Baby (Species intervention #6609 #1) by J.K. Accini, a book review.

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks. A while back I participated in a book blitz for this particular book. And as a thank you I got the first three books in this series in paperback! I really love my job as a blogger. Naturally I had to read them and I finished the first book a couple of weeks  ago (as well as the second one). So here is my review. And beware as always for spoilers!

baby

About the book:

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

A story deeper and darker than E.T. How could one planet evolve such complex and divergent examples of biodiversity?
The series “Species Intervention #6609” spans two hundred years, encompassing tender love between divergent species, political downfalls and violence of unspeakable order. It is an unfortunate tale of Armageddon and the remote possibility of redemption.
In Baby, Netty is a naive teenage farm girl given in marriage to an older brutal opportunist disguised as a successful citizen during the years of Prohibition in Sussex County, New Jersey. After years of enslavement, Netty flees into the night from her rapist husband, travelling back to the farm worked by her parents, where she rescues an unfamiliar damaged creature she finds in a cave in the woods of her childhood, falling in love with the enigmatic creature she names Baby. Together they find happiness and fulfilment despite the changes to Netty’s body wrought by the proximity of the unusual creature.
When a handsome Italian stranger comes into Netty’s life, complications ensue as she falls in love while trying to hide the bizarre and wondrous changes to her farm and her body. Netty, Baby and Wil strive to conquer obstacles thrown in their path by life, succeeding wildly until the heart-rending and astonishingly brutal climax to their story.

My thoughts:

When I participated in the book blitz (for more info here is the link to my earlier post: https://hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/j-k-accinni-book-blitz-baby/ ) I didn’t read the book, but with some excerpts and more info I was pretty excited. And not just because I was participating in this. I am always honest in my reviews and if I don’t like a book I will say so. Fortunately I really liked the first book in this series.  And I’m enjoying reading the second book as well. (Make sure to check back for a review!)

The book Baby begins really dark with the back story of Netty, and although it’s pretty awful (understatement) I do love it when she overcomes this and becomes the strong and independent woman later on in the book.

When she escapes her abusive and really deranged husband and flees back towards home, only to find it empty, she starts healing. Working trough every day, accepting what happened and moving on. But when she stumbles upon Baby, she can truly start her new life. Working hard on her farm, together with Baby, who helps her in every way he can.

But nothing comes without consequences and Baby’s help and healing leave their marks on her body. She is changing. And then she meets Wil, the handsome stranger that gradually finds his place in the lives of Netty and Baby. Will this finally be the happy ending Netty is hoping for?

Like I said before, I absolutely love this book. In some ways it reminded me a lot of the books by Jean M. Auel (Earth’s Children series). I love that the main character has to overcome the troubles in her past and I adore Baby. Thank god not another vampire / werewolf book (although I really enjoy those as well).

The book is really well written, fast, funny at some points, romantic at others and sometimes real tearjerkers. The feelings and the emotions of the main characters as they are described makes it feel all the more realistic.

My only complaint is that the book is so thin. I would have loved to read more about the adventures of Netty, Baby and Wil. And I sort of hoped the second book would pick up where the first book ended, but that’s a whole new awesome story. But once you start reading, you can’t seem to get enough of it, and the book is hard to put down.

Where do I get my copy (aka buttons):

buy-on-amazon.com buy-on-amazon.co.uk

 

My Rating:

Definitely 8 out of 10! Or 4 out of 5 stars, depending what you are rating on. But this book is a definite must read if you love story’s that stray away from the well know paths, a bit of paranormal, and a wise lesson for all of us.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “Baby (Species intervention #6609 #1) by J.K. Accini, a book review.

  1. […] read the first book in this series (for my thoughts and a review: https://hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/baby-species-intervention-6609-1-by-j-k-accini-a-bo… and I liked it really much. So of course I read the second book in the series. Originally I thought […]

Leave a Reply

