My love for Peter Pan.

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks.

Peter-Pan-Disney-Poster-Cartel (6)

I love Peter Pan, not the boy that will never grow up, but the story Peter Pan. It started when I was young and I saw the Disney classic Peter Pan. I even remember having a book about Peter_Panthe Disney version. I wanted to be Wendy and whisked away to Never Never land, have adventures with Tinkerbell, Tigerlily, the lost boys and pirates. I must have watched that movie over a dozen of times.  Second star to the right and straight on till morning

1422_1220653748

peter-panAn obscure version of Peter Pan is the animated series called the adventures of Peter Pan and it’s Japanese. But I remembered watching this cartoon on TV and they translated it either English with Dutch subs or altogether into Dutch, I can’t remember. It was a rather dark and scary animated series, but I did like it. (Sorry no quote, but I found the opening tunes for this series on YouTube: http://youtu.be/VXMFjK9Tx3k )

imagesCAX5IW2R

Peter Pan and the pirates, another animated series I used to watch.  Although I can’t really remember much about it. Not even if I’d seen the English or Dutch version. But of all the peter_pan_fox_10versions I’ve seen over the years, this is my least favorite. Mainly because how they depicted the main characters and such. Again, no quote but the opening credits http://youtu.be/PlgEH2IAKHI

Hook_poster_transparent

ep62-hookThen came Hook. Giddy me for finding another Peter Pan related story. What would happen if Peter Pan did stay with Wendy, what would happen with Never Never land, and those lost boys. They did a brilliant casting on this movie. Dustin Hoffman is a brilliantly creepy Hook. Robin Williams an amazing grown-up Peter Pan, getting in touch with his inner boy. Bangarang!

MV5BODI5MTk1MDM3N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzM1MjI1MQ@@__V1__SY317_CR6,0,214,317_

Return to Neverland, another Disney movie, the sequel to the Peter Pan Disney classic. It is a nice story, that the daughter of Wendy is going to Never Never land and have her own Return-to-Neverland-Screencaps-peter-pan-in-return-to-neverand-22746990-600-362adventures. But this classic is made while Disney was starting to use computer CGI images in their hand drawn pictures. And it diminishes the story a bit. Bit still, it needs to be in this Peter Pan list. Don’t you see, Hook? You will never win. Not as long as there’s faith, trust, and pixie dust.

imagesCAN02TYG

peter-pan2And then we had the movie Peter Pan! I was really excited for this one to see. And I hated the Dutch cinemas for only playing it dubbed in Dutch and not the original English version with subtitles. But I did see it in the cinema, filled with annoying children. And as soon as it was out on DVD I bought it. This is a great adaptation of the story, with the creepy mermaids and a lovely double role for Jason Isaacs as Mr. Darling and Captain Hook. And he does play a good captain Hook. The children are amazing in this adaptation. And this is my favorite version! The Peter Pan is just that boy that never wants to grow up. I love they made Wendy into a strong female character. The music is amazing and this movie is an absolute must watch. I do believe in fairies. I do, I do!!!

poster

Finding Neverland, starring Johnny Depp as J.M. Barrie, the writer of the original Peter Pan story. Although not really a Peter Pan story, I loved this movie as it shows how the Peter Panfinding_neverland came into being. Lovely little romantic story. When the first baby laughed for the first time, the laugh broke into a thousand pieces, and they all went skipping about. And that was the beginning of fairies.

neverland

neverland-syfyAnd I found something else a couple of weeks ago. A miniseries called Neverland. I watched it last night and it tells the story how Hook, Peter Pan, the Indians and the Lost Boys came to Never Never Land.  It’s a bit dark, but I really like the idea. Don’t particular like this captain Hook, but I like the boy playing Peter. The crocs are really creepy. And a must watch for Peter Pan fans. Also the Smee in this series is the same Smee as the one in Hook! Peter, you don’t have a shadow!

So yeah, that’s a lot of Peter Pan, like I said, I love Peter Pan. Although I must admit shamefully I never read the original story (but I’m going to) or saw a proper play on stage (still on my bucket list)

Hoped you like my ramblings about Peter Pan.

Love, your own hot cute girly geek, Mendy

P.S. I do believe in fairies! I really do!

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

One thought on “My love for Peter Pan.

  1. Freelancers says:

    The animated Japanese series is the best Peter Pan IMO

Leave a Reply

