Torchwood: Department X, an (audio) book review.

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks of course, another audio book review, and an old one. This is another one of those books I listened to and was behind on reviewing. But before I start, a more personal update.

Torchwood, Department X

I don’t know how many posts I’m able to do in the next couple of weeks. I’m extremely busy. My mum got a new house, so I’ll be helping her out with that. Work hours are still increasing, spending time with boyfriend (always important!) I’m also trying to manage a bit more sleep, seeing that I don’t function well on an average of 4-5 hours a night. I also need to do a lot in and around my own house besides the usual cleaning and stuff. As I am writing this, a handy man is fixing my bathroom. (Well seeing as I didn’t finish writing this post, the handyman was last week, this week they are refitting some gas pipes underneath my house, oh how I love spending my day’s off, waking up early and getting a work crew inside my house.) I’m really behind on my TV series and reading (which I do most now when I travel to and from work and at night, but then again, I need to sleep as well) and I promised you guys a transcript.

A transcript? Yep, I was interviewed for a Dutch geek site and did a lovely podcast, but seeing as it is all in Dutch and I have a lot of English speaking followers, I thought it would be nice to make an English transcript out of it. But I haven’t started yet and it will take some time to actually translate it.

If I have any free time left I’ll try to write a couple of posts and spread them across the week to be put on my blog. I hope I can manage at least two for today, maybe three, but that depends on how tired I am. (My bed is calling from upstairs to go sleep some more, but I’ll try to stay strong, hihi).

Oh and I’m also prepping for my visit to London at the end of March. It’s a sort of work related thing. My work provides outings and trips and workshops which you can attend for a nice reduced price. So that’s why I’m going to London. But since I’m also one of the staff members who helps organize these kinds of things, that means I can play one of the tour guides for my colleagues. Which I love to do. And since boyfriend is coming with me, and he never has been to London before, we are trying to plan what to see and what to visit. Since I want to update my Doctor Who merchandise (think forbidden planet and such) and he wants to go sightseeing all the touristy things.

But enough personal update, let’s start with the review and as always be beware of spoilers:

About the book:

Title: Torchwood, department X

Author: James gross

Narrator: Kai Owen

ISBN 13: 9781408466650

Version: Audio

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

G.R. Owen is the last of Cardiff’s old department stores. Times are hard and the ancient firm has gone into administration. But who are the Administrators? What goes on behind the shutters at night? And why are customers disappearing?

Torchwood are already investigating; G.R. Owen is the site of their oldest unsolved cases, and Jack is determined to solve it before the store closes forever – which is why Ianto is working undercover in gentlemen’s fashions and Gwen is in handbags.

Are the new managers really aliens? What connection do they have to the mysterious G.R. Owen himself? And is Jack the only one looking for the Department of Curiosities, last seen in 1905?

My thoughts:

Yeah! Another book narrated by Kai Owen. I love his voice, it has something soothing to listen to and he does have a nice play with words when he reads parts for different characters. That and the Welsh accent makes it for me fun to listen to. But I wonder, in the other audio books / drama’s I listened to. They tried to let the story be narrated by one of the actors playing a lead role in the particular book. They didn’t do it this time. Which makes me wonder if no one else was available? But I am really pleased with Kai!

So the story. Something fishy is going on in G.R. Owen (come on guys! I know Russel T. Davies had this thing with names where everyone is called Jones, but do the writers of the Torchwood novels also have to start? It’s getting really confusing!) And it’s invaded by the men in black, or a man and a woman in black. They are taking over the department store and need to interview all the staff and management. And because Jack is also looking for something he sends the two remaining members of his team under cover.

Ianto is working the clothes department. So be prepared for some cheeky jokes when he is getting Jack fitted into a new outfit. And what’s up with that? Does Jack still doesn’t know that Ianto told a lie about his dad being a tailor and thus he knows a lot about it?

And Gwen is deposited at the handbags section. How more stereotype can we get? Gay guy in men’s fashion and a woman in the handbags.

Seeing the department store doesn’t get that many customers, it leaves plenty of time to snoop around for the Torchwood team. And Jack playing dress-up as a sort of Mafioso in a terrible outfit. The two creepy (wo)men in black are up to no good and there are fridges involved with dead people. (The next Torchwood audio drama is linked to this one, remember the fridges?)

The department store is also trying to keep out Jack and I lost count at how many times the poor man is killed over and over again. But they eventually find the lost department of curiosities and make a surprising discovery.

This is a good Torchwood story, although not one of the best out there. I love that this takes place before children of earth so we still have half a Torchwood team. God I miss Ianto! I know we whovians are always complaining about Moffat, but I think Russel deserves a fist shake as well. Davies!!!

But the story is funny, entertaining, has a brilliant cast, is read by Kai, what’s not to love?

Get your own copy (aka push that button!):

buy-on-amazon.com buy-on-amazon.co.uk buy-on-bol.com

 

Rating:

This story gets 7 out of 10 from me!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek Mendy.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

3 thoughts on “Torchwood: Department X, an (audio) book review.

  1. […] Torchwood: Department X, an (audio) book review. (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Mia says:

    Hey there! I know you’ve written this here a long time ago, but I just wanted to ask if, by any chance, you’ve done the transcript? I never listen properly to audiobooks because I always get distracted, and it’d really help. 🙂

    • Hi Mia, no I’m sorry, I didn’t do a trancript for an audiobook. It’s property of the BBC and it would take ages to do a proper transcript. What might help is buy the audiobook and maybe listen to it in bed before you go to sleep. That way, you can’t get distracted by other things. Hope the tip helps.

Leave a Reply

