Star Trek: the Future Begins, a movie review

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks. Last movie review for a couple of days, I promise, after this I’ll go back to reviewing a couple of books again.

So yeah, the new, well I say new but it’s from 2009, version of Star Trek.

star-trek-poster-1

Synopsis according to IMDB:

The brash James T. Kirk tries to live up to his father’s legacy with Mr. Spock keeping him in check as a vengeful, time-traveling Romulan creates black holes to destroy the Federation one planet at a time.

(Since the original site is in waiting for the next Star Trek Movie, coming in theatres 17-05-2013 no official synopsis there any more)

Trailer:

My thoughts:

Ok, were do you begin reviewing a movie you find amazing and awesome and one of the best in its genre. Save to say I absolutely love this Star Trek movie.

star%20trekI always had a special place in my geeky heart for the Star Trek franchise. The different series, the different movies and I was thrilled when I learned there was gonna be a new movie made. (Just as I am geeking out over the fact that in a few months there is another one coming out) This is the kind of movie you need to see in the cinema, or you can watch it at home, if you have an awesome surround system and your neighbors aren’t home.

I love the whole idea of going back to beginning, how it all began, the ultimate Prequel as it where. J.J. Abrams did a wonderful job with this movie. I mean, the casting is really good, the actors perform all amazing, the graphics, the make-up, the special effects, CGI, music, everything. Ok, now I’m sounding like a crazy fangirl. I’m not, I promise, I save my crazy fangirl mode for things like Supernatural, Doctor Who and Sherlock

The movie starts with the death of Kirk’s father and how he sacrificed himself to save the crew of a ship he only was captain of for a couple of minutes, we fast-forward a couple oMovies_Star_Trek_2009_012978_29f years, young Kirk stealing a car and we end with Kirk in a bar, making googly eyes to a very young and might I say very hot Uhura. He gets into a fight; Captain Pike finds him, remembering his dad and tricks him into joining the academy.

Scene-from-Star-Trek-2009-001We shift to a young Spock, seeing that he doesn’t really fit in, being half human and half Vulcan, but he tries and he is accepted at the Vulcan academy, but even when he gets the invite, his human side is again rejected so he decides to go to the Starfleet academy instead. Might I just say they did a brilliant casting job with Zachary Quinto. I mean, the guy was creepy in heroes and he has this perfect flair for playing Spock. In my opinion he is the best actor in the whole movie. He just is young Spock. No doubt about it. The suppressed human emotions, the detachment, the calculated coolness of his Vulcan side, just brilliant.

We skip again forward in time and an urgent distress call from Vulcan results into all the cadets joining the earthbound ships to go to the rescue. Of course, Kirk wouldn’t be Kirk if trekposterseverything went easy. But he ends up on the Enterprise with a great number of familiar names. Uhuru, Spock, Bones, Sulu, Chekov. Only to be kicked off of it. The boy does have a temper problem. He ends up on an icy planet (I thought I was watching Star Trek, not Star Wars) and meets a mysterious man in a cave. Another super geeky fangirl moment, yeah for Leonard Nimoy playing Spock again. I really love that.

imagesCAVUH1AYSo old Spock and Kirk team up, find Scotty, played by ubergeek Simon Pegg (I bow down to your geekyness, your geek highness) and find a way back onto the ship. That is, Scotty and Kirk. And after a nice emotional sabotage, Kirk get’s to be captain. They save the day, the end. Well not exactly. I haven’t even told you about the bad guys.

Captain Nero, a Romulan, who seeks revenge on Spock because apparently, old Spock kills his home planet somewhere in the future and he wants to do the same to Spock, and succeeds. 375909900116655426_cZhBrxvr_bI think this could have been done better. I don’t know it has something to do with the acting of Eric Bana or the script, but it just didn’t really hit the bad guy as some bad guys are. (Is that even a proper sentence? But you know what I mean.)

trek_03The film just keeps you on the edge of your seat, doesn’t bore you for one minute and it makes you hunger for more.

I want to own a copy of this movie:

Amazon.uk: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Star-Trek-1-Disc-Edition-DVD/dp/B002HREH2Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357331995&sr=8-1

Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Star-Trek/dp/B002WV5A9G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357332049&sr=8-1&keywords=star+trekstar_trek_2009_narada

Bol.com: http://www.bol.com/nl/p/star-trek/1002004006831831/

Rating:

I’m going out of my league here by rating this movie 8 out of 10.

Go watch it, if you haven’t already done it, or rewatch it again in order for the new movie.

Live long and prosper, my fellow geeks, MendyLeonard-Nimoy-in-Star-Tre-001

P.S: Space: the final frontier. These are the voyages of the starship Enterprise. Her ongoing mission: to explore strange new worlds, to seek out new life-forms and new civilizations; to boldly go where no one has gone before.

images

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

7 thoughts on “Star Trek: the Future Begins, a movie review

  1. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Star Trek period!!!! I love this movie even more. I know I am in the minority, but being a child of the 60’s… Star Trek was just about the coolest show on TV! Thanks for your review, and I know not every one is as, excuse the expression, ‘ape shit’ over ST like I am!!!! Hahahaha!!!. Lots of love, Emily

  2. Well, you have good taste, I absoluty love this movie and I can’t wait for the next one to come out into the cinema, I can’t stop rewatching the previews on youtube! and it has benedict cumberbatch in it as well. And even though I didn’t really grew up with Star Trek and I’m not a Trekkie, I must have seen at least 80% of all the episodes from all the different series out there!

  3. […] Star Trek: the Future Begins, a movie review (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Star Trek: the Future Begins, a movie review (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Star Trek: the Future Begins, a movie review (hotcutegirlygeek.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

