Writing a review

Hi my hot cute girly and boy geeks, due to a recent incident that happened to one of my author friends I’m writing this post.

Writing a review. As I probably told you before, I started writing somewhere between the age of 10-13. I started writing short stories and always had the dream to write my own book. I still have that dream and I’m still writing. In high school I ended up writing for the school newspaper. I did funny stories, collections of quotes and movie reviews. My movie reviews where a bit different than the ones I write today.

I double reviewed the movies. The first part was an objective review and the second part my own opinion. And mostly my own opinion was quite harsh. It was after all my own opinion.

Over the years I stopped writing reviews until I started doing my blog. I revised my way of writing reviews. It’s now a combo of objective and own opinion. But the thing is, even though I don’t agree with something or I don’t like something I try to give that opinion with a wink.

Nowadays everyone thinks they are a reviewer. This is made possible thanks to the fact you can leave your review just about everywhere. On Amazon, on IMDB, on Goodreads, on rotten tomatoes and the thousands and thousands of blogs out there on the internet.

We leave our opinion about books and movies online for the creators to read. And I’m perfectly aware that you can’t please anyone with your book or movie or story. And that’s ok. But is it really necessary to leave a devastating review online? I mean, I have books I don’t like, or movies I really despise. But I have this option for simply not writing that review. Because I know myself and I know what I would write and it wouldn’t be good. Why? Because it’s easier to trash someone then to complement them. Things that don’t appeal to us stick with us much longer then things that do appeal to us.

So think about that when you write a bad review about a book  didn’t finish, or a movie which you didn’t see the end of it. Think about the blood, sweat and tears that went into that work. The passion they poured into it and maybe, just maybe, think twice before you post something online that easily, anonymous, safe behind your keyboard.

Love, your hot cute girly geek, Mendy

About hotcutegirlygeek

Hi I’m Mendy, 30, live in the Netherlands together with my lovely cat Sir James. I’m a social worker who works with drug addicts and homeless people by day and a geek, avid blogger and aspiring author by heart. I read, write, blog, bake and create. More about Hot Cute Girly Geek

4 thoughts on “Writing a review

  1. All I can say is BRAVA!!!! You show wisdom beyond your years! Karma peace to you, Emily

  2. Reblogged this on "The Light-Bearer Series" Novelist, Emily Guido and commented:

    This blogpost showed wisdom and grace beyond the author’s years! Karma peace to you, Emily

  3. Thanks love, the whole thing has been bugging me since I got your message yesterday and I really do think sometimes people just need to stop talking if they don’t have anything interesting to say.

Leave a Reply

