Hot Cute Girly Geek Museum Tour: Dutch National Museum of Antiquities

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks of course, this is it, the first hot cute girly geek museum tour, starting with the Dutch National Museum of Antiquities. I hope you enjoy it!

General info

Name:                                  Dutch National Museum of Antiquities

Place:                                   Leiden, the Netherlands

Website:                              http://www.rmo.nl/english

Date of visit:                       25th of January 2013

Permanent collection:      Egyptian department

Temporary exhibition:     Hollywood’s Egypt

Price:                                    €9.50 (+ additional €2 for the temporary exhibition)

I always had a love for the Egyptian culture and history. I love mummies and I find it highly fascinating that a civilization that far back in history was so developed, and of course that fact that a lot of that history is preserved and we get to learn about it.

This isn’t the first time I visited this museum, but it has been a while. The reason I visited the museum was because of the permanent Egyptian collection. And not so much for the temporary exhibition of Hollywood’s Egypt. Which I didn’t think much of before going. I expected a lot of stuff from the old Cleopatra movies and such. Oh boy was I wrong. But I’ll come to that later.

The exhibition about Egypt isn’t really that big, but they do have some neat stuff. When you enter the museum, the first thing you see is the temple of Taffeh, and it has been there as long as I remember.

DSC_0001

Some other cool stuff are these Abydos stelae, and if you have seen Stargate, you remember the name Abydos.

DSC_0003DSC_0006

 

 

 

 

 

This basalt casket is the sarcophagus of Wahibreëmakhet (translated Wahibre is in the horizon) and although it’s an Egyptian sarcophagus, the “owner” was a rich man, born as a Greek, but turned Egyptian.DSC_0013

And now for the mummy’s: In this picture we see displayed the mummy of Keku and shroud, canopic jars of Horpenmenti, Shabti boxes of Setywy and Bakenrenef, plus some shabtis of Pamel. Shabtis are little stone figurines that depict slaves who will work for you in the afterlife. Usually there are 400 shabtis for every deceased. One Shabti a day, plus an overseer per ten shabtis. In the other picture we see a display of mummy’s and sarcophaguses.

DSC_0017

DSC_0026

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t only have a fascination of mummy’s, but also for canopic jars. These are the jars where the embalmed entrails of the mummy are preserved in. In this photo we see the canopic chest of Amenhotep-Huy.DSC_0015

Last mummy pics, animals. And I can tell you, it’s a stretch to get a whole mummified crocodile in one picture. Cats are a lot easier.

DSC_0022DSC_0020

 

 

 

 

 

And the last picture of the permanent exhibition is a photo of the bust of Nefertiti; this is unfortunately a fake one, since the real one is displaced in Berlin. Speaking of fake. This museum also has a plaster cast of the Rosetta stone. And no I didn’t take a picture of it, since I saw the real one in the British museum last year, for pics, you’ll need to wait till that post is up.DSC_0032

Moving on to the temporary exhibition, Hollywood’s Egypt. Like I said before, I hadn’t thought much about this exhibit, but since we paid for it, we took a look. What I didn’t know, was that this exhibition was spread over two floors. So when we reached the first floor and the exhibit I was loudly complaining about the fact that they showed a lot of old Hollywood stuff about Egyptian themed movies and how on earth didn’t they insert something about the mummy. It’s only one of the biggest Egyptian based movies in the present days! So when we reached the second floor my geeky heart almost exploded with geeky awesomeness. I am a huge fan of the movie the mummy (see also previous posts here: https://hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com/category/the-mummy/ ) The museum really did get some awesome stuff:

Here we see the original costume worn by Brendan Fraser in his role as Rick O’Connell in the mummy returns. The museum also has the original costume of Arnold Vosloo in his role as Imhotep in the mummy returns. (Well costume, more like a few pieces of fabric, but you don’t hear me complaining.)

DSC_0034DSC_0052

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also, the original book of the dead and the book of Amun-Ra used in the movies, that is so freaking awesome!!!

DSC_0047DSC_0067

 

 

 

 

 

And remember these two? The puzzle box that contained the map to Hamunaptra and the key to open the books. The puzzle box is a reproduction, but the key is really used in the movies. Also, here’s a copy of the map to Hamunaptra, but I urge you not to use it, it’s a fake, lol!

DSC_0037DSC_0044

 

 

 

 

 

What about the canopies used in the movie the mummy, these are also reproductions and as you can see there are five of them. They are the canopies of Anck-Su-Namun. The problem with it, is that there are supposed to be just for canopies, there is nowhere in the Egyptian history a mention of using five of these and especially non with the head of a lion.DSC_0055

Last two mummy pictures, the dagger of Anck-Su-Namun, used in the movie and an emblem of the Scorpion king.

DSC_0060DSC_0064

 

 

 

 

 

And I leave you with this awesome costume. The costume and mask of Ra used in the movie Stargate, yep I squeed when I saw this.

DSC_0069DSC_0070

So this is the first official hot cute girly geek museum tour post. I hope you liked it and let me know what you thought of it!

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy!

PS, the reason the photos are a bit dark is that it isn’t allowed to use a flash when taking pictures in the museum.

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “Hot Cute Girly Geek Museum Tour: Dutch National Museum of Antiquities

  1. Great looking museum.

    The nearest that I’d compare it is The British Museum. I’ve been to that particular museum twice and I’d happily go again due to things like The Rosetta Stone, The Elgin Marbles, the Egyptology section and the Saxon find from Sutton Hoo.

    I look forward to more of your museum posts.

Leave a Reply

