Beautiful Darkness, the Caster Chronicles #2, by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, a book review

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks, another finished book, another book review. This time Beautiful Darkness, the second book in the Caster Chronicles. And remember as always, spoilers!

7842288

About the book:

Title: Beautiful Darkness, the Caster Chronicles #

Authors: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Website: http://beautifulcreaturesnovels.com/

ISBN 13: 9780316077057

Genre: YA / Supernatural

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena’s family of powerful Supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.

Sometimes life-ending. 

Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan’s eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there’s no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town’s tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.

 My thoughts:

The first book in the Caster Chronicles, Beautiful Creatures, took a long time for me to get used to before I fell in love with. I couldn’t identify myself with the main characters; the world it was set in wasn’t something I’m familiar with. The language used in the book was strange to me. But gradually towards the end of the first book I started to like more and more. So much more I wanted to read the second book and see where it went.

And boy was I surprised again. What I love about this book, Beautiful Darkness, as well as the first book, that the writers, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl keep surprising you. They take you out of the well known path of what is expected in the characters and give their own twist at it. They keep the pace high and the path unexpected and that is what keeps luring me in to reading more and more.

Throughout the second book I got more familiar with the characters and they came more alive for me. I need lively characters with flaws and screw-ups, mistakes and hoped and dreams and losses. It makes them more real and more loveable, and those characters are indeed more lovable (or hateable depending on the character).

The thing is, there are a lot of things I want to discuss about this book and the characters and what happens to them, but I know a lot of you guys are still reading them, and I don’t want to spoil it too much. Normally I don’t have a problem with that, but with this series I do.

All I can say is that I’m hungry for more, more stories, more books. I want to find out what is going to happen to my beloved main characters. What is Lena gonna do. What the hell is going to happen to the Linkubus (I love that one, most epic name ever). Will Ethan stick by Lena or maybe choose the other L in his life (no not really, but it would be a fun plot twist, I’ll give you that). What is Abraham up to and how in the hell is the apocalypse gonna look like? And sweet old scary Amma, I wish I had an Amma of myself.

So this is not a really spectacular review but more an urge to read this book already if you didn’t have the chance! Go pick it up, buy it on Amazon, go to your local library and be nice to the Marian’s working in those libraries. Lend a copy from a friend and don’t forget to visit your local cinema this month for the first movie!

Buttons:

buy-on-amazon.com buy-on-amazon.co.uk

 

buy-on-bol.com

 

 

 

Ratings:

I’m going to rate this book even higher than the last one, 8.5 out of 10!

Hope you enjoyed it, love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy.

 

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “Beautiful Darkness, the Caster Chronicles #2, by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, a book review

  1. […] Beautiful Darkness, the Caster Chronicles #2, by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, a book review […]

Leave a Reply

