Torchwood Fallout: an (audio) book review

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks of course.

My latest book I read, or listened to is again one in the Torchwood series, and this one is Fallout. It’s a short one, just over an hour long. Not as great as some I listened to, but it’s still Torchwood. Sit back for my review and remember, as always, spoilers!

Torchwood falloutAbout the Book:

Title: Torchwood: Fallout

Author: David Llewellyn

Narrator: Tom Price

ISBN 13: 9781445871943

Format: Audio CD

Synopsis according to Goodreads:

When Yasmin finds a jewelled egg in her grandfather’s shed, her first thought is to sell it. Unfortunately, the object is no valuable Faberge antique, but a dangerous weapon from another planet. Worse still, the buyer she finds online is a Russian secret agent working for the Committee for Extraterrestrial Research, who promptly swipes it, kills her brother Sayed and lands her in hospital.
When Sgt Andy Davidson realises that he’s not dealing with an ordinary double shooting, he calls Gwen Cooper, who breaks the bad news about the egg and its deadly contents. With no Torchwood to help, and Gwen in America, it’s up to Andy and Yasmin to follow the trail of the ‘Shiva virus’ – all the way from Cardiff to the British Museum…

My thoughts:

I do love the fact that these Torchwood audio books are mainly read by the cast itself. And seeing that this particular book is mainly about Sergeant Andy Davidson, it’s only fitting that Tom Price, the actor playing him in the series is reading this story.

And although this isn’t the best one in the series. It feels like, seeing this is another post Miracle day story, the authors are trying to get the whole torchwood world into words, but not really succeeding. In that regard I love the Exodus Code far more, that one is also post Miracle day, but seeing as John Barrowman wrote the book and he is more up to speed with the Torchwood and Doctor Who world. (Side note, John comes up with the story and his sister Caroline does the actual writing).

What I do like is the fact that fateful sergeant Andy now get’s a bigger part in this series and has the lead role. I feel we haven’t seen enough of him in the TV series, although it always kept me guessing that he did far more work then suggested. He seems like the guy cleaning up after Torchwood and keeping the whole alien thing secret, and not getting credit for it. But after all he did have a crush on Gwen Cooper, so that’s his motivation for it.

One of the other things I really like, is that is partially takes place in London and the British Museum. The fact that real-life stuff is used in fiction novels (or audio books) in this case and I actually visited the British museum a couple of months ago, makes it more realistic to listen to the story. I don’t know, it just gives it that extra something and you. And if you have an exceptionally good author and a great imagination you can depicture just about anything. But listening or reading about people going into the British museum and trying to save the world is still kind of cool in my opinion.

Where to get my own copy (aka click the button):

buy-on-amazon.co.uk

buy-on-amazon.com

download-on-audible.com

download-on-audible.co.uk

buy-on-bol.com

 

Add on Goodreads:

add-to-goodreads

Rating:

I give this book 6.5 out of 10. It’s fun and lovely, but as I said, not as good as previous books about Torchwood I listened to.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

PS: Sorry about the strange placement of the buttons, I struggled with it for over an hour and whenever I see my post in the edit proces it looks good, but as soon as I update the post they go all wonky. I hope I can figure this out for the next post. Again sorry!

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

Leave a Reply

