Beautiful Creatures, the Caster Chronicles #1 by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, a book review.

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks, another book review, this time Beautiful creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. Since everyone is crazy about this book, I decided to join the bandwagon and start reading it. I’ll try to keep the spoilers to a minimum, but I can’t promise anything. Here’s my opinion:

About the book:

Beautiful CreaturesTitle: Beautiful Creatures, the Caster Chronicles #1

Authors: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Website: http://beautifulcreaturesnovels.com/

ISBN 13: 9780316042673

Genre: YA / Supernatural

add-to-goodreads

 

 

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

There were no surprises in Gatlin County.
We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere.
At least, that’s what I thought.
Turns out, I couldn’t have been more wrong.
There was a curse.
There was a girl.
And in the end, there was a grave.

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

Trailer:

What the hell is a movie trailer doing in a book review? Sorry about that, but I think it’s needed and totally relevant, and very, very awesome!

 

My thoughts:

I love it! No seriously, I love this book. It took me a while to grow on me, but now I love it! Here’s why. When I read the first couple of pages, I was like, what is this about? Small town in America, boy having strange dreams and hearing strange songs. Mind you, I didn’t know what the book was about, just that a lot of people really liked it.

And the whole American Revolution thing. Ok, I must confess it gives a nice twist and makes this book stand out from a lot of other YA books. But I think it has to do with the fact that I don’t know much about this ordeal, because I’m Dutch, so I can’t really relate to it. Sometimes it just feels like a hidden history lesson inside the story. But it does give a nice background to all the characters and their motivations.

What I do love is that this isn’t about your typical young female playing damsel in distress that needs saving by young male and they fall in love, the end. Yes she needs saving, but she is absolutely not a victim, but a young female controlling as much as she can, empowered, trying to make the right decisions in the midst of hormones, the queen bees in high school (yep I threw in a mean girls reference, sorry about that), what is expected from her and her own heart’s desire and of course a terrible curse.

This book stays away from the expected paths a lot of YA books take. Every time you think something is gonna happen, there is another twist. And I love a book that keeps me on my toes while reading it. The more pages I turned the more I wanted to read. And being also a supernatural kinda book makes me love it even more. I mean, Casters, incubus, southern voodoo. Yep, love it!

Oh and the main characters, they are awesome! Ethan, falling in love hard with the beautiful and mysterious Lena. How he chooses again and again for her. Listening to his own heart and not what the people say around them. In fact standing up to a whole town of small minded people, you go Ethan!

And there is the beautiful and mysterious Lena, a social outcast. She never stood a chance. But regardless of everything, she keeps fighting for it. And the whole, I’m a unique person and I stand for my own believes but also secretly wanting to fit in is so realistic. I can relate to that.

So yeah, I love this book, even though it took me a while. And I urge you all to start reading it for yourselves!

I want to buy my own copy (aka buttons):

buy-on-amazon.com  buy-on-amazon.co.uk

 

buy-on-bol.com

 

 

Rating:

This book gets a definite 8 out of 10 from me, no doubt about it!

Until the next review, love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy!

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

