burn it. And loving the fact that we got another season again!

TWTeen Wolf: ??? Yep, I watch it, and I love it. Normally series made by MTV suck big time. Not this one. We had two seasons and with just a couple of more weeks of waiting, season 3 will finally start, and with more episodes as well. Although season 1 was the more stronger season of the series and we are losing a lot of main characters in season 3 because the actors decided to do something else, I’m still really looking forward to it. It’s supposed to be a lot more darker then the last two seasons. We’ll just have to wait and see. I know I’ll be fangirling over the first episode with my favourite fanbabe, planning a sleepover with live stream and taking a day off of work.

The Vampire Diaries: as mentioned before, this is one of those rare series, where the TV adaptation is way better then the books. And where I am glad they don’t follow the original TVDstory. Although this last season felt a bit like a disappointment. I get a bit tired of all these love triangles, not only in this series, but in a lot of other series as well. Also, not really glad with the whole Elena being a vampire as well. We have a few more episodes to come, as well as a spin-off series with the originals as basis. Wonder how that’s gonna turn out. I don’t know, I think I’m just done with the whole whining vegetarian vampire bit. It was amazing in Interview with the vampire and original as well. But nowadays it feels like every vampire has an identity crisis. I like my monsters to be monsters, thank you very much.

the walking deadThe Walking Dead: already ended and what a shit ending. Or more accurately, what a shitty season. It had its moments. I broke down when Darryl found out his brother turned into a zombie and he had to kill him, but again with the whining and Andrea being an obnoxious b*tch. I was glad we finally got rid of Lori, only to be replaced by Andrea. And please someone slap Carl. Little deranged psycho kid! Someone needs to properly raise him. I wonder what the next series has in store for us, but please, more zombie and survival action, less bitching around.

Warehouse 13: almost back from hiatus. I wonder what the second part of this season has coming. Again, I miss a bit of artefact of the week thing. Although where the series was goingwarehouse 13 with a dark Claudia was interesting. Let’s wait and see, shall we?

zombielandZombieland: ok, I watched the first episode. It was funny. But it never reaches the level of the original movie. It sort of picked up where we left in the movie. But it’s trying too hard. I need to see more episodes to get a more accurate feel of this series, but if it doesn’t get picked up, I won’t be mourning its loss.

Wow, that’s a lot of series, and think I even forgot some as well. Are there any series you think I should watch? Or what are your thoughts on some of the series I watched. Let me know below in the comments!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “TV series ending and beginning, a balance and some reviewing.

  1. Love this!!! THANK YOU FOR THE RECAPS!!!! Lots of love, Emily PS: YOUR BIGGEST FAN!!!

Leave a Reply

